Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hole Shift

by cmayhem - Compo Entry

Hole Shift

Shapeshift and fit through holes or get crushed.

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys move.
Space to shapeshift.
Esc - Exit.

Tools used:
Unity 3D
Wings3D
sfxr
Bosca Ceoil
Microsoft Visual Studio

Thank you for checking out my little game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Theme3.86
#227Audio3.24
#400Fun3.24
#440Innovation3.14
#490Mood2.90
#518Graphics2.91
#532Overall3.14
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

basstian11 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 1:42pm

score 20 ! nice game very funny :-D

bwalter says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:08pm

fun! and good music/ sfx :D

MattThePie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Nice little game and the music really fits :). The shadows to guide you in are nicely done in particular

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45pm

High score of 16! Great little game, keep up the good work!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Managed to get 18! The music is pretty good! Though, my only complaint is that because of the graphics and perspective, it is so hard to tell how close exactly the wall is to the player!

adam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Excellent use of audio - loved it! The collisions felt a bit arbitrary - sometimes when I died I didn't think I was any further out of the hole than other times when I succeeded. Would be nice to have an 'accelerate' button akin to the 'fast drop' in Tetris for when you're sure you've lined it up, and maybe some way of varying the shapes?

goffmog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Really fun game, found the perspective a bit tricky at times but enjoyed the whole experience, lovely sounds.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:55pm

THE PERSPECTIVE LOOKS GREAT. I LOVE THAT YOU'RE AT THE EDGE OF 2D AND 3D. I GOT 10 I AM NOT THAT GOOD AT GAMES

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:01pm

great hitzones and intressting artstyle. But you dont have to shapeshift

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]