Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Soul of Clay

by fullmontis - Jam Entry

A Soul of Clay - An Adventure Game

In this game you are a golem who just woke up in his creator's room. You need to understand what is gong on, and how to escape.

The power you are gifted with is the possibliy of shaping your body and hands. With it, you can copy the tools you get in touch with, and give yourself a chance.

---

There is an in game tutorial. It is highly reccomended to follow it to the letter. The game uses only the mouse.

Controls:
Move mouse to discover hotspots. The nearer you are, the brighter they are.
Click left/right mouse to advance in dialogues.
left click: examine an object / act on it with the current shape
right click: take the shape of an items (works only on some items)

Made in HTML5/js. Tested with Firefox 45. It should work with all the major browsers, but in case of problems, try Firefox (and please report any strange behaviour). Thank you.

19/04: added walkthrough

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#61Theme(Jam)4.08
#71Mood(Jam)3.96
#216Overall(Jam)3.62
#316Innovation(Jam)3.32
#386Graphics(Jam)3.61
#403Audio(Jam)3.13
#423Fun(Jam)3.27
#707Humor(Jam)2.07

Comments

Futilrevenge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14am

I really liked this, it's an interesting take on the 'escape the room' style of games. The atmosphere was perfect, absolutely spot on, and has left me with a sort of somber mood. Great job!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12am

Cool game, nice scape the room entry. I want to know how the story goes on!

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:26am

So spooky.

Millefey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:48am

Took me forever to discover the carpet but I really enjoyed playing this and would love to know more about these characters!

axoona says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08am

I really liked the game: it has an interesting take of the theme and great mood. nice!

strong99 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19am

I love these kind of adventures. the text scrolling was a bit hard on my eyes though. Even though I never escaped, enjoyed it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Great mood, love escape room. Moving text was eye breaking. Overall good entry :)

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Ooooh, this was really neat. At first, because some of the hotspots become inert once they stop being relevant but not others, I was scared I might have gotten myself stuck!

The style is super atmospheric and the script well written, though it needs proofreading in a few places. An excellent entry!

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Nice! Well designed puzzles and compelling story. Great job! You should definitely pursue a post-ld version.

DraKlaW says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07pm

I really liked your game ! The graphics are really neat, and the theme is cool !

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06am

Great game! Loved the usage of the theme on escape the room! Mood, art and sound are really cool!

Awesome entry! Congrats!

Husky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:03am

I like this game! when I understated the mechanic, I just went though the game smoothly.

You're using the theme well, it really fit the adventure game nicely, good job! :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:21am

Good mood, spooky. I escaped!

One complaint about the text: Expanding from the middle makes it hard to read until it is finished. I would prefer starting from the left. It almost gave me a feeling of motion sickness and there is a LOT of slow text. Instantly appearing text would be even better to me.

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25am

I escaped the chamber! Really nice application of the theme. I like point and click games, and this idea could give it another interesting twist.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:49am

I'm a fan of creepy and horror games and I have to say that the atmosphere was definitely on point. Great job! 2spoopy5me

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:12am

Excellent game. I love room escape games.

PavelPooh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:24am

Very atmospheric art

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:26am

Great game. I liked the graphical style and the mood was dark and appropriately unsettling. Good job on this one.

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39am

I like the alchemical setting, artstyle. Interesting puzzles.

Hotspots and action icons are too small, it's inconvenient.
Text animation could be more polished.

But it's still a very good entry. Good work! I love to see a point&click adventure on LD. )

cakeknuckles says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:00pm

this is a really interesting puzzle game with a great interpretation of the theme. while i agree with others that the centered text can be almost disorientating to try and read while in motion, i enjoyed the game itself. good job!!

robb_blob says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Quite good idea! The sound is too repetitive but the art style is interesting.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:04pm

This is, in my opinion, one of the most original and inventive implementations of the shape shifting theme I've played so far! The story is interesting, the puzzles are nice, the tutorial makes very clear how the game works and the atmosphere is great.

A really really solid work, I enjoyed very much this one. The only thing I'd change is, perhaps, the text size which was a bit hard to read for me. Congratulations!!!

celia14 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

Ooh, this is lovely - a fun little puzzle with a haunting story behind it. Thanks for including the walkthrough, I got stuck on the carpet but I'm glad I got to continue and see the end.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:45am

Amazing how you used the theme! Be proud on your creativity!

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:07am

Interesting concept, I would have never thought about that! Very good execution and cool graphics.
maybe doesn't fit in the "humour" part, so I'm leaving this one n/a, overall I enjoyed a lot!!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:28am

Nice idea, but we didn't know that the tutorial wasn't over so we could not figure out why we were not able to use some items. However, we like the atmosphere ^^

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Nice little game :) Effective graphism and mood

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Wow. The ending music really really reminds me of Undertale's Alphys lab. The music that got all the hair on my arm standing. Eerie & mysterious mood, I love it! Really hope to see this game developed cos it has so much potential!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Great idea with good atmosphere!

Good job!

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Very atmospheric game and a great combination of theme and game mechanics.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Loving the hand draw graphics. Let me out!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Cool story and really nice (simple) graphics. The music just bugged me so had to play mute. Otherwise great job!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:17am

I like escape rooms, and the theme is used very well in this one. Good job, I really liked play it. :)

docteurSid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:43am

What an amazing game

Verz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:53am

Niice game! really interesting to play. Well done!

