Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Transformagician

by HuvaaKoodia - Jam Entry

- - Goal - -

Avoid detection and reach the magic portal.
Shapeshift into harmless objects to fool your enemies, but beware: each monster has a soft spot for one type of item, which they will sometimes investigate.

- - Controls - -

Movement: WASD or Arrows
Activate/cancel shapeshifting: 1,2,3 or LMB, MMB, RMB


- - Developer's comments - -

The 72H build is up. Improvements are listed in the version log.
Any comments are welcome!

Known bugs:
Middle mouse button does not work properly in the embedded web version, consider the standalone web build instead.

- - Credits - -

Programming:
Huvaakoodia

Graphics:
Ranquil - Markus Ranki

Audio:
On-Jin (on-jin.com)
Presence of Music (presence-of-music.com)

- - Version Log - -

V0.9, 48H build - 18.04.2016 3.50

V1.0, 72H build - 19.04.2016 1.50
- Improved graphics
- Ending cinematic
- Sound effects
- Tweaked difficulty

V1.0.1 - 23.04.2016 0.25
- Web build performance improvements
- Fixed wall normal map glitch
- Decreased player movement speed a bit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#181Mood(Jam)3.63
#308Theme(Jam)3.64
#356Graphics(Jam)3.67
#364Overall(Jam)3.42
#598Humor(Jam)2.33
#599Innovation(Jam)2.98
#662Fun(Jam)2.98

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11am

Nice work! I liked the style, and the music.

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

Nice idea! Each monster having a shape they investigate makes this much harder than I expected.

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

I like it! The character sprites are very cool, even if the level art is a bit bland. The 3rd level gets pretty hard! Good job

treylon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

Well done I rally like the Style!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

The music was good. The gameplay was interesting.

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

Can't run security error

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

I quite liked what you did here! You brought some real ingenuity to the shapeshifting puzzler that is the norm. I thought only that the choice of using sprites in a 3d space was odd.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

I LOVE the music. Sets a great moo along with the blue hues of the game. It took me a while to figure out what I was transforming into, but it made more sense once I saw the robots (the bolt). I love the robots art BTW.

I would have liked the selector UI to have stayed on the screen so it was always ready to go.

Fun!

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22am

I feel like this could develop into a cool puzzle game. Seriously, I might buy this is you put some real time into developing it - I love puzzle games! This one probably needs some real man hours to get really fleshed out, though. I really enjoyed. I'm giving you almost full-stars except for humor. To me it seems that you probably should just flag it N/A, but I'm not sure so I put 1-star.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22am

For the most part, well done! I really liked the art, and it's nice to see some more attempts at 48 hour stealth games. I think the idea of shapeshifting into different objects to evade enemies is a good one.
However, it's not that useful. The enemies move slowly around the map, so it's annoying to wait for them to pass by and form an opening, (and other type of enemy can walk up and eat you =P), and once the enemies see you, you can't really pull it off.
There's a balance to be struck, and it's not an easy one to strike. I commend you for the effort you put into this.
Well done!

rynti says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:25am

Cool idea! Really enjoyed the stealth-like gameplay. Took a while until I figured out the controls though - Maybe have a bar with icons for each thing you can shapeshift into and the corresponding key.

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28am

Good job. Love the camera behavior. + The art is good.

greymouth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28am

Great work love the style and ambient music

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36am

The music really fits the speed of the character, and the 2d mixed with 3d is done perfectly! Good job.

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

Super solid game. I'm a sucker for stealth games and this hits that itch super hard. The game has issues with the middle click spell when it's not in fullscreen mode tho... Just something to put in the description maybe. Still love the game.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Nice little game. Music was really cool as with graphics.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50am

Game of patience, really like the art.

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33am

Great game. I really liked the stealth aspect. The fact that each monster investigates a particular item type and their AI (which you did a great job programming) made it a very edge-of-your-seat playthrough reminiscent of MGS for me. I liked the graphics. The subdued style and great lighting made it really atmospheric, and I loved the N64-flavour 2D-on-3D isometric view. The only thing I think could have improved the graphics would have been some backgrounds. The music was really well-composed, and fit the theme really well in my opinion. Great job there and I couldn't think of a way to improve it. The mood is awesome, and among the most memorable of the games I've played so far. Thanks a lot for your submission! I had a lot of fun with it. Hope to play one of your games again! :D

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19am

It looks cool, I like how you've combined 2D and 3D.

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:46am

Very good art style, good job

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29am

Great work!

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38am

to hard for me couldn't beat the first level :(

studdert249 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:45am

Loved the art style and enjoyed the music a lot.

Nice work!

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:33pm

the game is good, the music was great, but it needs some SFX for get more inmersive. Also the camera controller is very well implemented.

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:29pm

I agree with Dasginger's comment about each enemy "investigating" their respective environmental objects!

There was a surprisingly level of depth to the dynamics. You could tease a lot of out of these mechanics with more time to iterate on level design. :D

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55pm

The character looks so cute, same for the 2D assets, so lovely. The AI is enjoyable and challenging at times, and the music fits the whole thing perfectly. I really like this.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:28am

I didn't get it at first but ended up liking it. Nice!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33am

The art is fantastic! Liked the use of 2d sprites in a 3d world.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:33am

It was amazing! I loved it so much! Took me a little bit to get it, but once I got it felt really nice. I dig the 2D and 3D feels, like Paper Mario. Solid.

