Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

AntiVaxx

by macronoid - Jam Entry

You are a virus trying to spread your disease all over your host body. How far will you get?

Tips:

- Play it fullscreen for a better experience.
- The virus will try to reach your mouse pointer.
- Left click to shift to attack shape.
- Avoid white cells when in regular shape.
- Hit white cells when in attack mode to kill them.

Credits:
- @Macro · Design, Graphics and Code
- @Oli_mus · Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#151Audio(Jam)3.67
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#314Fun(Jam)3.38
#382Mood(Jam)3.30
#387Humor(Jam)2.73
#622Innovation(Jam)2.96
#622Theme(Jam)3.25
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

Good game! Loving that cute virus :3

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Your idea is great! Inspires me a lot!
It has been a pleasure for me to have composed the music. :)

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:55pm

What a surprise!! It's very funny, very charismatic character, and good play in fullscreen.

SamH says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:00am

The art and music are great. The controls are a bit frustrating, though, I didn’t really know whether I was collecting red cells because of my skills or because of my luck :)

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:07am

Nice little game :) cute graphics

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Nice game good job!

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Nice game! I like the idea.
The controls with the mouse pointer are a bit confused, but it's right.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Great idea and mood. =]

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I liked everything about this game - fun gameplay, lovely music, cute little puckered lips on the virus! :D

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Fun, simple, nice graphics and music. I didn't really feel like it was possible for me to actually keep my health up (just make it go down slower) because there weren't enough red cells.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:24pm

NOTE TO OTHER PLAYERS: Seriously, put this in fullscreen mode (not the embedded fullscreen where the game still sits in the middle of a black or white box, but honest edge to edge fullscreen), you're gonna be moving your mouse a lot and you don't want to click and have it not registered because you weren't in the window.

It took a little bit to get used to the timing on the attack mode, and it did seem like the red cells were too sparse to get very far, but it was fun.

The music was nice and fit the mood the rest of the game created pretty well and the visuals were nice. It all fit together pretty well.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:25pm

Great visuals and great music! Gameplay is pretty simple, yet fun! Might want to tune the controls a bit, feels a tiny bit too unresponsive for my personal taste. Some obstacles would be great as well. Nevertheless, solid game - looks finished and professional! Could actually imagine this making money as a mobile game ;-)

Would be great if you check out our game as well!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Fist, let's start off with the obvious: The graphics and music in this game are fantastic. It looks very polished and the art style seems very consistent. It definitely looks like it could be a full fledged mobile game. The design chosen also fits the gameplay well.

The gameplay itself was quite fun albeit very simple. But the concept definitely has potential to be expanded. I was not entirely happy with the controls, since it was quite hard to pick up red blood cells if they weren't very close to your path and as a result it was quite hard to get your health back up. I guess what I'm getting at is that things felt a little bit too much out of the player's control.

The theme was not explored that deeply in this one, which is fine. But I can certainly imagine that the virus could be given more forms to maybe beat different kinds of challenges.

Nonetheless, the game is good and looks very polished. Good job.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:30am

Cool concept and love that art, especially the pouty face character.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:20am

Nice graphics and cool gameplay.

The only thing I missed is feedback (sounds, particles, animations) but it's awesome to see what you have archieved by doing all the graphics and code.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Well done cute graphics !

Why transforming draws you HP (a bit less) like when you collide with a white cell, that makes dodging (hard!) more advisable to survive D:

Again, good graphics !

sndr says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:53am

Nice little game! The virus looks very cute! The game mechanic plays smoothly and I really enjoyed the play! :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Nice game, a bit challenging but cool. Graphics are great. Good job!

AlejoAC says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:00am

Fun little game, the movement is quite fluid and hooked me in. But the mechanic runs out of interest quickly.
The graphics fit really well together, it doesn't look like like a Jam game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]