Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Photagogue

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

*Headphones Recommended*

*If you're going to play the game right here, then click the Fullscreen button.

Photagogue is my 9th Ludum Dare. If you were here for the last Ludum Dare, I made Arc, and just recently I submitted it to IndieCade.

Photagogue is a Pixelated Beat 'em up game. Why is the game called Photagogue (FO-TUH-GOG)? Read the story for the game and you'll see why.

Unfortunately I didn't have enough time to draw the Time Machine House, so that's why the house says "[Insert Time Machine House Here]"

INSTRUCTIONS: Left and Right Arrow Keys to move, Up Arrow Key to Jump (wall jump off walls, you can keep pressing Up as long as you're on a wall), and Z to Fight. You must kill all dinos to go further.

TIP: It's easier to fight the Dinos while moving.

If you've streamed this game on Twitch already, please let me know in the comments.



Story:

July, 2041: [Two guys in a small house]. Middle-Aged Scientist shows his young Assistant, Cycle, vials of an element that can harness light, and lead to Time Travel: Photagogue. He then explains how the Time Machine he made works and how the Photagogue goes with it. Cycle then stares him into the eye, pulls out a gun, says, "Why didn't you save him?! You could've saved him!" "You know why Cycle! I told you--" and then Cycle shoots him in the chest. The Scientist pulls out a small glass box with a button in, opens it, and presses the button as he starts to tear up. The set of vials of the Photogogue explodes. Cycle then shoots him more times in the chest till he collapses. After the Scientist has his last breath, Cycle heads over to the broken vials, and he's furious. As he walks back to the dead body, he stumbles across a glass cup on the floor, filled with some of the remains of the Photagogue. He sighs in relief. He then continues to walk to the dead body, and checks the Scientist's pockets for anything significant. He finds a piece of paper with a list that the Scientist has been hiding, in his left pocket. The list consists of Times and Locations, and is titled: Photagogue Checkpoints. Cycle desires for more fuel for the Time Machine, so he looks for one of the easiest Checkpoints: A mining site located in the Yucatan Peninsula, 2016. Before he goes on his expedition, he puts on a ski-mask. He's now ready to go, so he pours the remains of the Photagogue into the machine, presses a button, and the whole house rumbles. Then a loud noise goes off, and all of a sudden the year is 2016 and the house is near a mining site in the Yucatan Peninsula. Cycle holsters his gun, and walks out of the house. He heads off to the mines, and sees a guy mining slowly, with a huge smile on his face. Cycle sees a bright green rock in the miners pocket. He assumes it's a rock consisted of Photagogue, so he follows the miner as he leaves. When the miner is walking in a secluded area, Cycle comes up from behind, shoots him in the head, grabs the rock out of his pocket and runs off back to the house. He then melts the rock to get a liquid substance of the Photagogue. Since the Time Machine can also teleport, with less Photagogue needed than time traveling, Cycle pours a little bit of it into the Machine and teleports to California (Subject to change). He can't go back to all these locations alone, it's not safe. He wants someone else to do his dirty work for him. Cycle then goes to bed and sleeps.

Next day, scene cuts to a girl with the name of Rose, in her mid-twenties, in her apartment on the phone, saying "See you soon, I love you, bye." She walks out of her apartment, towards her car, and out of nowhere Cycle (with masked-face) puts a bag over her head, a gag around her mouth, and puts her in the backseat of a car, tied up, and drives off.

