Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Werepenguin's Escape

by SmilingCat - Compo Entry

What a way to wake up after a pub crawl! You find yourself in a strange room, and what's this? Moonlight turns you into a penguin?! That makes you a certified Werepenguin. Find your way out of the mysterious facility that you have found yourself in, by bending moonlight and using your penguin skills to safely traverse teflon-coated ice.

WASD/Arrows to move.
Spacebar to jump
Z to grab/release mirrors
R to reset a level

Toolstack:
Engine - Unity 3D 5.3.2f1
Textures - NeoTexEdit and Paint.net
Level/Object Models - Blender
Human Model - MakeHuman
Sound Effects - Bfxr, Audacity
Music - Abundant Music generator (http://www.abundant-music.com/)

Note: Web version is based on Unity Web Player and will only work on browsers that still allow NPAPI plugins (i.e. will not work on Chrome).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Humor3.57
#263Audio3.14
#276Theme3.66
#403Innovation3.20
#436Graphics3.08
#468Mood2.94
#505Fun3.06
#532Overall3.14

Comments

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Gg guys !

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I really liked the soundtrack!

The controls are so clunky that I actually only got through 2 levels before getting too frustrated :/

The rag doll effect is so funny though!

Otherwise, nice work. Hope you had a fun LD experience =)

justinooncx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Interesting game, although it was a bit hard to navigate without being able to see a whole lot of the map at once. Still, a novel idea!

CasualCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:25pm

"Web" didin't work for me D:

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45pm

The music's great and the slipping effect is hilarious! The controls are a bit difficult to use, though. Overall, great job!

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Nice game. Some suggestions:
1) I wish I have minimap or zoom out to look around area
2) Maybe penguin can have some special ability (for space button) like fast sliding or so.

dusho says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:17pm

nice and funny idea..

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Great humour, good audio. Bit sticky to control with the jumping but a nice little puzzler here. Great stuff!

Ken Ichi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Ragdolls <3
I did a ragdoll's game for this jam too ;p~

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:42am

Utterly ridiculous and utterly fantastic story! Thanks for playing/rating our game, sorry it crashed on you. We've informed our crack team of bug fixers. -t

igrir says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:30am

Really fun! Maybe it's a good idea to inform visually whether the player had grabbed the mirror

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35am

Great game! The idea was smart, and I really liked the puzzle solving aspect of it! That made the game really fun to play. The storyline was really funny and interesting, and the soundtrack was good too! There was a slight buzzing noise in the music, not sure if that was intentional, but if it isn't then that is something to look into. Other than that I really liked the music and the voices lol!
Grabbing the mirror and moving it to where I wanted it to be was a little hard. But overall awesome job! :)

purrpurr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:41am

+1 for werepenguins! The entire thing kind of gave me a PS1 vibe for some reason. Perhaps it's one of those quirky fun ideas it worked best with =p

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:43pm

This is an interesting game concept but the controls are a bit hard! It's fun, good graphics and nice music!

sndr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:46pm

I really like the concept behind this, and how the theme was used! :) I would say, though, that the controls were a little bit hard to use, but overall, nice entry!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:32pm

I loved its idea!

DRGY says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Animations and graphic is great!

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I just love the concept, music and design

sharrackor says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Nice idea! Found the controls a bit difficult to operate - I would preferred to have the mouse position to control the orientation and wasd to move in that direction and maybe have the camera at a slight angle, not at a birds eye view. Overall good game though!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:06am

Interesting concept, love the audio. That ragdoll effect never gets old, love it! Movement felt a bit off, the waddling penguin didn't help either.

matiz982 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Nice idea and cute pingu :)

methylenblub says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Really funny game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]