Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mortal Ro-Sham-Bo!

by dcolgan - Jam Entry

Your roommate unjustly wants the last slice of pizza! This is obviously grounds for a fight to the death.

In this game that attempts to weakly channel Mortal Kombat, throw a rock/kick, paper/punch, or uppercut/scissors depending on what your opponent is throwing. If you are holding out something strong against your opponent, they take damage, otherwise you take damage!

For some reason the winner can shapeshift into a giant rock, paper, or scissors!

A clarification - you are meant to hold down the attack keys instead of tap them like most fighting games - the attacks do damage or take damage continuously for as long as they are active.

Made in 72 hours by Dain van Epps and David Colgan. Music generously contributed by Atmospherium.

A Less Boring Games production. www.lessboring.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#29Humor(Jam)4.06
#348Audio(Jam)3.24
#365Fun(Jam)3.33
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#577Overall(Jam)3.21
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#766Graphics(Jam)2.95
#915Theme(Jam)2.74

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:01am

Too much fun. GF was super happy she beat me every time we played o_O

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

That was..... interesting.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37am

I'm terrible at it, but it's still fun. A great idea and I love the artwork!

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59am

This is so much fun!

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:53am

ahaha, was funny

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04am

Totally silly, I love this kind of entry. Graphics are just astonishing !

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19pm

HAHAHAHA I loved it. Real-time rock-paper-scissor is way more nervous that it sound like ;)

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:01am

Thanks for playing our game! 6 out of 5 stars in the voice acting category! Rock Wins!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:10am

Awesome! I look forward to seeing this played competitively at evo.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Sooooo fun and the first game I've seen which allows multiple players. Kudos!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:10am

LOL, that was very unexpected, thanks for the funny submission.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:10am

Different... but nice!

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13am

The graphics are really unique and awesome! Gameplay vs a computer was kind of fast paced, but over time I understood how to play. Also, multiple maps were a nice implementation.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:26am

hilarious. and I am so terrible at this game :) Nice graphic style, especially the sprites!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Awesome! Loving the music and the art style. Nice work.

oxysoft says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:19am

this is a work of art, that's all I'll say

QuexD says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:21am

I thought you had to spam buttons could I be more wrong.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:41am

This is delightfully demented. Good stuff.

Knowledge says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Great audio and quite fun!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Once I read the clarification, it became much easier. The graphics were hilarious, in general it was a very funny game :P

czester16 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Was fun!

fin_nolimit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:36am

absolute best rock paper scissors game EVER!!!!! Too funny!!!

Naca says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:58pm

This is hilarious! :D Fantastic revision of the Rock-Paper-Scissors classic. I will definitely use it in my home arguments ;)

Graphics and music are very fun. The real-world characters and animations slightly remind me the first Prince of Persia :D

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:28pm

OMG this game! sooo amazing! and full of the power of humor and innovation and the love of innocent heart! that really my first time to seen game like this in LD, real human so fun! also help to build a great rhythm and art style!
music very good ,each match keep time is just fit!not long not short ,and totally full of rhythm!
oh,bytheway, this game let me think about another game,which name is <Dong Dong Never Die>(东东不死传说),it let me feel similary feeling~ verygreat !
good entry ,and worth to collect in my computer then play with my friend. well done && congratulations!~

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:51am

Nothing really to say. It's Rock paper scissors. but on a computer.
Pretty funny.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]