Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Lux Anima

by Broxxar - Compo Entry

Play as amorphous creature that can shapeshift to adapt to its surroundings. Use the 3 different animal forms to collect rings and avoid an untimely death.

*Edit: Added an itch.io page with all download links. This a post-compo version with bug fixes and more accessible controls as suggested by users!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#10Theme4.39
#11Graphics4.51
#11Mood4.23
#14Audio4.12
#75Overall3.84
#333Innovation3.33
#423Fun3.20

Comments

AnotherZero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:28am

Support this Dev his nose was bleeding for hours during the development

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:33am

This guy literally BLED over this game. Show it some love.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:06am

Smooth as a fish, playful as a fox, and it made my heart take flight like a soaring bird.

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

Feeeeels, artsy, but it's hard to control. Still very very good job on bleeding all over your game!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:23am

Wow, that is some amazing art work. The game is incredibly hard to get the hang of but not from bad controls. I think I only got a high score of 15.

RyanMan56 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:26am

I really love this one, graphics are great and music is great, only thing I can suggest is have the wheel in the corner showing which animal you'll shift to with a or d next, it gets kinda difficult to keep track of, but that's just a small comment. Great game!

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45am

I like the ideas here. Simple but fun with really great use of the theme.

The filters were a bit heavy for me and it was hard to remember the shapeshifting order.

Really nice touch with the music shifting styles--I'm a sucker for stuff like that. :-P

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:26am

Really Good game. Love the graphics and effects.
By the way, there is no "Exit" button or key.

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:46pm

sharp idea for the theme and it looks amazing, the way it flows like a witchdoctor's peyote. I think the levels might be generated ? but for a simple hunter/gatherer like me, i guess it would be better if the levels would not change so i would memorize a bit whats coming up.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Thanks all for your feedback! I'll be doing a Post-Compo version with some usability tweaks and some small bug fixes.

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Very nice entry! It was all really smooth and the transitions were quite nice. The filter was a bit too heavy, some sound effects would have been nice, and it's rather unforgiving, but it was still a really nice entry. I liked the music shifting with the gameplay (it was nicely-written as well) and it was a nice aesthetic overall. Great work!

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Game is unforgiving, but the way the art and the music blend togethere is fascinating, a solid entry and a wonderful take on the theme.

Husky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45am

Nice entry! I like the image effect and music, they do improve the feeling overall, and fit the game nicely.

But It's too hard for me to go through the levels smoothly, the death effect is also scaring me lol.

Overall, it's well done, good job! :D

Tharky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:53am

I love it :) I wish the shifting were 1,2,3 instead of shifting left and right though. It was hard to keep track at first, which way we needed to shapeshift :(

hazzahazzam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:48am

My favourite Unity youtuber submitted a game to LD! Go see the timelapse if you haven't.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8KblgF8v_c
The game flows extremely well.
And the ink shader is fantastic although it could have been disabled on the menu and death screen.
Great work!

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:36am

It's really hard. One thing that would be nice would be being able to change shape while on the title screen.

oxysoft says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:44am

really bad controls but damn that was good looking either way. I'll never understand people who don't put controls on the bottom row of the keyboard, anywhere else and you are alienating colemak users

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:13am

The art work is absolutely incredible! The game was hard but after playing for a while, I was able to get into a rhythm. Fantastic job and THANKS FOR PLAYING MY GAME on stream

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:47am

5/5 graphics and mood. So gorgeous and awesome. It's quite hard, i would suggest a in game indicator of what buttons to press for the different forms.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:57am

Nice game, really like the graphical effect. Very hard

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:13am

The art is stunning! Overall, it was hard (controls especially), but had its rewards. Fits great with the theme! Nice work :)

Drkr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:16am

Cool idea and nice watercolor effect but the game is really unforgiving. Maybe having a visual indication of what you transform into with each key would have helped, like a rotation wheel in the corner.

dustyroom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:33am

It's a bit too hard to control, but looks awesome. Once again, you made stuff look beatiful in Unity!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Good game. A bit hard to play, but graphics and audio are lovely. They create a really good mood.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:22pm

very good! supperb! . but something cound be done to show itself more. it could use a tutorial because swiming is not intuitive enough(or i got nervous everytime and pushed the wrong key).

Folztarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25pm

pretty cool art style dude, it's really impressive

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:55pm

graphics are nice and the try hard too ! good one :p

drazil100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:20am

Nice looking game.. I had a hard time with it but liked it anyways.

Llucile says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:35am

Game looks great, animations are just sooo... I think that's the most beautiful graphics I've seen so far, music is amazing, the idea is really good. But this so hard to play :(

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:46am

Fantastic game. Great idea and effects. Quite difficult. But fun overall.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:05am

Very nice art work! but the control need to improve.

batmanasb says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:10am

Great visuals and concept, the audio gets too repetitive but it works, but the controls are VERY unintuitive and hard to understand. I'd prefer it if you can simply go up and down, and shapeshift, but I have no idea what the character is doing with these controls because I keep dying before I can figure them out!

But I still liked the game despite this, mostly due to the cool shader :P

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:18pm

This is super. The game looks very unique and has a great feel to it. The transitions between the animal forms and the music are very smooth, and both the mechanics and the graphics are very fitting to the theme.

Still, there are flaws. Well, two, and both are about controls. First, I'd really like if there were specific buttons for specific forms, since my brain really likes to connect A to "water being" and D to "air being", because the "earth being" is the default form.
Second, the controlling the water being is very counter-intuitive, being used to Space being jump, ie. "go up". Space for going down feels somehow wrong, on top of the already tricky controls. By tricky controls (which I actually kind of like with the "air being") I mean that it isn't very arcade-y. The creatures are very floaty and gravity is brutal. Which fits the look and feel of the game. Though, in the end, both of these issues are mostly just about getting used to it.

You'd think I'd already gotten somewhat used to it since I've played this game for 20 minutes. Which is more than I've played half of the Steam games I own.

Love it, good work. (Now I'll check the post-compo version)

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Like the music shifts and the cool graphics shader effects! Fish form is hard to control though.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Wow, spot on. Aesthetics were just amazing. The mood, audio and VFX are flawless and pretty unique. It's also really engaging, the concept is simple but pretty interesting, theme-related and well executed. The game-balancing was pretty good too, didn't found it too easy or difficult and the overall flow makes the game not frustrating at all.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]