Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mike Rand in Fantasy Land

by BrainSlugs83 - Jam Entry

Fair warning, this game isn't complete.

This is a metrovania style game that I put together to make a jab at a couple of my co-workers. (Namely, Mike Rand who "works in Fantasy Land". I wanted to add in a couple of others, make one a quest fairy, and the other a boss, but I didn't have time for any of that. -- Also, sound effects would have been nice...).

Anyway, It may not be complete, but it's the most complete Ludum Dare entry I've done so far, and it's even playable for a few minutes.

It's got several screens of bad guys, a half complete dungeon level, a quest item that unlocks a power up for you (enabling some some back tracking), and a couple of hidden messages to discover. See if you can find them all! :-)


The game should explain the controls pretty well, but just in case:

Arrow Keys / Game Pad Left Stick .......... Move Rand (up to enter doors)
Keyboard Z / Space Bar / Game Pad A .... Jump
Keyboard X / Game Pad X ..................... Attack

F11 ................................................... Disable Debug Information (Whoops)

Notes:
Most of the graphics are mine, some are not. The tileset and the bad guy were a CC0/public domain license, so I borrowed them (though, I animated the bad guy manually in Spriter). -- And the main player sprite I spent a couple days on prior to the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#316Humor(Jam)2.91
#667Fun(Jam)2.97
#857Mood(Jam)2.64
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#1093Innovation(Jam)2.06

Comments

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22am

Cool game guys! I wish there was more content, but I totally understand why there isn't because I had to do similar cuts for my game. Hope you expand on this in the future!

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26am

Fun. I like the art for the Mike Rand sprite!

MeritLeave says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:25am

Fun start! I really like Mike Rand's sprite. Something about this guy going around stabbing things mercilessly with that expression is really engaging.

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:27am

Was this supposed to be for Shapeshifting? Cause theres none.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29am

I liked the look of it most. Play was smooth though and everything worked well. I don't think there is much I can say that is not already obvious apart from that.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44am

@Peter1992t That's why it's not in the voting categories for this entry. Since it's not a hard requirement, I opted out of following the theme. :-)

(According to the rules page, the theme just there to help you with the "Blank Sheet of Paper" problem. I didn't have that problem, so I didn't use the theme.)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46am

@dcolgan Thanks, I'm glad to hear it's running and working well for everyone. I was really worried that there was going to be some start-up bug that made it unplayable or never load or something. Glad to hear it's working well. :-)

ottohak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35am

Fun game, pretty good graphics.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:43am

Cool game)

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:50pm

I don't mind the game play, seems like it could be solid with some work. Where does the Shapeshift theme come into play? I didn't find anything on my adventure but maybe I missed it. I like the pixel effect when you destroy an enemy, that was pretty cool.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:40pm

I definitely know this game cover from some place haha :D
Unfortunately he boss was not ready, nice entry.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29am

@Hyoga-3D thanks for noticing! -- I had a lot of fun making that cover. :D -- did you find the double jump power and the hidden messages? :-)

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:03am

Mike Rand is great! Also love the enemy dudes!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:11am

I found everything! This was pretty cool. It's awesome that you incorporated your friends. I'm sure they'll get a kick out of it.

norseware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:16am

This was a fun little game! I feel like a lot was missing (especially because of the comments pointing it out haha) but I feel like there could be some potential here with some polish, and scope. Nice work :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:23am

This very humorous game needs to have more content. I'm still searching the theme btw. Fun game though

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:46am

Nice game, some sound effects would have been nice though!

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:44am

Good entry with some nice humour in it. Sadly there is no sound at all and art style is inconsistent, but I totally understand since you made this game alone. I wish you can continue working on this game after the Ludum Dare is over so we can play it longer :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Nice work on this! I enjoyed playing through (I think) all of the content.

The jump feels a bit jerky -- I can't tell whether that's because of the camera movement at the top of the jump or just the physics of the jump itself. Also making the attack radius larger might make the game more exciting, in that players would be better able to run around and attack, rather than slowly inching toward enemies.

The art that you made is great, especially that game cover!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Not really on theme, but your mechanics worked pretty solidly. Like how the bad guys broke down when killed. Nice job getting something playable.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:57pm

@Freank sure, I'll give it a shot.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:07pm

@Freank, I added the link to indie expo. Take a peek.

danbolt says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:15am

I love that you have gamepad support! I find playing the games are much more enjoyable that way.

I liked exploring the world, especially with how you could go indoors and outdoors. The jumping physics was a bit hard to master, but it was fun when I got a good double-jump and killed a baddie before landing on him. If there was an option to crouch and attack (à la Zelda II). Otherwise, it was fun exploring. Good Metroidvania mechanics!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:49pm

@danbolt, yes up/down attack are planned. -- The jumping physics are basically the same as any modern platformer, the longer you hold the button, the further you jump.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:51pm

@danbolt -- one of the things I'd like to do, is change the direction of the attack with the mouse / second stick -- could work well with items too, like wands and stuff -- but I'd have to redo how the spriter models are imported...

toastedgames says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Cool game guys! I wish there was more content, but I totally understand why there isn't because I had to do similar cuts for my game. Hope you expand on this in the future!
--EDIT--
Thanks for rating my game! Sorry that you didn't enjoy it every much, and I just wanted to clear things up. We *just* imported the game into Gamemaker Studio, when we finished, and we didn't know that there were other options than the installer. The keybinding menu was just slapped in there, so I can understand it being bad. Not sure what you meant by the interface being 'painful,' and the enemy count was insane because we had been developing the game with a glitch limiting enemy spawns, and then we fixed that glitch after the jam ended, but we couldn't change the rates because that would be against the rules.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:53pm

@toastedgames it's all good -- it was a solid entry. Just some things that kept me from enjoying it to the fullest (the "painful" part was fighting with the settings, they weren't taking, and some things seemed to not be intuitive or work as you would expect). -- I know the time limits can be pretty harsh, and cause some of this stuff too -- but hopefully my feedback is helpful to you in some way. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]