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:57am

Good stuff. I love the mechanic of turning into tools.

Mikaza says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:00am

Very Nice !

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:23am

It doesn't let me use the last use of "cage"

oab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:48am

Nice :)

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:07am

Very creative idea! Love the inclusion of a story as well. Nice job!

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:41am

Nice atemosphere, good ideas. In the theme. Really like it for a jam !
Just some choices weren't really evident or logic, and finally i was clicking everywhere.

PixelStuff says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Lovely graphique, the the text scrolling was a bit hard for my eyes but it's doing the job. Great game.

ployer says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:58pm

well done, love the art and the mood. great use of the theme. Who doesn't love a point and click!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Really well done, congrats!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Nice game loved all the mystery and atmosphere!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:49pm

nice entry. its a clever idea using shapeshifting as a point-and-click interact medium

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:58pm

A well written, spooky story with a concept that fits the theme nicely. The graphics were clear enough and did their job, but that's where I'd start improving the game if developing this further. Also adding sounds to the interaction and maybe some ambient sounds would make the world feel more alive on top of the already well executed music.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:16pm

nice escape the room feel to this and the hand drawn graphics make it better! Well done!

kleinzach says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Great job. The whole game had an excellent mood throughout.

gnerkus says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:23pm

The music was the spookiest I've heard in a long time.

You made an excellent game - and the humble beginnings of a brilliant horror story.

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Interesting concept! It's definitely a bit difficult, and I would've appreciated more flavor text...

Joozey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Really good game! Mood was well set. Simple yet spooky graphics. Also: tutorial, story, gameplay, music and ending. You have it all! Respect!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:07am

interesting take on the genre, and nice core mechanic.

wboqm says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31am

Great game! Enjoyed it and finished it.

I also had trouble with the corner of the carpet; though that is primarily because I thought I had already gotten the dust from the bottles on the shelf and I was just trying to crush the powder; it would be helpful to be able to tell what you have already put in the bowl.

I also was bothered by some state not being tracked; e.g. I broke the draw multiple times. And some of the longer text would have been more appropriate if not repeated every time the transformation was made; e.g. transforming into the broken bowl.

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:13am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

frondeus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:52am

Very interesting. Nice written!

bluszcz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:12am

So refreshing game, i really like minimalism here :) Thanks for web version.

remiv says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:39am

Very interesting puzzle, I should not have read the comment here, they contain some spoiler.

maartene says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Best use of the theme I've seen so far.

Divitos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:57pm

This is definitely one of my favorite takes on the theme I've found so far.

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Good adventure, very stilish narrative. Great atmosphere, very well built.

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:17pm

A really creepy atmosphere and a challenging puzzle. I really like it. Still working my way through it!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:44am

I didn't have a whole lot of time to play point and clicks on stream last night, but I plan on going back to this in the future. I want to know the narrative as I love the quite creepy almost chimera-like plotline.

Played briefly on stream @ 3:17:40 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

CtrlAltTea says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Great idea! The music and art make this game really atmospheric, good job!

urfbound says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:44am

Cool escape game with a great use of the theme! Reminded me a little of the golem arc from X-Files. The art and music were both fantastic, and the game was tricky without having any puzzles that felt unreasonable.

If I could make one recommendation it would be to change the text on examining objects as they are changed by the player - most notably the glass bowl would be a good candidate for this treatment.

Had fun playing your game! Hope you enjoyed making it!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Woah that's an awesome game!
The artwork is really great, the level design is damn smart, and the atmosphere, the mood, they fit so well togheter it scares me!
Great great entry!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:30am

Short, minimalistic, moody, and fitting the theme well. One thing i didn't like was how the music got repetitive very fast, even if it contributed a lot to the mood.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:08pm

LET ME OUT! Cool game, nice mood. I really liked the music and depth of the story :)

Anti says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Very nice game! Enjoyed it very much.

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:33pm

I really like your take on shapeshift challange! The typewriter animation of the words really annoys when the text is too long, though. Also, hotspots can be bigger, really hard to pick the spots. Overall, nice graphics and mood!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:27pm

good ambiance and nice draw

May 1, 2016 @ 9:12am

Wow, great artwork, good soundtrack, both really supportive of the story.

Minor gripe: the text appearing from the center is only readable once it settles, because it moves too quickly before that. And click targets are a bit small.

monika says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Nice! I got pretty far by myself, but couldn't get the bird bones out of the cage. Gave up and looked at the walkthrough, but it confirmed I was doing the right thing. Still don't know why it wasn't working.That and the slow, unreadable-until-done text were the only issues. Well done!

TheCain says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:25am

Nice escape the room. As it is, it's a very good escape the room. All it needs is a little polish.

nyaki says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Artistic style and cool story-telling.
The music gets too annoying after a while.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:35am

great storytelling and atmosphere, the sound effect loop hole time really let me a little scared ToT but this all help to built a great atmosphere and put me more immerse in to this world and focused on the process to handle the puzzle!
for a long time not to play this type games!viusal also nice and everything mix good .Thanks/ well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]