Same day, scene cuts to a well-dressed guy with the name of Kane, in his mid-twenties, in his apartment (different apartment complex). He walks out towards his car, and again Cycle puts a bag over his head, a gag around his mouth, and puts him next to the girl in the backseat of his car, tied up. Cycle then drives off to the Time Machine House, takes them both out of the car and brings them both in the house. He puts them both in fold out chairs, but puts the girl in the corner of the room and the guy in the center. Cycle takes the bag off Kane's head. Cycle says to him, "You're gonna need to do something for me. Well, many things but--" "Why do you figure that?" Cycle goes over to the girl, takes the bag off her head and says "Well you seem like a nice guy, I'm pretty sure you'll comply." "Don't you touch her!" "Nah I won't touch her, this may though *pulls out a knife*." "I'm listening..." "Good. Now shut up. Ok so what I'm about to tell you may sound like a joke but... What you're sitting in... *He scoffs* Is a time machine." "What?..." Kane says. "In 65.5 Million BC, in the Yucatan Peninsula, the element Photagogue was discovered. The element was inside the asteroids that lead to the massacre of the dinosaurs. You see this empty vial? You're going to go back there, retrieve the Photagogue, and come back here in 2016. Got it?" Kane is speechless. "The dinos may be a little nippy so be careful, because this isn't your only mission. Well, you just press this button when you're ready and you'll be off. Your girl and I will walk out of the house and wait for you to come back. Remember, retrieve the element, come back here, to this date, and the girl doesn't die." "What the hell is going on?!" "Hey! Retrieve the element and nobody dies, you hear?! Now again, I already set the date and location in here, you just press this button when you're ready. Have a good one." Cycle walks out the house with the girl. Kane breathes heavy in awe of what had just happened. "Well... No time to lose." He then presses the button, and it's now 65.5 million BC, in the Yucatan Peninsula.

There's more to the story after all the missions Kane has to do, but you'll have to wait till the game is complete (a long time).



Tools:

Language: HTML5 and JavaScript

Graphics: MS Paint (Yeah I know, I’m going to start looking at Pyxel Edit)

Audio: FL Studio & sfxr

Level Editor: Ogmo Editor


Follow me on Twitter: @ccolongames

Become a Patron: patreon.com/ccolongames

Check out my past LDs or some other games I've made, at: ccolongames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#176Humor3.05
#210Audio3.28
#279Graphics3.46
#481Mood2.92
#569Fun2.99
#661Overall2.99
#864Innovation2.30
#924Theme1.92
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:43am

I've waited a long while and this just won't load for me. I get a blank screen forever. :( I hope it's just on my end and not something wrong.

I was rather looking forward to trying out the dino punching game after seeing the gif in your blog post, so I'll write this down so I can remember to check later if it's working.

wumpus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:39am

Yep, I too saw the dino punching blog post and wanted to play. However, I'm just getting a blank screen or a link to google.

I'll try again later.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:40am

I couldn't play it but looks great

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:04am

I also got a blank screen, but the screenshots look promising.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:50am

I can't see it either, but I'd love to give it a go.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:38pm

it works for me.
nice funny little game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26am

It's loading now, but it won't take any input past the title screen. The Any key thing works to start the game, but then nothing. Tried clicking on it to force it to take focus, but it's just not working. The only thing I can manage to make it do is shift the game around in the window. WASD does nothing, IJKR does nothing, Arrow keys shift the game around in the window but the character just stands there in his idle animation. Space does nothing, Enter does nothing. L/R Shifts do nothing. Controller controls do nothing :( This applies both to the embedded window here, and the Web link.

Still planning to come back and take a look at it later, as it seems others have now been able to get it to play.

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30am

I got everything to work fine. I'm using Firefox on Windows 10.

I really like this game! The controls are clean (wall jumping is really tough though...). The music was nice, did you make it yourself? And the art was cute!

There's nothing better than punching dino's, and flip jumping!

Execution was great, good job :)

Insality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57am

All works fine, the game is pretty sweety and funny
I like this fights with dinos :P

Pietdagamer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07am

I like the soundtrack and general aesthetic c:

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30am

Fantastic game!!!! The graphics rocked and punching dinosaurs is kind of a big deal! I loved that you had a story to go with your game. It is evident that you put a lot of time and thought into your game! Nice job

The Vall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:33am

Visuals and audio are fantastic.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:53am

Funny game, I liked the idea of punching dinosaurs. The jump controls are tough in the parts with spikes and walls.

