Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mathematica Arcana

by wtfrara - Jam Entry

You are a soldier in the service of the Shape Kingdom, and you're under attack! The evil army of Amorphous Blobs will stop at nothing to steal the secrets of the Mathematica Arcana, which are imbued in the twelve pieces of the sacred Dodecagram. Use your wits to fend off increasingly difficult waves of attack, and stop the blobs from taking off with any of your secrets!

You have three possible forms available for use in defending the realm: The Triangle, with its spin attack; the Square, dashing through enemies at a great speed; and the Hexagon, capable of spearing multiple enemies in a single blow. But be careful! The enemies will adapt with each metamorphosis, and switching between shapes comes at a cost! Do you have what it takes to defend the kingdom?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#449Audio(Jam)3.04
#455Humor(Jam)2.61
#496Mood(Jam)3.16
#525Innovation(Jam)3.07
#545Graphics(Jam)3.32
#841Theme(Jam)2.89

Comments

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28am

Haha this was very fun and funny to play! I love the music and the visual style. My only complaint is that the controls are a bit too sensitive. Other than that, great work! :D

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:41am

Really juicy audio, great work.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12am

Deceptively simple, and quite fun! I lost so many pieces on round 5, they're fast! Made it through 6 by parking on my last piece, but failed in 7 as they knocked me off of it. I recovered it once, but while trying to get back, it was finally stolen ;)

A nice simple game and very well done! Great entry, I had a lot of fun with it :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14pm

A nice concept. I thought there may have been too long a delay when hitting attack and actually attacking. Good entry (:

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15pm

overall nice game, I would like the controls to be a little bit more crisp, liked the idea and it was executed nicely from every perspective

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16pm

A good game, I enjoyed playing!

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Fun game! Easy to get into and play for a few minutes.

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

OMG THIS IS SO AMAZING. I know this sounds dumb, but the latin name is freaking amazing and I love all the design aspects. Kinda reminds me of my game!

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

really nice! i like the visual design a lot. i didnt know about the shape switching mechanic, and wouldnt have tried clicking around to find it if i didnt read the info, maybe that could be described better like in the control screen
otherwise nice job!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:41am

the game and worth to play.cool!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43am

Great audio =)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Cool looking game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24am

Would it be possible to provide a windows build? I don't play any unity web games, and can play windows builds via WINE :)

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Neat controls, fitting graphics. It was fun for some minutes. I wasn't a fan of the music, but liked the sound effects. The application of the different forms is interesting as paid upgrade etc.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Wow! Amazing game! One of the best I've played so far! Great gameplay, simple and responsive commands, nice choice of colors and sounds! Great experience overall!

I've noticed you have written a background story but left it out of the game, and also left out the game instructions of how to change for (which involves using the mouse). Putting it in-game would make it even better!

ciaodavinci says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:44am

I didn't realize I could click on the bottom left icon at first to shape-shift but once I figured that out I had fun with it. The hexagon was really powerful, I didn't want to go off of it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Funny. A good entry with a cute aesthetic. However I don't understand why you chose this title - a detail. Well done ++

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:22am

Pretty simple concept, which I liked. I lost pretty early on, but then somehow got the hang of it and held on, lasted about 12 rounds. At one point I thought I had lost all my puzzle pieces, but the game didn't end. Then I got a replacement piece? Then I protected it for several rounds before becoming overwhelmed. Pretty fun. It seemed like the best strategy for me was to just sit in the middle and try to protect that one remaining piece. Anything more than that was too hard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]