Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Elements guide me

by Erkberg - Compo Entry

"Elements guide me" is a platforming game in which you have to obtain and use the powers of the elements.
Shapeshift into a rock, a cloud, a fireball or a bubble to overcome your obstacles and revitalize this bleak world.

~ Controls ~
AD or QD to move horizontally
Space, W or Z to jump
Arrow keys to transform

~ Thanks to my co-jammers for a great LD experience ~
Danny, Dani and Mör

~ Tools used ~
Unity, GIMP, Spriter, FL Studio (VST: Sonatina symphonic orchestra), jfxr

~ Timelapse ~
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRCvkipGzUc

~ Playthrough ~
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeF-bBWDvSE

This LD has been a blast and I'm quite satisfied with the result, although, as always, much more could have been done, especially content-wise and considering the movement.
I hope you have as much fun playing the game as I had creating it. Looking forward to checking out your creations!

Yours truly,
~ Erk ~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#265Mood3.23
#318Audio3.00
#383Theme3.49
#528Humor2.03
#537Fun3.00
#544Graphics2.85
#606Overall3.05
#651Innovation2.82

Comments

hunttis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:04am

I think the idea is interesting and has potential. The jump controls are a little difficult to get a grasp on. I also couldn't get past the second vine obstacle (the one after the long pits of spikes). It just wouldn't break.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:42am

Good take on the theme. Controls were a bit tricky, but it was fun! Nice work!

guckstift says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Really good game, bruh! Graphics reminded me of limbo and the game mechanics of element4l. What a fine combination! Some sections in the level I found too hard, but it's feasible. And for the beautiful ending it is defintely worth it! Also love the physics, well done!
Only could have used a little more sound effects, but no problem :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Very nice mood in this game, but too hard for me. I got stuck after getting the ability to shift into gas/cloud.

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:22pm

i guess you used Unity2d. the platforming physics are a bit gslippery, which is kinda annoying. other than that, good job

Divitos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Good game and good take on the theme. I never figured out how to use the left ability (which as far as I can tell was only needed once in game, but was able to be skipped by tapping up as fast as possible to keep climbing).

LinealGames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Fun but I couldn't get past the area where the balls were shooting at me

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:41am

Cool and simple game concept! Liked it, nice work!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:45am

Cool platformer. I figured I was supposed to do the last bullet obstacle with the water power, but found it easier with just air power, timing, and luck.

Great job!

Paulgami says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:47am

I love this. I'd play this for hours if it was longer. The controls really badly need tuned up though.

martymon says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Nice stylistic graphics and music. The jumping was a bit off though. Sometimes it would jump high sometimes low.

justacookie says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:35am

we enjoyed playing your game during break at university and the art style reminded us of limbo. after we fell down that one pit where you learn the cloud transform, we couldnt get back up (it was quite hard to avoid the spikes).

goffmog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:14pm

I really like the sound, visuals, and mood but the controls would benefit from some work because they distract from what is a good game mechanic. I would probably ditch the physics engine altogether since there are no physics based elements in your game. You're sort of working against it rather than with it. All it's doing is making movement more complicated and less predictable than if you wrote your own mechanics - and that makes it harder to design tight levels.

ZYXer says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:35pm

I must honestly say that most LD platformers have frustratingly bad controls. So imagine my surprise when I started to play this game with has very smooth feeling controls! :D Also, graphics, sound and mood all fit well together. Well done!

I ran into a bug were I would spawn lying in the dead position. I could run/jump/shapeshift but as a human(cat) I was always lying with dark eyes.

I like that you considered players with AZERTY keyboards. Most people forget about that.

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Enjoyed it. The platforming mechanics were unique and felt good once I got used to them.
Found myself wishing for a bit more audio feedback.
Really great job overall!

knason says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Nice atmosphere and good take on the theme. The audio really added to the game, and even if the cotrolls was a bit tricky and hard to handle was the game fun to play, I liked this game very much. Good job!

nlbi21 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:51pm

The mood is good i like it, is very hard hahaha but is fun for me good job.

MayankUnreal says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:51pm

I Like to jump around in the nice graphical environment

May 8, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Good looking game. Movement and some mechanics (cloudmorphosys thingy) need some improvement though.

ohmmus says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Really fun idea! I'm hoping you continue working on this, I'd like to see more content and some tuning of the controls if you have time. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]