Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Combinator

by El Cabaro - Jam Entry

In the year 5000, global supercomputer Ski Lodge Net sends a highly advanced robot, The Combinator, back in time to screw around. Using his unique ability to steal the abilities of his enemies, he must walk around aimlessly and mess with the past, until further instruction.

This is an action RPG packed with adventure and the original concept of stealing your enemies' powers- think a combination of Kirby and Pokemon.

Oh, and by the way, your hat shapeshifts.

Z,X, Arrowkeys, and Mouse in the shops. Have fun and good luck.

"Best game of 5000" -Ski Lodge Net
"Stupid game 3/10" -Ski Lodge Net
"I give it a 3.14/3.14" -Ski Lodge Net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#41Humor(Jam)3.92
#161Mood(Jam)3.67
#165Audio(Jam)3.62
#167Fun(Jam)3.59
#276Overall(Jam)3.53
#454Graphics(Jam)3.49
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97
#711Theme(Jam)3.11

Comments

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

I LOVE the hand drawn look!! Nice work!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:41pm

Art style is weird, but consistent. A for effort! :)

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:11am

I am really amazed of how much content this game has. I did not like very much the flow of the game, as you had to fight some enemies over and over and, in the end, you die with no apparent solution.

But the asthetics, the sound, the image, the dumb sense of humor... it all made it a really fun experience.

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:11am

Pleasingly bonkers. Liked the graphics and the sound. No way to save?

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:13am

Omg this art though. It's amazing, I have to say. Mine isn't this good....*sniffle*

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:02am

Man, I've always wanted to go back in time to screw around! Not only did this scratch that itch but it also had fun visuals and sound, a cool gameplay mechanic and an unexpectedly challenging difficulty level. Loved it!

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Hilarous game, it was a lot of fun to play. The encounters were a bit too repetitive though.

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:54am

This is a Great and Crappy game all mixed together to make an Amazing game. Thanks for the hilarious game it was fun!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:55am

Surprisingly awesome :))) I LIKE IT :>

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Hilarious and fun game. I like the combination factor and wish there were more things like critical hits or more random events! But overall fun ass game bro!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Oh man, the art and animations are amazing. Combined with the excellent music it just makes the whole thing awesome!

Controls were a little confusing. Instructions kept saying to use "punch", but X did nothing and Z only progressed the instructions further - which kept telling me to punch, so I thought I was doing something wrong. Left with no other option I kept hitting Z...until finally the option to punch appeared, using...Z ;)

I like your concept a lot. Freezerburn made me giggle. Hotrod outright made me laugh. Behind the funny graphics is a well-made game. Nice entry!

Brightstar says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:27am

Nice game. Nice graphics and sound.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:57am

The battle system was too simple for me, especially when the Metal Juice, etc. were not accessible from the items screen. Because of this, it required the sort of planning where one needs to know what the future monsters are. If one didn't prepare properly, there seemed to be little backup-plan to escape from that scenario. This made the game harder than necessary, I feel.

The inn not being open was a bummer, too. At least the drunkard was nice. I think.

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:30am

Wow! Funny graphics! I love this idea! :D

Hempuli says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Reminds me of olden days of klik; amazing stuff. The enemy animations are wonderful and the amount of combos is sweet. I really wish there was a save function because beating the same fights again felt a bit frustrating, though!

Jungle says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:53am

Very good! i love the rpg FF style. Good Work.

Drury says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:19am

Lacks the part where you twirl a shotgun above your head so fast you lift off like a helicopter, otherwise decent.

rjhelms says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:35am

The style of this is hilarious. After a while I felt that there wasn't really much to the gameplay, but all the different combinations of the powers kept me curious.

Hjalte500 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:04am

The crude handdrawn look is certainly interesting.. I like how the game just kinda has fun with itself. I mean the fucking title is funny by itself! Really good job making the artstyle work. Almost more impressive as actually amazing art :)

May 6, 2016 @ 12:52am

This was cool! The text moved a bit too slowly for me (I know you can speed through it, just saying). The art style is great!

May 7, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Is is amazing how The Combinator ties up every aspect of a game to convey the target mood. Good job!

Yword says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Wow, very interesting and funny, and the music is very cool too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]