Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Devil's Hand

by Kuupu - Jam Entry

Devil's Hand is a fast paced FPS game with retro graphics. You must survive on 5 level shotting and dodging as hell.

- AIM FOR THE EYES FOR CRITICAL HITS!
- RED ORB = AMMO
- GREEN ORB = LIFE


UPDATE 1 - 4/23/2016 - Replacing a trigger on the level 5 that prevented the game to end.

Post mortem http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/24/devils-hand-post-mortem/



Keys

WASD - Movement
Mouse - Aim
Left button - Shot
1,2,3 - Changem weapon

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey people of Ludum Dare <o/
1 - I intended to submit this game on the Compo but I had some problems with the level design and performance, so I decided to extend the time and submit on the Jam.

2 - The hand should change it's form depending on the weapon you are using, but due to problems with the animation I give up on this idea.

It was my first solo jam and first experience creating music, I had a good time on this LD :)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Programming, Art, SFX and Music - Roni Silva - https://twitter.com/kuupudev

Using:
Unity3D (C#)
Aseprite
Photoshop
Blender
Music created on AudioSauna
SFX created on http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want a build for other platforms, just ask in the comments, ok?

THANKS EVERYONE! <o/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#15Fun(Jam)4.15
#18Overall(Jam)4.20
#28Graphics(Jam)4.54
#60Mood(Jam)4.02
#100Audio(Jam)3.79
#534Humor(Jam)2.46
#599Innovation(Jam)2.98
#960Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Really smooth controls make me happy :D
Actually i don't like first person shooters but this entry is stunning! Love it!

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Animation blew me away, great job on a great game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Interesting FPS with a scary mood. Maybe a little bit too dark for me, but I liked the smooth controls. The theme is correctly exploited. I would like to know my health during game. A solid entry. Well done ++

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

We are just starting to check it out on our strea ;) Looks great!

Conk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Fantastic! Thoroughly enjoyed everything about it, reminds me of Devil Daggers, very cool style. I did get stuck on the final level, I swear one of the doors didn't open and I had to restart the level, but I'm not 100% I wasn't just being dumb.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Awesome graphics and smooth gameplay, just wish a little more light and a little more forgiveness with the gameplay!
Amazing job!

unnamed1334 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Other then the game being dark and hard to see some enemies, a very good entry. I liked all the small touches you managed to fin into the game. Good job.

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57am

nice fps,needs mid level checkpoints. somthing that will mark the way you need to go or a map(generally make it easy to finish anyone can do it,because you want everyone to see the hole game).
overall its a great entry.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38pm

This has a great old-school feel to it and unlike most FPS games made in Unity for LD, the mouse look isn't too sensitive. Unfortunately, without the ability to invert the mouse, I can't really play this. Love the graphics, though.

ekx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Really great graphics. Would vote for more checkpoints as well since it's quite hard.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:43am

Good entry overall, the graphics are awesome, and it has a great atmosphere, just maybe a little too dark in terms of lighting. I love how this reminds me of the old mazelike structure of early fps titles,

good job :)

CrazY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Loved it

SengiG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Looks very polished, well done. I admit that I was sold by the combination of shinny materials and pixel textures. Got some great retro vibes from mechanics as well.
Impressive work!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:11pm

This is a cool but really difficult game. Nicely done!

Javabot says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:07am

Bloody incredible in every way! Except for when the occasional monster floats through a wall, but what you gonna do, eh?

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:23am

Great graphics :D smooth controls and everything it needs, but level 4 was broken for me.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:31am

Nice one! That's a good shooter you created.

The atmosphere was really cool, level design, graphics and sound worked well together. Also, the gameplay was fluid and felt good.

There are somethings that could be better (as it happens): I didn't see much difference between the weapons, and I felt that the theme was just kinda there.

Overall, solid entry. Congratulations!

recursor says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:13pm

First, a few criticisms:
1) I want the mouse wheel to cycle through the weapons.
2) Not sure about how the theme fits in on this one.

