Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ocean Rig 452

by iossif - Jam Entry

post jam update:
- better camera angle
- restart button for every level
- mouse controls

---

A puzzle game for your entertainment.

---

A strange artifact fell from the sky and crashed into the ocean. Time is of the essence - ships will not reach the crash site in time.

This is the perfect time to test our new deformable ocean righ system.

Keep in mind that deployment is tricky. We will drop the system via plane - it is up to you to connect the parts in order to get everything working.

---

Mouse: Select
Arrow Keys / WASD: Move selected parts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#213Audio(Jam)3.51
#249Overall(Jam)3.57
#269Mood(Jam)3.46
#299Innovation(Jam)3.36
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#457Graphics(Jam)3.48
#479Theme(Jam)3.43
#726Humor(Jam)2.00

Comments

ottohak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48am

Really cool entry, but I was not able to win Level 4 :D
I would love a mobile Version with faster Block moving and touch conrols(I often got confused on what arrow to use)
Why is there no Linux build? Its just a click away!

Draft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52am

Very good idea. However it seems to be a bit slow. And I think that the board should be oriented the same as the small map.

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53am

Cool! I liked the overall feeling. I got stuck on level 3 tho haha. Nice game!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58am

I like this type of games. But it was better to make full mouse controls (by hitting the arrows, for example). Keyboard is not very good for that.

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00am

Loved the mood in this game. Nice and relaxed :) Was hoping for mouse controls because I tend to use the wrong key now and then. Also there's currently no way to restart a level if you made a mistake.

iossif says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06am

i will try to add mouse controls and a restart button in the post compo version.
the linux build somehow did not work :(

v01pe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07am

Very nice puzzle concept! Good complexity through simple mechanics…
criticism: @fatsopanda says it all :)

Tacohej says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:21am

Good game! Maybe not super innovative, but solid puzzle. Got stuck on Level 5 with no pattern to follow.

+ Graphics and Animations - Something other than black background would be nice, otherwise great
+ Audio - Sounds good.
+ Not being able to move single blocks was a smart and simple design to enable creative puzzles.

- Controls - Using keyboard to move felt very tedious
- Got stuck with no pattern to solve

Anyway, well done

iossif says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

you can move single blocks if they are not part of a line when you move them.

can you explain "with no pattern to solve"?

iossif says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02am

oh, i found out. looks like this is a display bug in the webgl version. very weird. fixing it!

iossif says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13pm

update: the bug in level 5 should be fixed in the web version. had no time to test pc/mac

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Good puzzle game, enjoyed the music but I am not smart enough to play well but I can still admire the work xD

iossif says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

thank you :D

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:06pm

nice puzzle game. the controls could be better. you have to click the elements but use the arrow keys to move because you can't click the red arrows in game. also the rotated map/game make a bit hard to see whats wrong, so i could not solve lvl4

Funske says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Great game I love the puzzle games, and this one was very fun.

aeai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:34pm

I really loved the mechanic and the overall aesthetics of the game, but as others mentioned it before a mouse control option would be really good, i constantly used the wrong keys.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Cool take on the shapeshifting mechanics. The perspective made figuring out the controls a little confusing. Overall, great graphics!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35pm

A good puzzle game, nice graphics, nice audio!

Well done!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:46pm

A very cool puzzler.
Connection of the tiles provides a nice challenge.
Putting a compass on the board might improve the game, as I failed on the first level right away, placing the floating crates in the wrong orientation.

I enjoyed playing your game to the end. Good job :)

purrpurr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:49pm

This was a delight to play! The puzzles and mechanics were fun, albeit a bit tedious given the controls and movement of the blocks; it made the game somewhat boring at times. The story element to it was lost on me, though I did like the idea behind it. Did get dragged in by the puzzles themselves, which made me finish it in the end. (and having a great time doing so) Thank you for making this, it was entertaining.

duskpn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Really nice game! The visuals and sound combined very well and the puzzles were interesting and easy to understand.

bellum128 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:04am

Great game so far, my biggest request is a restart button, preferably R. Also it would be nice if your object stayed selected after you move it, if possible. Keep us updated on progress :)

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39pm

ok, post compo changes are here!

- clickable arrow
- restart button in every level

enjoy :)

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:39pm

oh, and also the level is not rotated that much, should be easier to navigate now.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:39am

Love this simple puzzle game. Well done.

Louspirit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Good puzzle game, we believe in the universe.

antarka says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:48am

Cool little game. But Movement are to slow and maybe one or two gameplay elements was cool.

Good luck !

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:37am

It's a little annoying that you can't do everything with the mouse, especially since the direction isn't apparent with the board's perspective. A reset button would also have been useful. Solid entry though, nice work!

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:00am

Good game :D

merzlot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:22am

Great job! Levels are clever and interesting. Spend some good time solving it.

Linver says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Level 4-5 are hard as ... , but after others are OK/(but maybe 6 is so easy)
Music is good, but I think you should don't use pixelization of models for better art style.
Good smart game. Hard a bit (but I know, it's so hard to create smooth complexity .. in Ludum time)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Played a bit with the jam version, then switched to the post jam one. In my opinion the new camera angle is a big improvement, the previous one paried with keyboard controls was confusing to me. Enjoyable puzzle, not too hard and relaxing. The audio adds a lot to the immersion. I'm conflicted about the slow sliding of the pieces: on one hand it reinforces the sea theme, on the other it slows the game down. An enjoyable experience overall, well done!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Pretty fun and interesting mechanics. Some of the puzzles are actually quite hard.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:42am

Nice and relaxing game. Good mood.

ratking says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:53am

Great puzzle game, but I don't really know why the movement is so slow... :P

g12345 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:20am

Why is the embedded version not the jam version but the postjam version???

I almost gave some fine scores but now I really have to mark it down.

The game itself is a bit slow, but the problem is that it's a bit easy. I've stopped playing after level 9, but for levels 7,8,9, I have steps left. (Not going to recheck this since the game is so slow and you can't reselect finished levels.)

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Nice work.
I would play more levels if you speed up block movement by 4x or so.

iossif says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:11am

quote "Why is the embedded version not the jam version but the postjam version??? "

i have actually no idea. fixing the links right now.

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:42am

Very fun puzzle mechanic. Also, nice music

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]