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

Love the graphics, love fighting dinos, didn't love the jumpy bits with the spikes, made the game way too hard.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39am

I was able to kill one dinosaur, but I can't really do anything after that. I'm blocked at both ends, I can't climb the tree... how do I proceed?

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45am

Interesting game, but my game got bugged out at the first dinosaur. It just disappeared and I couldn't progress. I had to restart the game, which fixed it, but I thought you should know.

wumpus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

The platforming controls felt reliable and solid and the graphics are clean and easy to ready. Already off to a good start in my eyes. It doesn't feel like it was made in such a short space of time which is great.

There's something quite satisfying about watching that final punch send a dino flying.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Loved the style, did not love the control layout. Dinos had a habit of walking of the ledges making for a lot of playground for the fights.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:02am

tried jumping off the walls and fell through the world.. :p

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:15am

Punching dinosaurs? Sign me up!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Great soundtrack!
The controls are really nice. I see a lot of platformers with really bad controls here on LD. But you've nailed it!

Overall, fun!

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Cool game! I love beat em ups, you got the controls to feel satisfying.

Auto Saves before and after certain parts would probably work - by the 4th time I die on the dinos after the spikes I'm pretty much "kool that was fun" and quit.

DEFINITELY go to itchi.io and find the embed link for the game to use instead, it will look a lot better on the Ludum Are site.

The dino in the third wave kinda got stuck in the air and I died trying to jump up and punch him :/

Music is really great!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Had difficulty getting up the wall jump section without losing a lot of health. Found it a little odd that all the story was posted in the description rather than in the game itself.
Everything seems to work though, good job. :)

Wefiends says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Had a really fun time running around punching dinos. Those spikes though!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:13am

This is a really hard game, but the graphics, controls, and mood are very good. I'm sure there's something involving shapeshifting in there but unfortunately we are on a time crunch. Rock on.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:43am

I really enjoyed the game, the first wall jumping section is a bit frustrating but it's really fun!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

I will tell you what....this game is HARD. I am not good at the traditional control scheme for PC platformers so it was that much more difficult for me. I did notice that sometimes the dinos would one shot me from full health. Other than that I really enjoyed the game. Great job!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:36am

Fun game, cute graphics and nice audio, but it's super hard to lead the character across those spikes :/
Also I couldn't see any shapeshifting elements

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:42am

I got everything to work fine. I'm using Firefox on Windows 10. The aesthetic is polished. Controls smooth, but too rigid. A solid entry. Well done ++

LostViking says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:07pm

The soundtrack and graphics are really good. And the movement of the character felt fluid. I also liked the level design for the most part, but in some cases I couldn't avoid taking damage from the dinos when they were covering the only path up to the platform.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:48am

Too hard for me, but still a good entry, well done !

IvanFon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:11am

This is one of the most polished games I've seen so far. Really nice graphics, and I love that you created your own music. While it seems unfitting for the gameplay, I found it quite enjoyable. Good job.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:24am

It's a nice little game. I enjoyed it.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:57am

Punching dinos in the face. What could possibly go wrong? :D Funny little entry, nice work :)

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:57am

The bgm is awesome!

kik0729 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:48am

It needs a little polish in the jumping, mainly
But punching the dinos out of the screen feels really awesome

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:55pm

nice graphics. the music loop was a little repetitive, and I'm not seeing a use of the theme. seems to just be a dino punching game.

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:45pm

You can punch fucking dinosaurs! I LOVE THIS.
Besides that, it's a good platform game, with a great music. Funny and enjoyable.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:11pm

I really liked the wall-sliding mechanic in this game, thought it was really cool when I got to punch dinosaurs. But, I couldn't figure out how there was a theme.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:18pm

There aren't many ways to be cooler than punching a raptor in the face after doing a backflip while wearing shades and a well-fitting suit. The platforming was solid enough, though maybe just a tad more inertia would have made it feel even better. Love the music too.

