Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tommy is the Shapeshifter

by ashdnazg - Compo Entry

Mike, Tommy, and Bobby are your friends.
Unless one of them is secretly a Shapeshifter.

Try to discover who it is!
(I think it's probably Tommy)

Instructions
============
It's a dialogue simulator, press the number buttons to choose your action.
1) Find who you think the Shapeshifter is.
2) Convince everybody that you are right (you can ask them what they think to verify)
3) Expose the Shapeshifter! (Using the "Blame" menu option)
4) Discover all 5 possible endings
5) Leave a comment :)

Interesting bits
================
Includes 4 minutes and 25 seconds of recorded dialogue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.41
#51Audio3.80
#101Fun3.74
#115Mood3.60
#327Theme3.57
#420Innovation3.17
#436Overall3.25
#586Graphics2.78
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

kanatohodets says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16am

This is great! Loads of hilarious dialogue, some nice surprises. Managed to find all of the endings :D

I think my main feedback is that some of the best jokes are buried pretty deeply in the dialogue trees; this adds to their effectiveness, of course, but it means that lots of folks will miss them, which is a shame.

The writing is solid. Some delightful jokes, good character differentiation. There isn't a lot of depth or character investment/development, but what can you expect, it's a compo game :D

Pretty good voice work, the different characters have nicely distinct (and most importantly, internally consistent) sounds. Took me a moment to understand everyone, but this didn't impede my enjoyment of the game. Audio came out clean. Subtitles were a fantastic touch, and really helped replayability (skipping dialogue I've heard before after scanning the text - yes please).

Music was pleasant and effective, avoided becoming annoying despite all the time I spent listening to it (I played the game N+2 times, where N is number of endings).

Despite the "small" total amount of total audio dialogue, it felt like there was a lot to see/hear/explore. I think this game does a better job of accomplishing the feeling of "impossible amounts of audio content" than MInfo, given how the pieces are parceled out to the player.

On a technical level the code is remarkably clean, and I encountered no bugs at all.

Success! Onwards and upwards!

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Great graphics! Loved it tremendously!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10pm

The dialogue's hilariously voiced and generally a very pleasant dark camp thing. Main complaint is just that the dialogue implies a lot of things that don't pan out. At one point in the "Is tommy a shapeshifter?" line, it seems like there's a consensus, at least with bobby, that tommy is a shapeshifter, and this doesn't translate to his ultimate answer. It would've been much more fun to find these hidden flags in the conversation I feel, and get a more organic-feeling argument going.

Still, had a very good time, especially being able to convince everyone that they're the shapeshifter after all. Nice work.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Bobby saves the day. The dialogue is funny but that's just coz you are (talking) weird :D

On its own, the game mechanics are a bit overly simplistic and fast become a grind, but thankfully the game is about as long as you need to finish it enjoyably.

Despite much longer hokoaudio in your previous game, I think it was a lot more interesting. Not every game can be groundbreaking though, can it?

-gajop

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Hilarious story and character, and the voice acting made it all the more funny xD

Good job, behatzlaha!

euske says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55pm

I can see the idea of psychological trick is a sort of your thing (this game + previous game). Liked it a lot.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Very cool idea! I really enjoyed the writing and the voice acting a lot. I didn't read that there were five endings before I started and suspected in the end it turned out that "you" are the shapeshifter. And that was also the first ending that I found :-)

The drawing style might be a bit low-fi, but it totally underscores the hilarious dialogs.

I had a lot of fun :D

rodobodolfo says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:52am

Nice sense of humour throughout and the daft voice overs add to it. The drawings are a little rough but Tommy made me laugh. Good job overall, I enjoyed my time here.

LeReveur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:46pm

I was prepared to play this game speedy, and to be bored. I was totally wrong : it was fun, hilarious, and the different ways to get the five endings are pretty clever, so, very good job, I like to be surprised in that way ! :)

May 3, 2016 @ 9:30pm

This was a pretty refreshing and unique entry. Very funny voice acting and game in general, the art style fit the game I think. And I got all 5 endings.

Acuity says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:39pm

YES the voice acting!!!!

OnlySlightly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Playing this gave me a smile and quite a few chuckles. Loved the aesthetic and the voice acting was hilarious. I enjoyed playing through multiple times to get to hear all the dialogue. And there was an impressive amount of it. Great job!

haveric says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:26pm

this game legitimately made me laugh. it was well written and voice acted. the graphics were awesomebad. fantastic job.

TriSquare says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:56pm

i love the voices, and I think the potato quality really fits the whole thing together.I wish there was more mouse interactivity, but thats just me :)

srakowski says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:19am

Lol, wonderful dialog :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 1:56am

@all: Thanks! glad you've liked it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]