Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sculptor Simulator

by agrdev - Jam Entry

Sculptor Simulator
A relaxing puzzle game about carving stones into something meaningful. The more accurate your monument is, the more score you get.

------------------

Controls:
LMB - hit stone
Hold LMB - continuous hitting (accelerates after a while, kinda useful sometimes)
Hold RMB + Mouse move - rotate camera
Mouse wheel - zoom

------------------

Tools:
- Unity 5.3.1
- Photoshop
- MagicaVoxel
Sound:
- Hitting stones sound from http://www.freesound.org/
Artwork:
- Skybox panorama by Rainer Kaufhold (gettyimages)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#65Innovation(Jam)3.90
#180Theme(Jam)3.81
#222Overall(Jam)3.61
#346Fun(Jam)3.35
#571Mood(Jam)3.07
#578Audio(Jam)2.70
#696Graphics(Jam)3.07
#704Humor(Jam)2.08

Comments

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:27am

I like it! The sound gets a little grating, so some more variety or just lower volume would help. I gave up when I got to the bust because the grid is just way too small to be very precise. I know that's kind of the point, but yeah. I can see this being really fun for the right audience with more puzzles and modes, though. You should consider cultivating this idea into something bigger.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30am

This was really fun in a weird, relaxing, zen kind of way. I only wish there was an "undo" button or something.

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45am

Very nice! It gets you hook up in little time!
It's a very peaceful game and the idea is great.
The graphic get the job done! The audio on the other hand... a little bit of variety(even just with the pitch i guess) would have benefit the game so much!

Anyway... very nice!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51am

Fun in a relaxed sort of way, I got sucked into this really quickly and played until I realised my bust was beyond saving! Great concept and mood. I only wish the sculpture itself could be placed a little further to the left so the guide picture didn't interfere with your view so much (unless I've missed a way of minimising it?).

Thanks for 10 minutes of contemplative fun! Very enjoyable.

marod says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14am

Nice concept. I really like it

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21am

I really enjoyed this! Well done - the bust is a killer, though!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23am

Very funny game, nice!

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29am

I enjoyed it. I'm not really sure why, just the act of sculpting from something rather then building from nothing is satisfying.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

I liked this much more than I was expecting!! Relaxing and entertaining at the same time.

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:30pm

this is great. I liked the sculpting mechanic, it would be nice if the grid was more clear. the goal panel could be smaller I found it got in the way too much.

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59am

A heart pounding race to the finish.

Upwily says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:18am

I guess not having an undo button makes sense since it's a sculpting simulator, but I really wish it had one. Kept messing up. The mechanics reminded me of minecraft. Overall pretty enjoyable game.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:05am

Great job, i like this game. Nice graphic!

Fanatrick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Very unique concept, fine-tuning would make this game great! One of my favorite submissions so far.

EighthNote says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Love the background art! The gameplay was relaxing.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Extremely impressive. The sculpting was a little tedious, but it still kept me occupied for a long time. The sound got a little annoying, but maybe that could be fixed by having more sound variety and some background music. Overall, great interpretation of the theme and great game.

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:20am

hi there,

I really like the concept. This is like Minecraft meets Zen Gardening. I would have loved more levels.
If you would color the stones a little bit differently it would be easier for the eye to determine the shape (for the statue the player is sculpting as well as for the "template"). The Background is also very nice.

purrpurr says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:03am

There is something therapeutic about this.

CluelessGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:00am

Lived up to exactly what you said it would a relaxing puzzle game really fun. Good job!

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:59am

Sculpting was a good theme. Matching the picture was a nice play idea, but there was some UI issues (overlapping the play area), textures were a bit boring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]