All that being said, more frequent checkpoints or at least some way to recover health would be appreciated.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:49pm

What really sets this game apart from all the other dino punching games is the included ability to headbutt.

Looks good, although I had no idea when the dinos would hurt me. It was hard to fight them because I would always take damage at each one because there was no way I could tell to avoid getting hurt. Maybe I'm just missing something...

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Good game. I feel like the spike hitboxes are a bit too large. Also needs more animations on the dinos. Good so far though.

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Controls are easy to use and the game works just fine. The graphics are outstanding.

The backstory, however, is WAAAAAY too long and confusing. The game is simplistic (with no way to heal health), and there's a game-breaking bug where I get stuck in the floor after a jump.

Overall, decent work.

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Great graphics, wall jumping with spikes is a bit hard. In-game story telling would have been nice, but good job!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:18am

Good game! I couldn't beat it, add some healing?

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:51am

The music and the art is awesome! Punching dinos is so much fun. I couldn't get too far because it's kinda hard, but you did a awesome job! Congratz!

luquio says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:36am

I always dream of that since i saw the first jurassic park movie haha! awesome pixel art! I also saw the progression of the character and the game in a twitch stream. At that stream i try to play it but i couldnt, maybe cuz i was using safari on a mac. But on firefox worked just perfect! Great game!

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:44am

Loved the rolling jump and platform controls were good. Absurdist time-travelling, dino-fighting theme was cool, even though I don't think it really fits the shapeshifting theme that well.

I had some collision bugs that led me inside the platform, and made me restart the game.

Congratulations! Your entry was good :) want to see more of it.

LeoM says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:36pm

A bit too hard for me, I didn't manage to finish it.

Any way to heal yourself. :'(

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Nothing like head butting a dinosaur! :-)

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I haven't beat it yet, but it's fun! I like that you've got more than a single attack animation. That keeps things fluid in a game with lots of punching. All I'd really recommend is making the dinos' attack telegraph a little bit more obvious. I had trouble telling when to jump in for a hit or move away a couple of times. Punching dinosaurs though; always a good time.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:20am

Punching dinosaurs is all I needed.

Played briefly on stream @ 2:30:10 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Really liked the graphics and the transformation mechanic was well implemented.

Phaix says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:21am

Nice one. Simple controls, but effective. Would like to see more :)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Cool entry! cool animations and mechanics and I must say the face of the dinosaur while taking damage is just the best thing on earth!
Congratulations with the care fixing the little bugs man!

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:28pm

I enjoyed that a lot for some reason

marmpa says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Nice game cute anmations and really nice background music

Roland M says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Good game man, love the background music. =]

ragnta says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Nice graphics, but I didn't know how to stop the falling in the start. Sometimes the character turned into invisible man :(

Update: Now I know, that the falling is a bug :) . Nice game :)

tomlum says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:55am

Wonderful music and some of the most fluid and fun movement in any game in this jam.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:42am

Took a while - partially due to difficulty fighting the dinos, partially due to collision bugs (fell into the floor many times), but I did make it to the end. Could do with making it more obvious when the enemies are attacking, as well as when you get hit, as it took me a while to notice when I took damage since the blood particles were the same for the enemies as they were for me. Was also a hard to know how many hits I could take, though I could guess.

Music and graphics were very nice though - the background in particular added a lot to the game's aesthetic, and the character animations also worked well - the mid-air animation was fun to watch.

Definitely a fun game though - would stream again!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:05am

INTERESTING GRAPHICSSSSSSSSSSSAZXZADZ! :)
nice game... .funny too xD the controls could use a better layout... other than that, great game, nice job!

okoto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:05am

This game is very confusing, the gameplay does not match or have any sense.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:30am

I am getting a megaman and river city ransom feel from this game. I didn't really see the theme. Good humor.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:04am

die dinosawrus

aeveis says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:08am

Art is nice, punching dinos is fun. Not sure what it has to do with theme. I didn't beat it, but I think gameplay could read stronger with some more feedback.

