Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Splitter Critters

by GertJohnny - Jam Entry

Split and shift the shape of the world to get those critters home safe.

Press R to restart the level if anything terrible happens.
Arrow Keys/WASD can be used to move the camera around, if you're into that kind of thing.

Programming by Jesse Ringrose (@jesseringrose)
Art by Jason Ennis (@RAC7Games)

Post-Jam Update:
We are expanding this idea into a fully fledged game on both Steam and mobile, so please follow us on twitter!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.77
Overall(Jam)4.58
Theme(Jam)4.50
Fun(Jam)4.33
Coolness64%
#11Graphics(Jam)4.64
#21Mood(Jam)4.25
#160Humor(Jam)3.39

Comments

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:50am

Great game, I really liked the concept. One suggestion would be the camera be a little bit zoomed out, so you could have a big picture of the level. Anyway's currently one of the best games =)

nicoplv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:36am

Very good concept and beautiful graphics, congratulations!

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:36am

The graphics are great and the overall mood. Very nice game.

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

I enjoyed playing this game, it felt polished. Nice job.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

Amazing, well done

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:43am

SO GOOD!!!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29am

This is absolutely amazing! Not even sure how it is possible to get the code done to move pieces of land like that!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:37am

Superb game. Great concept and beautiful visuals. Very occasionally my Critters got stuck and stopped moving but I was always able to create new splits to free them.

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:41am

Wow! This is really amazing. It's already can be put on Steam or Appstore. One of the best games I've ever played in Ludumdare.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45am

@machine_screen if your Critters give you trouble just give them a good smack. They might look cute, but they're wanted criminals on their home planet.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48am

Masters at work! Truly amazing work.

Zodalia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:52am

What a game!

Other than the camera being a little clunky, this already looks and plays like a game I'd be happy to buy.

On the point of the camera, I think you'd be better to place the camera tutorial first, as I found myself needing to use it in the first puzzle.

I also struggled on the level with the pillar, as I hadn't yet realised that you could have multiple splits.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

Easily my best ludum dare so far, absolutely loved it, really amazing guys, well done

Capitals says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:27am

Really good game. Looks amazing. The gameplay feels amazing. I can't fault it.

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:43am

Great game and awesome graphics.

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:05pm

Amazing work! Fresh concept and extremely impressive execution. It was very fun to split the world and wrap my brain around how this mechanic works. Also the art style reminded me of Little Big Planet :) Great work!

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Just marvellous. Visuals, concept.. it's just top notch! It doesn't look like a game from a jam at all :o Hope you'll continue it, it has a really good potential!

beayfergm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:29pm

This game is amazing! Really polished. Looks and feels like a final product.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Fantastic effort! Love the concept and the visuals are superb.

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Perfect game. Have my 5 stars! Enjoyed it a lot, and clever mechanic!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

really unique concept, cutting edge graphics! :^P

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:28pm

I'm loving the paper cutout feel of the visuals. Fantastic polish for a jam entry

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

A very very novel idea, executed really well. The good graphics add a lot to the mechanic, too. Extremely polished, really gotta beat this at some point. Good work!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03pm

This is probably going to be the winner of the jam. hands down best technique i seen in a long time.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Awesome game! Loved the idea, graphics. Thank you!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Amazing Game. Really cool new concept.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Really impressive mechanic

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

Very cool concept. I'm still trying to figure how you implemented that splitting. Great job!

Syldarion says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13am

This is an absolutely fantastic puzzle concept. I would love to see this expanded.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20am

What an extraordinary game! I like how you were able to juice out as many puzzle ideas as possible while sticking to one simple mechanic. Could use some fast-forward button to make the character move faster to get over some patience-requiring segments of the game. Also, the big-wall-turned-to platform mechanic, while taught early, came in very late at the last level, making it an easily forgettable and cryptic puzzle element.

Greatly enjoyed the game, would love to see more.

P.S. could use some fine-tuning with those colliders. Those Ruffians failed to die on my lava!

howardcs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:42am

Never seen this mechanic before. Great design and executed perfectly.

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:54am

Really like this puzzle mechanic and the art. Would love to see a bit more ramp in the intro for introducing ways to split. Took a while to 'guess' the intended solution at times. Look forward to seeing this evolve!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Very innovative mechanic and use of the theme. I also love music and graphics. Congratulations for so great game

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:28pm

What a great entry. Well done, nice gameplay mechanics and also really cute art. Awesome!!

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Nice puzzle mechanic and delightfully implemented. Less camera movement would be better for me. I often came close to the world worders so the camera moved away. I'd suggetst using just the keyboard for camera movement.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:44pm

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!
You're so awesome!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:00am

Honestly perfect 5 stars. This god damned amazing.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:03am

This was a fantastic game! The mechanic was really unique and had a lot going for it. It was hard to wrap my head around, but fun to figure it out! I loved all of the puzzles that you made with the different critters and enemies. Amazing job!!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:31am

Incredible entry. I wouldn't be surprised if this won. You can cheat with the mechanics a little bit but it's still tricky.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:11am

This is one of the best and most complete games I have ever seen on Ludum Dare. I hope you release it as a complete game, just like Dark Echo :D

SemiColon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Very impressive! It got hard quite fast though, so my only word of advice would be to work on the difficulty curve a bit ;)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:46pm

@ohmaigawd that's the plan, already working on it.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Oh wow! This is just brilliant! The innovation on this is 5 stars for sure. How you got the world to be able to be sliced like that...beyond me haha! This is a great idea and could be a great app game on Android and OS. I spent a great deal of time playing this and the music is superb. Great work! :)

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Great and interesting game! Very creative gameplay mechanic, I have never seen something like that. Congratulations!