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:33am

Cool game. The music really helps setting the atmosphere. It's great how the music also help me relaxing and being patient to wait when needed (really nice side effect).

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48am

Nicely done. Music fits great into the game.

Millefey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26am

This game was a bit too difficult for me to finish but I really liked its atmosphere and innovative gameplay! At first I found the camera strangely wobbly but quickly got used to it. Love the choice of 2.5D btw!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01am

Quite interesting, but sometimes enemy come from behind and I cannot see it. Maybe a 2.5D camera is better.

adamprack says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

It was a neat mechanic, though there could be some refining to make it all mesh better. The mood set by the coloring and music were great, though I wasn't a fan of the character art all that much. Neat idea and start!

goost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13pm

Cute game, like the art style and the 2D/3D mix.
The transformation delay also adds a lot of difficulty...

Almax27 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

I really enjoyed playing this game, fits well with the theme! (Summer)

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Nice game! the music was really good too :)

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Good Tutorial implementation.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Nice idea, i like the mix of 2d and 3d

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:30pm

I liked how you used the shapelifting theme to build a stealth mechanic, different from the others that I've seen so far. If you were to work on this further on, some real interesting puzzles could arise! :)

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Looks and feels nice. The map would have been smaller, or could have some check points. Other than that it's good. :)

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:48am

Love the art style and the music! Gameplay is cool too, a very nice stealth entry. :)

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:23am

Cool game! Really liked the atmosphere. Transforming feels a bit slow so I felt that it was easier to just sneak past everything without getting detected so in stage 2 and 3 I never transformed.

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:22am

nice work and good idear

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Love how you mixed the 3d with sprites!

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Quite a nice take on stealth mechanics, yet I would have liked more explaining on the shapeshifting part - couldn't quite get, why I me transforming into screws confused those bears :D the second level put everything into place.
Really like the art style :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Stressing and relaxing at the same time !

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Music and the atmosphere was great. I liked that the characters were a sprites instead of 3D models.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:26pm

5/5, I really enjoyed playing this game. The asthetic is beautiful.

Lokarunith says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Nice game!

zzapp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:09am

Nice concept, the art and music were both good and I enjoyed playing it.
Great job.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:39am

Very well done! The atmosphere is great and the difficulty curve while a little sharp especially in level 3 is planned pretty well; it's satisfying when you win but not this moment of massive relief per se, which is good.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:20am

Enjoyed the mood of the game. Unfortunately, I had trouble getting into it as the shapeshifting rarely saved me, and I had trouble discerning when it might actually be useful.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:14pm

This game had a very original varnish of style over top of a really simple premise. It was pretty fun avoiding all the baddies-- my only qualm is that the transforming only rarely comes in handy.

Still, nice work!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Love the mood, music is very soothing, seems like there is some backstory going on.
Sadly the gameplay is lacking, beat the whole game without ever using shifting ability properly. Definitely has a potential though, so keep it up!

josemorval says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56pm

I don't know why...but it reminds me of Chihiro...it is very simple mechanic a game, but it has something special. Good job!

neontropics says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:22am

Great music and nice stealthy gameplay! I liked just trying to hightail it and run past enemies more than trying to transform though.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:37am

Great atmosphere! Everything feels dreamy!

zetsumi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice Work and nice game !!!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:00pm

2D sprites in a 3D world, we used a similar aesthetic in our LD game! Adore the tranquil soundtrack.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Nice and creepy game! :D
Very good looking graphics and eerie atmosphere, nice work!

Molpe says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Great game! Nice graphics, great mechanics, also I just love the green blob things!

I've made a short let's play video if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68xbKZiPWsE

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:21am

NICE WORK AND STYLE! is the camera on perspective mode? have u tried switching it to orthographic?
anyways, cool sprites and gamelplay.. u made it interestingly challenging xD a solid entry

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:34am

Beautiful mood set by the art and audio. Those damn bears have super long range vision!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:26pm

I just adore this art style! The music sets to mood perfectly. Great take on this type of game, like you said it is similar to my entry, but yours has a lot more depth with the mechanic. On Level 2 I was able to complete it by simply out running the monsters, once I knew where the exit was.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:13pm

not really original but very well realized good job and especialy for art and music

Squid says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Loved the win animation!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:55pm

That is really solid cool game. Like visual style of game and atmosphere it creates.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:45pm

This is awesome! I loved the gameplay, and the mood which this game created. It was hard, but it was not frustrating. Everytime I was caught, I was eager to try again. By the way, I really liked the camera - I think that it added a lot to the game's mood.
Great job!

AinoraZ says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Pretty nice idea. Love the pokemon like ! :D...

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:08am

Lovely game !

bradur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:49am

Beautiful game with great music & sound. It really felt good. The only minus I could think of was that it was sometimes hard to see where the enemies were since you couldn't control the camera. Good work!

orukinawa says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Great job on the AI and pathfinding. Also five stars for mood :)

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:30am

Great work! The stealth + puzzling shapeshifting concept is really nice. :P

Had a hard time fooling some mobs, but I had lots of fun playing it! Controls work nicely, are pretty responsive and the game has some great mood, thanks to the setting!

Cheers! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]