I thought I would be ok punching dinos in the butt, but sometimes I would still get hurt so I would either make it more clear the dino can still hit you, or have it so you only get hurt when near the head/claws.

Climbing walls felt a bit awkward to me, usually I expect the player to already jump in the opposite direction when wall jumping.

Restricting player movement if they didn't kill a dino is ok, but doesn't make much sense world-wise, wouldn't the player be able to still move past that area? Maybe if there was a barrier or something that appeared to let you know you couldn't proceed.

Overall good job!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:08am

Nice graphics, but I think the control is really weird, especially the jump.

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:02am

Fun game! I love the look on the dino faces when you punch them. Good work on the music, too! :)

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:42am

Very funny game

ExSpecter says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:16am

I dont get it how you can jump the walls. I lose half life every time at the first wall. Maybe im to bad! :D

kallotec says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:47am

+1 for dino-bashing :D

Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:26am

Very solid entry. Everything runs super smoothly. Aesthetics were good, your pixel art is pretty eyecandy and Audio totally fits the litlle experience. I had great fun playing it, it is challenging in a good way and the mechanics feels polished. I enjoyed a lot the funny details you put like the character rotation on jump, the dino that are ejected when you beat them and the Insert Time Machine was just hilarious.

YinYin says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:29pm

This'll be harsh, but honest. The only thing I liked about it was the few dinosaur sprites/frames it has. Those look good.

The music got annoying very quickly and didn't fit the scene/action.
Sound effects were minimal, tired out very quickly as well and didn't telegraph any extra information. So fortunately I could mute the game after hearing everything once.

Controls were extremely clunky. Both holding attack and jump only worked if I didn't hit anything else in between and seemed more of an accident than deliberate design feature (?). The wall jump chimney was particularly frustrating as naturally you'd try to jump over the lowest spike wall and start to wall jump from there. Since you barely cannot jump high enough you have to jump onto the left wall first and then carefully slide the not spiked sections up and down between wall jumps. At some point I just started to jump tap up the left wall. Invincibility frames make the penalty for going past spikes quickly so low that there is little reason to put up with this. Also wall jumps generally feel a lot better if you take away x control from the player for a bit and auto push away from the wall (better for a dedicated button instead of up direction though). Naturally that wouldn't allow for yo-yo wall slide sections, but those are awkward anyway.

As you can see at the end of my recorded run (https://youtu.be/NRTTJFzBJfk) spikes also don't do anything to prevent me from jumping into walls ...

The worst offender on the whole game however were the dinosaur attacks. I still don't know how or when they are active. Sometimes I even seem to get them stuck inside an attack action and thus take as many hits as I dish out. You've put some effort into giving them walking and getting hit frames, but absolutely nothing telegraphs when they are attacking (apart from the fact that they sometimes animate faster and rush towards you - but that never correlated with actually getting attacked). And this is way more important than the other animations. Walking animation could've been scrapped for the purposes of this game and getting hit could've been indicated by blinking much like the player.
A colour (brightness/hue/...) change to indicate when dinosaurs damage you would've already done the job. Better would've been at least a single distinct frame that has a different shape to all the other frames (walking/getting hit and so on are just variations of the same shape). Anything that can be recognized very quickly.

YinYin says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Also that story ... tl;dr

Is the shapeshift theme hidden in there?

Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Goofy little game. I like the art for the dinosaurs. Music was a little repetitive. The combat was a little frustrating, but punching dinosaurs made me laugh.

