Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Quarantine

by nicotuason - Compo Entry

Requires brain and keyboard. Play with the lights down and volume up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.45
#16Audio4.11
#66Graphics4.07
#74Innovation3.90
#99Overall3.76
#334Fun3.32
#520Theme3.28
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

Saw you played my game so I decided to play yours. This is a really cool concept! I love the idea of this game and really enjoyed playing it. Not sure how i was supposed to find the shapeshifter so I just guessed but still and interesting game.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

Interesting and challenging game. I liked the terminal graphics.

mactinite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52am

Really liked the terminal and sound effects. Really difficult to find the mimics...

SiM2SiM says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58am

Awesome, great execution and mood. Felt like the Thing haha really great game. Loved the graphics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:08am

Apart from being fiendishly difficult to actually capture the two mimics, I really enjoyed the slick terminal interface, and the sound design was brilliant. Nice work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:08am

Apart from being fiendishly difficult to actually capture the two mimics, I really enjoyed the slick terminal interface, and the sound design was brilliant. Nice work!

I'd love your thoughts on my game Titos Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33am

Great mood and audio. No idea whatsoever how to solve the game though.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:05am

This is awesome. It looks so polished and atmospheric. The sound effects are really good. As an exception, having no music is actually a plus here. The ambient sounds fit much better to the scenario. I have to say though that I didn't get the cues that allowed me to identify the shapeshifters, mabye with more time...

deepnight says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Very very original and interesting :) I loved how you managed to create such atmosphere with a good soundtrack and interesting texts. Good job!

srakowski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19am

Top mark for mood. Challenging game, you really need to pay attention to the details to find the mimics. Well done!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:45pm

I like the concept and the atmosphere! I didn't really know what to do at first so I put 2 people in quarantine at random and they were the 2 shapeshifters xD
Proof: http://imgur.com/cCZxFqP

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:37am

Top notch. Version 2 is fairly doable once you get the hang of it, and I imagine it'd be quite easy once you memorize who can be where. It only loosely fit the LD theme, but everything else is about as good as you can expect. Great job.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

Great mood. Had to break out a piece of paper to really keep track of everything.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:43am

I played multiple times and still don't have a clue what I'm supposed to be looking for. Such a shame that this doesn't even have a hint of a tutorial, because I really love the idea, the mood and the visuals.

Atridas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:37pm

This game is really promising but it may lack a tutorial and I was a bit lost at the beginning.

The graphics are really well chosen and transport you into the game.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Awesome game!!! This is totally my kind of game! Couldn't stop until I caught both shapeshifters (although with casualties - is it possible to find them without?). Sound's so really, really, really good and I just *love* the whole setup! More please!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:42am

really like the use of terminal graphics to have us use our imagination to play - great job

ijona says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:20am

Well done!

May 1, 2016 @ 9:42am

Interesting entry. Liked the terminal design and the mood you setup. Worked really well in putting the pressure on to find the mimics. Took me a few turns to figure out the patterns but thought it was a clever idea.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Nice mood and challenging game. Unusual. Well done ++

May 5, 2016 @ 4:01am

WHOA. this graphics is TOP AWESOME. hee hee. nice job. i lost one and got one. not too bad. :D

quadtree says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:41am

Took me a little bit to figure out how to win, but once I did it got pretty intense. Nice atmosphere.

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Graphics and sound are amazing. You emulated an Apple ][e monochrome display very well. Even though it's "just" a text game, the work you did creating the atmosphere and mood of using an early 80's personal computer is spectacular.

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Graphics is so cool tho!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]