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Oh my god. this game most certainly deserves #1 in every single category. hands down, the greatest game i've ever played in ludum dare. the concept is outstanding, and i sincerely hope to see this game in the #1 spot.

drazil100 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:14am

That's a really creative idea! Great job on making this!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:43am

Really great game! Unfortunate that it didn't have audio, but there's not much else to complain about.
Perfect idea and execution otherwise.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:17am

What more to say, cute graphics, excellent and clever mechancis, that's for sure an excellent game

mar3k says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Overall just an amazing game, so well done!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Such a great unique entry which I can see working really well on touch devices. One of my favourites so far with lovely graphics, music and mood. Those little critters were adorable and the whole splitting mechanic was extremely clever. Also impressed with the amount of levels you were able to make in such a short time.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Really fantastic. I haven't seen anything like this before, and really really liked it.

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Looks cool and intressting idea but my little guy dont want to walk

Zyow says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Wow! Graphics, sounds, concept, they are all awesome! Nice job!

LonelyCheese says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Hi there!
I'm an aspiring youtube and would like to make a video! Is that possible? It is an awesome game!

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:11pm

@SpringCabal: There's plenty of audio, you may need to turn your speakers on or unmute your system.

@WERT Studio: You have to follow the tutorial before he starts walking, there are instructions on the bottom of the screen.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:07am

Impressive game. I got an out of memory error at one point, but other than that this was a really well developed game with an astonishing level of polish. Excellently done!

DRGY says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Great game, great graphic...

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Pssst - you are in todays episode of LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa_XGu8KGz8

endel says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Great concept, implementation, graphics, everything. I'm curious how this scene cutting was approached. Congrats guys, cheers!

Slothmachine says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:03pm

This is what the jams are about! Excellent new puzzle format. Entertaining levels and it all feels so polished! Nice!

GaryS says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Astounding.
Graphics are lovely, gameplay is orginal and challenging.

wavertron says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:30am

We might just have a winner right here.

Without any doubt, get the controls working for touch screens, then get this sucker packaged up and into the App stores pronto!

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Delightful, 5/5!
Add a ton more levels and some more level mechanics then do a full release.

guoboism says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:34pm

5 star game!

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Okay, you guys win. This is fantastic!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:21pm

one of the best game ... directly on my browser favorites tab !! thank you for this momment ! Beautifull songs too !

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:01am

Utterly brilliant idea :) Also, extremely well implemented.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Awesome ! I like this kind of "situation" puzzles, and the take of theme is particularly clever, here. The cute graphics and mood music are choosen well too. Very good job ! :)

Cerno_b says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:45pm

A really creative and well-thought out entry. Unfortunately I'm too dense to get past the first levels but I can see that it deserves all the praise it's getting.

Tacohej says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Wow, great work. The only downside I think is that you sometimes feel a bit overwhelmed by options, but that is sort of the beauty of the mechanic as well. Still best game so far imo

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:41am

Great concept and great execution.

Splitting the parallax layers was blowing my mind.

Uson Chen says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:21am

Great design both on concept and program implementation. Very innovated mechanic~

terryg says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:10am

Nicely done. I got to the 3rd screen and couldn't figure out how to get to the ship. Interesting concept. Good luck on green light. Oh and beautiful graphics.

scorched says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Well done!

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:16pm

WOW amazing game, had so much fun and hard time to figure out how to play right! and Ive done it in the end. the graphics are cool too! 8/10

SaintHeiser says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:58am

Excellent game! Awesome concept man! Reminds me "Fault Line" by Nitrome studio, but your concept more and more cooler!

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:17pm

WOW! How did you do that? Absolutely awesome game. I will cry, if your game didn't get in the top 10. At least...
Clearly a win! 10 of 5 stars from me!!! Can't stop playing - help me :P

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Great entry. One of the best projects for the 35th LudumDare session. There is an unusual gameplay and a beautiful aesthetic. I wish you the best on GreenLight ++

May 9, 2016 @ 9:18pm

The splitting mechanic is so awesome and everything else is too! Congrats to all involved!

curtamyth says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Sooooo incredibly unique. This gets a 5/5 overall rating for innovation alone. I hope this game goes far. Top 10 games I've played here so far without a doubt. Excellent work!

Aaranos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:48pm

Well made puzzle game. The art is fantastically stylized and the game play is actually pretty engaging and requires some thought.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:53am

This is freakin' amazing. It's beautiful. And the mechanic is sooo fun to play with. Loved the depth of field effects and the paper cardboard aesthetic. Amazin!

May 10, 2016 @ 12:56am

Just a really lovely project. I'm so glad to find out that your'e continuing this game -- a friend helps me rate these and she was immediately entranced and interested in playing this further. Great work!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:01am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

KingSlizzard says ...
Aug 24, 2016 @ 4:54am

soooo cooool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]