Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Amorphous Adventure of Blod

by Croze - Compo Entry

Minimum Screen Resolution: 1280x720
I personally prefer windowed mode over fullscreen

The Amorphous Adventure of Blod is a Super Mario-like arcade game where you progress through different worlds inhabited by different creatures. You play as Blod, a shapeshifting creature that can change into different creatures when in his designated Shapeshifting workshop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#558Humor1.94
#575Audio2.21
#723Mood2.44
#789Graphics2.38
#793Theme2.76
#870Innovation2.27
#870Fun2.38
#889Overall2.52
#1448Coolness42%

Comments

Takadimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:23am

Really nice entry! Looks and runs great and pretty satisfying to fly around as a rocket.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:40am

Haha, I enjoyed the characters :) Levels are a bit linear. Tried to escape from the level hub to the left, but ran into some death stars :D

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:24am

The game could really benefit from some more varied combat. As it stands all you have to do is kite an enemy backwards while you shoot it. More options in combat would really make this shine.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:29am

A bit repetitive, and on the second level I jumped on top of one of the bullet enemies and got stuck on top of him, couldn't finish the level and couldn't jump off him.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:34am

@Weeping Rupee I agree, if I decide to work on it post mortem that would definitely be one of the first things I work on. Thanks for playing!

@wg_phancock Unfortunately I tried to fix this early on but didn't play test enough to realize it is still a problem. Sorry about that! Thanks for playing and for your feedback :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35am

Tackling the same levels with different protagonists is a nice idea. What the characters could do was very limited--slow shots and low jumps. The rocket definitely pushed the boundaries, although it wasn't so much fun to attack with. Nice premise, though. Congrats on finishing!

dwemthy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:48am

Couldn't run it on mac, made sure that my security settings allow apps from anywhere and still got a message that it couldn't be run.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:03am

I'm not a huge fan of the controls

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:24am

its fun and all

Bailman03 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:50am

pretty fun! Needed a little more variety

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:20am

Its really fun to play it. cool graphics and mechanics

ziege says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:39am

Linux link leads to Mac download.

Hempuli says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:32am

The game was fairly tough but luckily the enemies didn't respawn so I could keep trying until I got past the levels. I felt that all the different forms were fairly weak against the enemies because of how aggressive they were, so in the end using the fast-moving form at all times felt like the best option. Still, you have a very nice engine here and it'd be neat to see the game worked on some more! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]