Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Trickytron

by McFunkypants - Jam Entry

So I'm a 43 year old dad with like zero free time... =)

But I LOVE LUDUM DARE so much I put a few hours into my 20th game entry!

TWENTY LUDUM DARES! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

All I managed to finish was a "movement tech demo" where I continually tweaked the "feel" and nothing else - just in a debug room.

There's no damn gameplay here at all - don't bother rating me! Just - try it for fun, and see if you like the feel. The movement (on gamepad) feels so smooth that my 5 year old son just skated around in this vast fantasy skatepark for as long as I'd let him - he kept begging to play it the entire weekend. "Daddy, this is your BEST GAME YOU EVER MADE!"

I don't know what to think. Should I keep working on this? Missions, people to talk to, a world map, levelups, inventory blah blah blah.

Update: Just posted Mac OSX and Linux builds. Since I made this in Unity, I bet I could get it to work in VR on the HTC Vive or Oculus but I don't have the hardware. If you do, let me know if it runs on your glasses!

=====

I considered not submitting it.

My 5 year old son loves it.

So, you be the judge.

Tell me what you think in a comment.

Thanks for playing!

- Christer "mcfunkypants" Kaitila

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Fun(Jam)3.76
#300Overall(Jam)3.51
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:54pm

This needs to be expanded upon - feels great to play currently!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Well, it IS fun to control, it would be great to see this expanded into a game!

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:43pm

"I will put my shoes on
and do what I feel"
Max air:32

A bit uncontrollable if you are trying to do something really specific, but really fun to tumble around while exploring. The pinball/skate area is huge and have a lot of hidden little corners.
I was playing with a gamepad and being able to control the camera with the second stick can be really helpful.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01am

Ahaha this is great! The music is a amazing too :P

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55am

Pretty fun demo - I got 13M max air! Controls are a bit hard to use for precise moves (e.g. camera didn't really follow the player so some angles were hard to see). If this was expanded into a sort of cyber tony hawk, with gamepad support and grinding, that'd be awesome. I really enjoy the neon-future visuals :D

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58am

Oh snap, just realized the gamepad works. Nice!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19am

Haha a good effort, I miss these kinds of games. Spent so long trying to get the required max air.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02am

The look and atmosphere are great. And the controls feel awesome (with my gamepad)!
Just needs some missions and gameplay ;-)

tanis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46pm

There's some potential there. The gameplay isn't bad at all and the controls are nice.

The graphics style is good as well. You could definitely turn this into something.

Sometimes the camera is a bit awkward and makes it hard to understand the direction you're going.

Yetikatt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Looks beautiful, sounds fantastic, gameplay was fun. Really enjoyable!

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:40pm

A for effort

solkar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:07am

If your kid likes it that's something, for sure. :D

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:42am

Slick presentation! Fun movement!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:01am

The movement feels really great!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Congratulations on entry number 20 :D !! Anyway, this was really fun to play despite being a "tech demo" per se plus I liked the neon visuals and funky soundtrack. I definitely think you should expand on this more (as it's been a while since we had a really good skateboarding game :V).

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Really fun to just skate around and see how much air you can get. (I got 27 max air) Congrats on finding a way to entertain your son! That's what really matters!

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Nice game. :) It has a little bit hard control, and sometimes I fall to the texture.

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:49pm

This is insanely fun. Like Tony Hawk in Space ;)

Spotline says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:32pm

SOUNDTRACK IS AWESOME

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:46am

I spent several minutes just moving and jumping around the room, and I think that's a good sign. If I spend several minutes just playing with movement without a goal, it is a good starting point for a great game. Definitely keep working on this. Your child has good taste for games :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:43am

MOAR is required

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:42am

Please expand this, it feels so good. It would be great if you could do tricks and missions and stuff.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:15am

For the short amount of time you had this is an awesome outcome! The movement feels slick and the added collectables and airtime stats do give it that arcade feel! I can see why your son thinks this is the best game you ever made. In it's core it is fun.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:49pm

This is a good demo and is fun to just fly around on those ramps xD. Add more moves, levels, missions, character designs and you'll have something great! Good stuff

zetsumi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:09pm

funny !!!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:08am

You should use that as a good prototype and do more research on gameplay mechanics and game design. It can be a really great game

Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:26am

And there is the mcfunkypants entry ! Even it's not finished, I find this super fun to control, it's visually pleasant and the audio is great. Would love to see an expanded version of it :) Glad you finally submitted it, you're son was right haha ! Also #IndieHighFive for your 20th Ludum Dare !

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Had a blast playing this although there were some parts that were open and caused me to fall through the map

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:08pm

This is pretty cool, I love skateboarding. Hope you expand on it!

fenwick says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Ollying would be a good addition. The movement does feel really good.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:14am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Game with great 3D graphics and style.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:53pm

downloaded it but didnt find the exe

Uson Chen says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:38am

I like the visual arts and the music is exciting!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Nice controls and great aesthetic. I think that this project has some potential. Well done ++

yuigoto says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:25am

This is really fun, even though it's just a tech demo as you wrote. :)

Controls feel pretty solid and responsive, gameplay is fluid for me. DO keep working on it! :P

dollarone says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:45am

Very nice effort! Very impressive for a 72h jam!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]