Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mountain

by guoboism - Jam Entry

Mountain is about man.

Control/How to play:
Mouse dragging / touch sliding

It's a very simple game, it's strongly recommended that you experience the game yourself before reading ahead.

--------------------------------------


Rules
Try to find faces among the mountains, if you find a face, move the sun to the eye position with mouse/finger.

Concept
Human face recognition is a built-in function of our brain, the game take it as main challenge.

Theme
The theme is Shapeshift, for this game, shape stay the same all the time, but the position of the sun shift the meaning of the shape, between mountain and man,

Team
We have only two members, and we don't have much free time during this 72 hours :<
So the game is very short, and with only one level.

Credits:

Mizou(twitter.com/etmizou)
--Art Direct
--Graphics Design
--Terrain Editing
--Music Editing


Bruce Guo (http://Guoboism.com)
--Programming


Versions

Jam version:
contains only one level
(Jam version only has mac version)

Post Jam version:
improved and fixed many things
has three levels now

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#63Innovation(Jam)3.92
#101Mood(Jam)3.85
#209Audio(Jam)3.52
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#559Graphics(Jam)3.29
#680Theme(Jam)3.15
#707Humor(Jam)2.07
#821Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

ohmmus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45pm

(not scored yet) no download link

TreenewT says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:40pm

No link?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Seems like a great concept, but a download-link is needed!

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03pm

WHERE IS THE GAME? Add a download link. People are loving your concept. I'll come back later :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:25pm

dear author, please check out our cries here :) I'm also curious to see the game in action! bookmarked, will be back soon...

guoboism says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

I apologize for our game not being available until now.
We have only mac version, we will upload version for other platforms soon.

ooku says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10pm

nice atmosphere, and I liked the concept.
sound not looping correctly was a little disturbing

Mizou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:35pm

@ooku Thank you ooku!Gonna fix the music bug.

pss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Cool concept!

stalker1586 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Atmospheric and interesting interpretation of the theme.

ijona says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:55am

very nice!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:26am

This is definitely clever! I would absolutely play this game with more levels. I love shape recognition and almost never see it in games!

Very, very cool, thanks for sharing. :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:29am

Whoa, that was neat! I wish you had made more levels, by the time I understood what was going on, the game was over. A really good concept, I could see this turning in to one of those addictive brain-game apps.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:33am

Very nice and atmospheric! Great concept as well. Very well done.

Mizou says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Thank you guys! Your reviews means a lot to us. We`re gonna to optimise this game and might produce the VR and mobile versions. We really appreciate more voices on this game :D! Stay in tuned!

SamH says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:19pm

An appeasing game, with an original mechanic. Well done. (any chance of a Linux version by the way?)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:22am

The is really beautiful. You set a mood very well. I could see this being expanded into a larger world with lots of hidden images to find. Nice work, and I hope to see more!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:07am

Very interesting concept and nice job on setting the mood. Is it bad that everything looks like a face to me?

Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:11pm

I really like the concept. It's great having an original game and mood in LD. I'd love to play longer with different kind of faces and landscapes.

tsedate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:18pm

This is a very cool idea! It reminds me of certain parts from The Witness, which is always a good thing. This would be really cool with more levels. Also, the game did a great job of teaching me how to play. Thanks for the game!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:27am

Very atmospheric entry! A bit short though. Quite unusual concept, thank you, really enjoyed playing this!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:42am

Very original entry. Top marks for innovation for sure. Nice job.

AnMorfeusz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Very nice game idea, cool concept!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:46am

Pretty interesting concept, though I didn't actually see the face right away, had to read the description.

joemid says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:43am

Took me a moment- but I got it! Simple, but sets the perfect mood! Great use of the theme.

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:56am

i had no idea what i was doing but i enjoyed the mood and the music :)

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:01am

Wow! Really inspiring!
Good idea for the shape inverting!!

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:09am

Very cool. Interesting concept!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:07am

Very minimalist, intriguing.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:16am

Interesting game. It seemed like it was trying to tell me something but I couldn't quite figure it out. Great entry overall.

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:17am

More levels please this is so good!

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:54am

令人赞叹的创意,氛围在音乐的配合下也很到位。
教学部分做得也很好。
感觉是一个有继续制作下去潜力的游戏。

Insality says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:07am

Nice game, the ambient music and graphics style make the game feelings is incredible!
Very good short entry, i've enjoyed to play it

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Beautiful game. It's very short, but it is an interesting idea. Searching for faces is relaxing (the music helped), but at the same time an intriguing experience, I kept seeing faces where there were none. Nice job.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:20am

Very elegant take on the theme - this certainly stands out from the crowd compared to other entries.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:05am

Great innovative game, I love the concept. However, face-recognition is complex and subjective, I saw faces that weren't considered as that by the game. But I liked it.
Since the gameplay is look-based, what about a mobile VR port? Like Cardboard or Oculus Mobile (this one works better than Cardboard). Game has very little text, it is look based and has minimalistic graphics, so I think it would be great to play it on VR.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Played on Windows.

Full points for innovation! This one stands out.

I like the idea of shape recognition as gameplay. You've got such a neat concept here, and a nice little demonstration of it.

Thank you guys so much for sharing this!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:48pm

That one little relaxing game. Good job.

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Huh, that was an interesting idea. Even without reading on the game, I've noticed some face-like shapes (though for some reason I've noticed some of these on the mountain-side rather than sky-side...). However, I didn't quite figure out that I had to mouse over an eye. The fact that I didn't notice the plus-sign didn't help, either...

That's rather atmospheric game indeed, though the background music might not loop perfectly. Maybe it could work with more levels, maybe not...

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:56am

have experienced the basic version and post version (today happens to be the new update)And I have to say :- amazing and wonderful as usual!
I think the ambient-music choose very conform( peace、not too psychedelic to lost、and have more solemn feeling) the-logo also have great designed ,these all mixed emotional and boost great meditation experience to enhence this greatcreative-conception.
btw,L2 allitle bit hard for me than L3(although the final face also hard to be find out > < )! the smooth and float moutain(or quicksand?)really attract my attention alot !not sure whether it wasjust designed for divert player's attention(fexp to lifting the difficulty?) but i think these fluid shape may be a great new extension point in future!
all in all ,Relaxing,Interesting,and Strong conceptual ! just my favourite~ and wish to keep going!

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Alright, played the additional levels, they're rather cool, though level 2 mountains have too rough edges, I think, making the faces harder to find because the faces are smooth, and the mountains are sharp (I hope you know what I mean). I particularly liked one of the faces in level 3 (you know, the one that uses really cool idea).

Oh, also, nice touch with the heads in the interface, as well as the some-sort of noise texture on sky or something...? Can't quite name it, but I think there's some effect on the sky that wasn't there before. ^^

Simon says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Very nice, thank you.

Uson Chen says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:20am

Great concept ! Simple but beautiful art ! Very comfort experience.

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:38pm

A nice, relaxing little mellow puzzle game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]