Otherwise this is one of the most enjoyable games I've played so far. The hand looks great and its animations are lovely. I love the old school FPS vibe it has. Nice work!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Wow, this is really impressive! The atmosphere is just -spot on-! I love the lighting and lo-res textures and meshes. The enemies are super creepy, haha! :O :D
Only complaint is that I fell through the floor in behinde the room (the second or third) where you jump down from the ledge.
Really impressive work, very inspiring! :)

DevDad says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:51am

Realy great entry , awesome graphics , really smoth controlls reminds me a lot on Doom . Congrate good job!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Great fun, lovely graphics and SO POLISHED! A great FPS game. Damn difficult, too!

Only criticism really is that I have no idea how this links to the theme.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Great game for this style! I liked the art, the sounds, the game gradual difficulty, the animations, the AI, the variety of enemies/attacks. Really nice entry for the LD! Keep it up!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Really impressed by this one. It's hard, but not unreasonably so. It's also a lot of fun! Nice atmosphere, too. The weak spot mechanic is a nice addition. The retro look is fitting and the music is good, if maybe a little repetitive. The weapons are satisfying, I particularly like the plasma gun... ehm purple one ;) It's a little weird that they don't carry over between levels. Anyway... congrats!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Absolutely amazing. This is the best game I've played so far on Ludumdare :)

psychonull says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:24pm

wow man that is really cool game!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Wow, 5 stars all the way!!!! My only suggestion would be a mini map but I don't see how you could have had time to add that!! lol amazing!!!

merzlot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:54am

Good game! Great visuals and nice sfx. Controls feels really polished. Not sure about theme interpretation.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Controls very nicely and the graphics are great

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Pssst - you are in todays episode of LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sa_XGu8KGz8

Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:56am

Absolutely nailed this overall; felt lacking on the shape-shifting theme, but otherwise a superbly done game.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:29pm

I am really bad at FPS but this was so great! Really took me back to my old Doom days. Even more impressive that you did it all yourself and nailed all graphics, coding and composing. You sir/madam are a talented person. Kudos!

Pity that the shapeshifting part didn't work out but the game stands its ground easily nevertheless.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:03am

Wow, did not expect my heart to race while playing this game. It's a real thriller. Controls were smooth, though I would have liked a "jump over the fence" option. The game difficulty definitely felt fair. Had a lot of fun.

I think the audio, especially the sound effects, could use a little more variety. It sounded all the same to me, and made it very repetitive. I also would have liked more feedback when an enemy got hit. It didn't seem they flinched when I shot them while they had their life full.

Additionally, there seemed to be a bug at the last level where a door in the first enemy gauntlet would not open (enemies could still fire through the door, though). This was a bit of a bummer.

Overall, had a lot fun, and would definitely play again!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Took me right back to the days of wolf, doom and system shock - fond memories :) I couldn't finish - seemed like one of the doors failed to open (there were baddies shooting me from the other side of it). Would be interested to see how you did the level layout - just dropping down a bunch of prefabs, or some tool? Awesome job :D

rodobodolfo says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Wow the controls are really smooth! I love the art and feeling of the game. I'm not so sure about the theme though.

May 7, 2016 @ 5:18am

Beautiful looking game with smooth controls. Impressed at how polished it all feels. Only thing lacking is some sort of health feedback. Great entry.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:27am

Pretty good. It had nice controls, and each weapon seemed unique.
I couldn't change weapons on the last level.
I think that allowing you to switch weapons with the scroll wheel would be valuable.
Overall, very polished entry.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Great game! I love the aesthetics of the pixels on top of the 3D world. It looked and felt really great! I'm not really sure what it has to do with shapeshifting, but great job overall. :)

kabel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:34pm

The graphics are nice and same goes for the animations. But I don't see how this is connected to shapeshifting. It's just an fps with a hand instead of a gun.
It's fairly well balanced and it's enjoyable (except the weapon changing), but it feels like a game for an other theme...

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:03am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]