Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Downhillin' Shapeshiftin'

by IHateATMFees - Jam Entry

A challenging shape roller game. Shapeshift into other shapes by hitting the yellow shapes. Hit a red shape that does not match your current player shape, and it's game over.

CONTROLS
========================
Controller (recommended): Left Stick = move, A button = jump
Keyboard: Arrows/WASD = move, Space = jump
(Windows version: Esc exits the game)

Made by a team of one. Please let me know what you think! Would love to see your times if you finish the course.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#555Innovation(Jam)3.04
#587Theme(Jam)3.30
#608Fun(Jam)3.04
#682Overall(Jam)3.09
#852Graphics(Jam)2.78
#990Mood(Jam)2.20
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23am

Nice game. It's difficult, but it works well and it's fun.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:36am

"Rolling" as non-sphere shapes felt awkward, but overall well done.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49am

its a bit hard to play but its a good game

rjhelms says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:49am

Nice idea, really unforgiving though - I had some solid fun with this, but could never quite finish the whole course.

Some sound would really kick this up a notch, as would bringing up the non-boosted speed a bit - but the core of the game here is really solid.

retrograze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:03am

I like the difficulty, though it got frustrating at times due to no one on earth having that kind of reaction time. Also found out that for most of the first half I could just camp the wall and ride it out hahaha. Still, solid game, and great graphics.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04am

Pretty fun and tough!

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:06am

Great physics and controls! The movement was really smooth and the graphics were great! It was a bit challenging... I haven't been able to get past that two rows of cones so far... Fits the theme really well.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:09am

Really solid mechanics, maybe make the non boosting speed a little faster but a great game!

state550 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:59am

It took some getting used to and the jumps were difficult for me to time, but I enjoyed it. Good job.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:00am

Very hard, works well and it's fun. :)

torcado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:54am

this game is very difficult! but a really cool idea.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03am

It felt like it needed to go a lot faster at times as it occasionally got quite lethargic. Graphics could use a bump but certainly don't look bad. Nicely done.

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:49pm

my brain hurts. but i like that ;)

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:27am

The concept is great and the graphics are quite intuitive! I think a good improvement would be making the ball more easy to manage (Maybe without physics)

Keep up the good work! :)

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:52am

When your are not a sphere, it seems a little buggy. The game is fast, dificult and funny. It remembered me to AudioSurf.
Nice entry.

May 8, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Challenging game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/IgqbHpL7wxo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]