Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Quandary

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

REQUIRES A HTC VIVE VR HEADSET + ROOMSCALE

Quandary, wander around trying to find the button which will lead you to the next...

- advised to open up the post compo version, the other one is rather broken
- borks if your play space is a little too small I believe it needs to be at least 3x3 meter or bigger (adjusts fine after that).

Team Eagle consisted this time of..
Benjamin de Jager (TurtleBlaze) - Programmer
Fedor Jutte - Artist / Programmer
Bram van Elderen - Programmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2304Coolness0%

Comments

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:13pm

I hope this gets fixed... as is it crashes when the button is pressed.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:04pm

We fixed it somewhat, I'll upload a post-compo version soon.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Updated!

charstar56 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:41pm

good game

TTLabs says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Lots of fun, enjoyed it quite a bit. Noticed the button broke for me after the scene change. Might want to check the button remains non-kinematic.

TTLabs says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:17pm

And thanks for using NewtonVR (Love, TTLabs)

hitchh1k3r says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:53pm

I had to move my Vive setup to the living room to get this working, but it was a fun experience. I'd like to commend you all on such a complex project. I really like the idea of a VR changing maze using the non-Euclidean style movement in games like Antichamber.

Some audio would have been nice (a happy chirp each time you press the button would be a nice micro reward). I noticed a lot of bugs when playing (the curse of an ambitious project), sometimes the doorways would show me strange geometry (walls that go past the floor, or dead ends that open up when I walk up to them), also sometimes I'd walk through a seemingly open door to have the world change (a button disappear). The text above the button would display above the eventual position of the button even if it wasn't visible, and eventually I found out I could press the button even though it wasn't really there.

Additionally I found the fact that I need a rather large (3m x 3m area, while minimum size is 1.5m x 2m) to be a pain. I had to move my computer and base stations to the living room, and hope the tracking would be good. I understand that the way the game works you need a large space, but it would be nice to see some work around. The first thing that pops into my head is a "Doll House" mode, where you could crawl around the maze... maybe that's not the best solution though. ^_^

All in all, this was very impressive, I liked the strange patterns I could see in the walls, and the color choices were pleasing. It also had a good (multi-layered) use of the theme. I think this game could be a lot of fun(!), if some of the bugs get worked out of it,

ajayajayaj says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 9:26pm

That's so sad... I wish more people had the Vive so you could get a rating...

TeamEagle says ...
May 16, 2016 @ 11:15am

We expected the low ratingsg, no worries that's just how it is with not much hardware being out there :)

@hithchik1k3r thanks for the thorough playtest, we've got a more updated version at the moment and working on a more polished version so we can put it up on steam so stay tuned for that :)

TeamEagle says ...
May 16, 2016 @ 11:24am

low as in not a lot *:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]