TheCams says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Nice little game, I like the graphics :)

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:44pm

The game was pretty to look at, but too difficult to play at the firts level. The wall of text is tl/dr. I couldn't get far enough in th game to find any shape shifting. It may be there i just didn't se it.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:03pm

i like the dinosaur !

bytegrove says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:47am

Oh! A dinosaur game! :D
Pretty sweet music! The controls felt a little untight and the fighting mechanic lacked feedback.
I didn't really see how it connected to the theme either.
The platforming mechanics felt pretty good, but could probably use some polish.
Cool sunglasses! :]

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:46pm

A fun little beat em up / jump 'n' run. Graphics are really well done, and the music is quite catchy. Nice.

The controls are a weak point though. Wall jumping feels a little sluggish and the punches lack a bit of oomph. Maybe with better/more sound effects this could be remedied.

Anyway, I played a dino punching game, that was worth the time spent.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Plays well but it doesn't really fit the theme.

thedashdude says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:00am

Fun, but the lack of health regen made it too hard, as I didn't find any check points. My only other complaint is the story, which was not over the top enough. For a game about punching dinosaurs flipping across the screen, the story didn't seem the right levels of ridiculous. Maybe if Cycle was actually a dinosaur trying to save his kind from extinction, or maybe add robots. Needed to be more crazy. Great Job.

Crefossus says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:27am

Nicely done art and the character has a fun outfit. I liked the flips too. Pretty hard. After a few deaths I cheated a little with dev console to get to the end. I tool off dino damage and still almost died from spikes :D.

I didn't feel like I could consistently plan how to not take damage from the dinos. Because it lunges forward sometimes the punch would land me in the spikes accidentally, whoops.

The audio worked fine for me and the loop was even a little catchy. The jump sfx may be the weakest part but didn't hurt the ears so it was ok.

Brightstar says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:05am

Nice. Maybe less spikes and tuning spike placement would make the game a little less difficult.

May 4, 2016 @ 3:07am

Dinosaur punching. I'm not sure what else to say.

m3games says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:29pm

The dino graphics are great! And so is the blood splatter :)

May 4, 2016 @ 12:45pm

The soundtrack is awesome and great visual.

trulyvile says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:31pm

I like the jumping animation quite a lot, it made hopping around pretty fun. The graphics overall are pretty nice in general, I particularly like the dinosaurs and the background. I also dig the camera stopping before you finish beating up the dinosaur, but I do think you could've taken it a bit further to really emphasize the "OH DANG TIME TO MESS UP THIS DINOSAUR" aspect. In my first playthrough I didn't even notice the effect and thought I'd just reached the end of the level.

It's been mentioned in a couple of other comments but I also thought the spike placement was a bit "off" sometimes. With the floaty and controls I couldn't really time my jumps right so I didn't have much incentive to avoid the spikes so much as to just roll with getting damage. I think overall the controls could stand to be tightened up, and if the floaty movement is important then maybe the level design and dinosaur behavior could be tweaked to focus less on jumping puzzles and more on close combat.

lightsoda says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:02am

Silly and pretty funny.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Nice little Game:)

MestreRothWP says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Didn't rate it. Tried to play on the web and the commands lagged about three seconds until I closed the game. In fact, every command on the windows is lagging because I didn't close it yet. It seems very cool, though.

ThommazK says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:21am

I don't feel this really fits into the jam theme, but, well, punching dinosaurs is always a valid alternative. Combat is pretty hard, but rewarding. I thought the platformer elements were sort of unnecessary.

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:24am

The jump animation and the polish on the graphics, what a fantastic game. Might want to shorten the story in the description so people are more likely to read it.

Tatos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:37am

Nice graphics. I miss the shapeshift theme.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:56am

It looks like MIB vs Dinos :)
Well I suck at platformers, but its a nice game and i had fun punching dinos in their face...

ermrk says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:00am

Nice music and graphic. I miss some animation of dinosaur's attack. I couldn't recognize when he hits me.

ohmaigawd says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Props for making this in MS Paint :)

davidB says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:12pm

hit box and jump control are strange.

Brickkid512 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:44pm

this game has nice music and graphics. Keep up the good work :)

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:11pm

One day I'll beat it...one day...

Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]