Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Down the Drain

by nopogo - Compo Entry

In this game you play a blob of water. You have 3 different forms: gas, liquid and solid. Try to beat the levels by using the properties of your forms.

Controls:
(arrows or wsad)

left + right :move
up :change into gas
down :change into ice

This will be my 5th LD entry but the first one that will be submitted in the compo. I'm exited to see how it will do.

Have fun, and any feedback/criticism is appreciated!

Cheers!

p.s. sadly I didn't have time to add any audio to the game. Which is maybe for the better since I'm as musical as some funny object that's not very musical.


nopogo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Theme3.91
#210Graphics3.60
#338Humor2.56
#358Innovation3.27
#440Mood2.98
#517Overall3.16
#537Fun3.00
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

wumpus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02am

I played it to the end which is always a good sign. My final time was 2:57.084 though I don't think I felt the urge to go back and beat it.

The controls and collision felt a little too stiff to really satisfy but there's a solid idea in there. Popping up out of the water to land on dry land (like a penguin) was kinda satisfying so I'd love to do more stuff like that.

The game was pretty light on instructions but I managed just fine so it would suggest it's fairly intuitive which is good stuff.

Well done.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17am

Nice work

Crafting4U says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:39am

Love the visuals and the innovation! I would enjoy a few more levels and some audio, though. I definitely see this being made into a full game in the future. Well done! :D

Tijn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41am

It took me a little while to get the hang of it, but once I figured out how you can change into gas to go up on land and change into ice to go up in the water, it all worked pretty well!

It's a real shame there's no audio, because that would really have made this game into something that feels finished. More levels would also be nice of course. The mechanics are cool enough, so maybe you can add some post compo?

Either way, good job! As wumpus said, the jumping out of the water as a block of ice feels nice :)

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:42am

Really, I have to fly just to get on that button on the floor right in fron of me? ;D

Using states of water is a nice idea. The three little puzzles were worthwhile too. The gameplay felt a bit stiff though. Being able to cancel the gas and ice states instead of always waiting for a fixed duration would've been nice.

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:52am

Thanks for all the feedback so far :) Cancelling out of state will be added in the post LD version.

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:18am

Oyea! 2:55:062 here.

Graphs were good. Collisions would have need some work but nothing major.

All in all a good game.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29am

Interesting idea!

Final time was a little over 2 min. For 5 (?) levels that is to slow paced for me. You could have achieved some faster levels by making the controls more smooth.

Otherwise nice work, I liked the graphics!

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52am

Pretty neat. the last level was named "Some text i won't forget to change". i'm not sure if this was intensional, but it got you an extra star in humor.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

"Some text I won't forget to change" cracked me right up. Fun game, cute art style and good puzzles. Wish there were more puzzles and some sounds! Beat it in 2:16

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:02am

Nice little game, would have benefitted from having a little audio. Great combination of platformer and puzzle.

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:47am

I really like the water walking animation. :)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Neat idea. The different forms work really well. To make the game flow a bit smoother, maybe have the ability to change forms while in a form (but still keep the original meter). That way you don't have to wait to swap from one form to another.

rnlf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15pm

I love the art. The idea for the game is pretty nice, the first game with changing the state of matter I see, though thinking about it now, it's pretty obvious.

The ice seemed pretty sticky, just the way ice shouldn't feel ;-)

Made it to the end though and had a good 2:38.489!

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:46pm

That was enjoyable once i got to grips with the mechanic, audio would be nice but I understand when you are against the clock. Well done.

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Very cool take on the theme. Music would have made it really perfect.

The only change I would make it to make the shifting at will, not time based.

Other than that, really great. Good luck!

pythong says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

good work. more levels please :)

Drusilla says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:43am

Cute cloud! I wish the ice was more mobile, thought I guess ice does tend to move slowly.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:38am

that was a clever little game - nice job

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07pm

That's like some of the more "professional" games I've seen on other sites. Nice looking, lots to do, and nice levels. And all that in 2 days too! Nice.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Played all the levels! Awesome game! Really cool idea.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:32am

It's a fun concept that fits the theme nicely, but could use some polish - it was frustrating that it was not possible to turn back to regular water before the timeout ended, and the feel of the controls and collision handling could be better.

hunttis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Finished in just over two minutes. I was hoping that there was a button to change out of form too, or maybe directly into another form, for better completion times in the levels! One (a polish thing really) is the camera showing parts outside the level, a small thing really :)

Congrats on finishing a game! And not a bad one either!

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:08am

Cool idea! Really enjoyed playing it. Some audio would've improved the mood but I liked it anyways :) good job!

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Game really good, loved the concet of the cloud. Graphics really nice, but no sounds ? Sometimes it's too much pixel perfect, and it would be nice to have a button to stop the actual form. Nice job ! ;)

Fonserbc says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:38pm

It's a bit fristrating that I was getting stuck when I'm ice underwater (the force upwards is too strong probably)

Why not let the player decide what kind of state they want to be in every moment instead of limiting it to time (you stay on a state for a certain amount of time)

I liked the graphics!

vini60 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:56pm

I like the art style. The idea of the game isn't very innovative but it's fun! Lacks audio though. Good submit.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:14am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I loved the idea and the game, while short, feels pretty polished (well, except for the lack of audio ;) ). The controls work well for the most part. It's a little weird (especially on the last level) when you change into ice, go up and hit something and you can't move horizontally until you change back. Anyway... a really nice start, I'd love to see this expanded upon.

nopogo says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Thanks very much for all the feedback. I'll add audio in the post ld version. I will also rework the timer system and ice physics.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:25pm

My time was 02:06:031 ! The ice shape was a bit hard to control and in general I wish I could change shape any time I want and not have to wait, the rythm of the game would have been better :)

PeterFonts says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:07pm

NIce! You can control the limits of the camera! Perhaps you can zoom in some levels! Great!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:52pm

I especially liked the text you didn't forget to change.

It's a nice idea, and the graphics are sweet, but the controls are a little too stiff. Like, when you're transformed, even if you already did what you wanted to do (fly over something or float), you have to wait out the timeout before you turn back. Also, while an ice cube underwater, it's very tough to move left/right so you do a lot of floating, adjusting slightly, waiting, sinking, adjusting a bit more, float again and repeat.

Anyway, I think it's a solid idea that could do with some polish and become a nice little game. (audio audio audio)

bentglasstube says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:02am

I really enjoyed the mechanic of this one, especially the timer. I only wish there were more levels. I did find that the shapeshifting controls were a little unresponsive at times.

broknecho says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:04am

2:12 seconds for me! You have a really nice start here! Lots of cool possibilities with different states! Some of the collision boxes were a little tight. Also not being able to end the current state earlier than it's timer just made the player wait for no reason.

Overall you have a really good entry here for 48 hours! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]