Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Town

by RedPanda - Compo Entry

Town - A Game where you need to defend the town from Shapeshifting monster.

ATTENTION, please:
* Game is jittery by intention. May cause epilepsy! Please be careful.
* WebGL build resolution may be wanky, try fullscreen or standalone please. Also it may be really laggy, please remember that the Unity WebGL build is still beta. so it's not perfect. Standalones do not lag that much at all.
* Unity Web Player uses NPAPI, most browsers disabled those, so only WebGL build is present;
* Standalones link lists 3 zip archives (For Windows, Linux, and Mac OS X). Each archive contains both x86 and x64 version for their respective OSes;
* No audio voting because I haven't got time to do even basic SFX not to mention music.
* I uploaded 1 hour after the submission hour because while adding the main menu I accidentally broke the player prefab and all it linked stuff. Meaning an hour and then some of re-linking stuff.

Description:
Town is a game where you play as wizard (I’m a what? ?) hero Hayley that is trying to stop the evil Quazhooman shapeshifting beast from wrecking, otherwise, peaceful town of fine people into shreds. And of course pillage it along the way. You need to use your wizardy powers to target it weaknesses and stop it, before it can destroy the fine establishment of a town, or die trying.

The game place as a clicky-clicky game where you need to use best spells to target monster’s shape most effectively. Each shape has a set of attributes (Fire, Water, Air, Earth, Holy and Dark) that either provide a strong point against attacks of those natures, or weaknesses that let you exploit them, dealing more damage.

The player can also return stolen goods while fighting the monster, and use those resources to learn more powerful spells, upgrade oneself’s fortitude, and get more proficient in art of casting spells.

Rule set:
To buy new spells: 50 coins * spell level
To buy more health: 15 coins + 15% each next one
To buy faster cooldown 25 coins + 20% (? I forgot really...) each next one

Target boss's weakspots (negative numbers) with appropriate spells.

Don't let the town die!

Vision:
I really wanted the One Huge Enemy Theme, so I just took it and made the enemy shapeshift. :P
Sadly because of poor management of myself I didn't complete a lot of stuff like: (a lot) more boss shapes, power ups, more deep combat system, animations, music, sfx, and more. But hey, it was a wild ride, I am sleep deprived, hungry and starting to get mad, but I guess it was worth it in the end!

Controls:
Just mouse and clicks :)

Tools used:
* Unity Engine 5 Personal
* Paint.NET
* Visual Studio 2015 Community
* Audacity (But didn't have enough time to add sound fx)

3rd party resources:
* Font: http://www.fontspace.com/khryskreations/kbcloudyday

Other stuff:
* Design doc: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1V1P9UOc6_X3VJNkQMD45lnzbcviblXMzo4K-rdkbn6g
* Initial ideas: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Hi2dX1GLjxnhjIp7ZblHaWvvoHsUuyeF2yadXKo-B9k
* Code is horrible, only use it to show hot NOT to code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#425Graphics3.12
#468Humor2.19
#747Innovation2.63
#768Theme2.84
#769Mood2.17
#813Overall2.75
#886Fun2.29
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:54pm

What exactly is the intention of the jitter, apart from causing the occasional seizure? The game looks very nice on the screenshots, but this "effect" destroys the game completely I'm sad to say.

RedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:25pm

It's an art style

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Nice game, the art isn't my style but i find it cute.

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:00pm

If I play in browser version, the game is very slow(big lagg). This issue kill the whole gameplay. :(

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00pm

the game is good, and think has lot of potential if you upgrade the art

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Liked the art style, reminded me of old CD-i games. Quite cool!

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I liked the art style and the game :)

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Looks good and and the gameplay is fun. But maybe reduce the flickering effect a little.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

the jitter... the jitter... anyways, a little hard to read what's actually happening in terms of gameplay feedback

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Maybe this takes "make it wiggle" a bit too far...

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24pm

I like the graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/ly5GDw3HErI

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:16am

The artwork was nice, but the jitter didn't do it any good. I also felt that I didn't really get any feedback from what I was doing. It's a good attempt, but unfortunately - for me - it fell a little short.

Venneque says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:38pm

omg I can't stand this jitter q.q
I'm interested by this game and it was worth the pain to get to play with that.
My number 1 despair reason was the 1M HP bar which makes the game unbeatable imo.
Just saying, having to click coins is more than onerous (considering a twerking screen !).
The name change along the spell upgrade is very pleasant.
I've totally NOT understood how the reflecting system is operating, I've assumed the boxes on the right had something to do with it but I couldn't find a logic.
With better stats balance and a global clarification, I'm sure this game could make our day.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]