Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeShiftShip

by CheesyRamen - Jam Entry

UPDATE 2: Fixed stuff to make it work properly. Also added Win/Max/Lunix builds as well! Enjoy

UPDATE: Just noticed that the stuff I uploaded isn't working correctly! Will investigate when I get the chance!

Feel free to send feedback/bug reports!

CONTROLS:
Arraws/WASD: Move
E/F: Transform
Space: Rotate

Made with Unity
Sounds made with bfxr

Music by Jusu-Tengu, via Newgrounds
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/676406
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/676628
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/640770
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/667872

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.80
#117Fun(Jam)3.71
#138Theme(Jam)3.92
#166Overall(Jam)3.68
#208Graphics(Jam)3.96
#395Humor(Jam)2.71
#502Mood(Jam)3.15

Comments

swamppenguins says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Nice twist on the good ol' Tetris

danbolt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19am

This is a cool idea! I had a bit of trouble with the controls at first, and I wasn't 100% what my goal was, but it was a lot of fun playing around.

The graphics made really good use of WebGL's capabilities compared to a lot of Unity-in-the-browser stuff I've seen. The sense of depth also reminded me a bit of A New Hope as well, which is always a good thing. :P

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:04am

Good game, the 3D depth effect was cool. The game was somewhat too hard but otherwise I liked this game.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:46pm

Nice work and use of the theme. The biggest issue I saw was the collision between the objects--lots of awkward bouncing. But I can only imagine how hard it is to make that work with constantly moving pieces. Congrats on finishing!

jakass says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:07pm

5 Stars! I fond some bugs when I'm inside some parts of the boss and rotate the piece, by the way, this game is fantastic! O love this idea. The game is veery hard, but I liked this! :D Awesome!

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Love the Ikaruga/bullet hell style slow down when you defeat the boss, lovely touch :)

gelisam says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Starts way too easy, but then becomes surprisingly challenging! I got stuck after obtaining the S block, because no boss appeared at the end of the level.

davalcordub says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:38pm

It is a really cool game

jk5000 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Great idea, and great game. I would really like to see a polished version of this game. Well done.

Fantasieleben says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Good game, innovative twist of tetris.

cynicalmonkey says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:18pm

nice little tetris/smup fusion

JohnnySix says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Great concept - loved the boss levels, it became super tough very quickly once rotation was added into the mix.

I got to the third boss, but couldn't get further as I couldn't move, only change shape. :(

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Nice work, I like the concept ;)
try our game plz
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

mard says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Cool game!
Absolutely love the aesthetics, the game feels very polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]