Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Rush

by Glaydur - Jam Entry

In the year 198x, one man must do everything in his power to get to work on time. With the help of his magical shapeshifting dog, even slow sports cars and lazor birdz can't stand in the way between him and the road to his job.

Instructions:
Dog beats car
Tank beats roadblock
Bird eats coffee

Controls:
[Spacebar] transform
[left ctrl] or [left mouse button] = attack

TEAM:

Art: Giorgio "Gio" Renna
http://giorenna.daportfolio.com/

Music and SFX: Oliver "Oli" Grant & Tommy "LAZOR" Bradly
http://www.esrever.audio/

Programming: Niño Mollaneda
http://ninom.github.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#246Graphics(Jam)3.88
#368Humor(Jam)2.77
#383Theme(Jam)3.54
#385Audio(Jam)3.17
#652Overall(Jam)3.12
#674Fun(Jam)2.96
#686Mood(Jam)2.91
#698Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

jcsirron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Interesting game. I don't think the shape shifting was quite fast enough for some situations, but otherwise it was fine. I didn't find a way to deal with the robot birds, though. They seemed like a little bit of a cheap shot, since you couldn't get the rider to avoid the drops.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Great visual and great paper/scissors/rock gameplay, well done.

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Awesome graphics!!
Good Audio too...
Simple but effective mechanic!

I would have loved to transform quickly though.. there was some sort of cool down to change again..

Mase says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27am

It's possible to transform into a bird, fly offscreen over the cyclist, and end up on the bottom lane or below. It's reversible but... I was troubled momentarily.
The robot birds are a menace.
Nice parallax.

Glaydur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03am

@Mase Thanks for reporting! Should be fixed now.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53am

Really enjoyed the graphics. Gameplay was simple but worked.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:58am

Art and mechanics are nice, but it's a little bit difficult to play. More intuitive controls would make a great game :D

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39am

Lovely retro graphics, great use of shapeshifting, really like the idea. Although it's not very clear how to win/lose I really didn't understand the mechanic of the bar.
Great game overall!!!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:49pm

The game was interesting and the theme was well executed. The game was a bit frustrating at times and the goal was unclear. I liked changing into different forms, however changing had a cooldown and at times I was punished unfairly. I had to change from dog, to bird, to tank to clear an obstacle, but I was too slow simply because of cooldown. Ok attempt overall.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Good job! I enjoyed everything except the cooldown of the shapeshifting! Remove the cooldown (or at least greatly decrease it) and this would be so much better!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]