Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon Shifters

by Nick Weihs - Compo Entry

Aliens have invaded from underground!

Using quantum weapon technology, we can defeat them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2207Coolness10%

Comments

ChaosShark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47am

Very impressive, I had fun. Art and music are also quite impressive, especially given the timeframe. Reminds me of Contra. If I can give any criticisms, it's that the weapons weren't different enough to be meaningful, so when you shift it doesn't feel like much has changed. Anyways, I couldn't have done better myself.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:17am

This is insane. You must have a lot of experience with the genre in order to pull if off that well in such a short amount of time. The graphics are oustanding. The music takes me back to my old Amiga days. Pacing is very good and you even threw in a satisfying boss fight. I'm impressed. Five stars.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:47am

It won't run on my PC :(
No window appears and I get no error message, it just insta-quits. The process only runs for half a second or so.

Windows 10 64bit, nvidia 840m.

Nick Weihs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Should be fixed up now!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice game, lots of weapons, pretty cool :)

Wertle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Great work with all the things! You really put together a compelling and coherent game in the time limit - the aesthetics all work together really well (and the head crab is terrifying). It occasionally tripped me up when it said reload and I would instinctively shift, and the chicken and funny voice kind of stuck out in an otherwise moody aesthetic. I'd say next steps could be playing with push-back on the guns (which could help differentiate different guns), get a lil action goin on ;) Super great work!

Wefiends says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

I think you pretty much got my thoughts from the stream, but i'll just say it again, I really like this game.

aeveis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:44am

pretty fun, but I'm running into a bug where anything facing left is invisible. I have Window 8 64 bit laptop.

I liked how the weapons were basically random though with different properties with range, waviness, power?, bounce, or shooting through walls so sometimes you could get a cool combinations. Could be cool to see more exploration of that.

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35am

Amazing. The UI was nice, just enough HUD and menu to keep my quantum powered long enough to shoot some tachyons at the deflector dish.

DrPetter says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Wow, lots of level design here. Such a big environment. That's NOT common for LD :)

Most of it works pretty well, although it's not super-unique of course. I was surprised to see the relatively complex hovering enemies, they feel almost like minibosses and are entertaining to fight.

Final boss was a good challenge, took me 3-4 attempts to win.

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:36am

I liked the constant weapon-changing. Certainly appreciate the need to re-evaluate your situation.

The screen shifting was erratic and weird. It didn't help that it made for a few leap-of-faiths, which I'm not a fan of. I think the ducking is somewhat poorly integrated, as it makes your character over-powered in the grand majority of the game. The most dangerous enemies often can't shoot you while you're ducking. Would have also liked some more feedback on whether an enemy was shot or not.

Omiya Games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:37am

One last thing: the being-shot wind-up time is too long! Make the stun-duration shorter, please!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]