Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Tale of Lapkovius

by ziege - Compo Entry

Made with Luxe engine
Music by autotracker.py
Sounds by Bfxr

If you have issues with the web version please try the binary.

I really thought I wont make it in time and it shows. But I finished and it was FUN.

*EDIT*
Added windows binary.

Some help on what to do:

Find treasure in the dungeon and make your way out. And don't get discovered!

Shapeshift into a monster to conceal your presence. But beware! Creatures of the same kind will recognize impostors. Don't bump into anybody and don't show your magic!

*EDIT2*
Changed the main screenshot to a slightly different one. (The former is still there)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Theme3.98
#108Overall3.75
#130Fun3.64
#158Graphics3.73
#180Audio3.33
#193Innovation3.58
#218Mood3.30
#337Humor2.57

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17am

Very, very cool!
Couldn't get past the Jarka Halls (level 3) due to time issues for now, but I'll come back to play more later on for sure!

No real comments aside from that. The game does exactly what the concept implies it should, it respect the theme perfectly, controls are tight and there a nice tactical/puzzle layer ontop.

All in all, good stuff. One of my favorite entries so far! kudos!

++

(note: THANK YOU for adding mute keys for sound/music. Simple thing but much appreciated!)

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19am

Great! This is the first stealth game I've played this LD, and it's really fun. The only gripe I have is that I wish you wouldn't die when you bump into enemies. It makes sense when they are alerted, but when you look like one of the monsters and bump into an unsuspecting enemy it's a bit frustrating. :(

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:35am

Very cool concept. The beginning was difficult because it took a little while to know that I had to be the opposite monster in order to pass the other.

But it's very fun to play. Good job!

spr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41am

Great work! I really like the style, and the music. Very consistent.

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:56am

Interesting!
And difficult :D I died constantly :D

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:53pm

10/10

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Very cool game.
A bit hard at the start until I realized it was a stealth game :)
Well done!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:14pm

This is getting bookmarked! I need to clock it!
Only criticism is it took a few minutes to get whats going on, a bit of help there would go a long way to get more attention from voters. Its too bad if they bounce because it is actually quite addictive

ziege says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Thank you for your kind words everyone ;-)
I added some help in the description to make the game a bit more understandable. (I hope that's not against the rules)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Love the bing when you pickup, very pleasing

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Haha, fun and simple :)

anissen says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Fantastic game! Devilish hard, but a really cool concept once you get the hang of it. Very nice execution and polish :)

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Very cool mechanics! 5 stars for fun :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Great stealth/puzzle game! Pretty difficult at first, or maybe I'm just too impatient and always get caught :D

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:33pm

It's very difficult and I'm bad at stealth games, but I like it anyway :)

Graphics and musical score are nice :)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:49am

Very nice stealth game here, and good use of the theme. It was challenging as well, and that's a plus. Good music and nice simplistic graphics. Overall a solid effort.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:00am

Hey! I love the game concept and I think it is good start point to a game, but I don´t understand why if I shapeshift into a creature, the same type of monster still atack me. Nice pixelart and sounds.

PixVox says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Very cool! :thumbs_up:

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10pm

I really liked the graphics, I died all the time :-) Nice audio as well. Good job!

MikeTheWayne says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Superb game, love the stealth aspect! Got 6960 in the end, absolutely worth playing.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Neat Game. But there is no system behind the coins right ? I mean i dont get anything from t hem anyway pretty stealthy thing.

ziege says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Once again, thanks everyone for playing.

The coins are there to get higher score which indeed doesn't mean anything. It was supposed to, but the deadline said: "No."

Also I wonder how clear it is that when you shift to some monster that the same kind of monster will recognize you since some people seem to be confused about it. Some kind of tutorial would probably help but again, deadline. And honestly, I didn't even think about it ;-)

dj_pale says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Nice mechanic! Also quite hard ;)

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Nice :D

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Dude, all my fives, seriously, i envy your simple and yet very functional art! I like the mechanic as well!

Retallicka says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Nice concept! I only got to level 3, but the gameplay is fun and intuitive.

Phaix says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:11am

Nice done!

davalcordub says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I couldn't play because it give me an error message

czester16 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:57pm

One of the best for me.

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:02am

Great puzzle stealth game! I liked the audio and the graphics, they somehow fit well together. Took me a little while to wrap my head around the mechanics, but that felt like a part of the puzzle for me!

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:40am

Nice game! I just played another game with the same mechanic, but this one has a better graphics! :D just sayin'...good job! :)

Rscar says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:51pm

I really enjoyed this! The puzzle mechanic was really fun and felt good

damrem says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:48am

Difficult but nice!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]