Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spooky, Scary Shapes

by Tater_hater - Compo Entry

WARNING: 3 SPOOPY 4 people. Updoot at own risk

Delve deep into a shifting maze, and uncover shapes that unlock the deeper depths.. There, I included shapes and shifting. It's my first swing at a "horror" game and is a little buggy with enemies. But have fun collecting shapes in the dark maze of "terror"!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#103Audio3.58
#200Mood3.33
#565Humor1.90
#830Innovation2.40
#841Graphics2.20
#855Theme2.53
#896Overall2.50
#898Fun2.20

Comments

Mark Smith says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03am

Very simple but solid. The graphics and gameplay weren't fantastic but the sound design was great.

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

Audio was great. The game felt a little too incomplete, but thats the compo for ya

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:30am

The audio was good, but it seemed a little disconnected from the actual game. I kept hearing things that I didn't see or see any effects of later. I also got randomly teleported once. ._. Other than that, it was good.

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40am

I like the creepy sound effects in the background, and it's great you got something up and running! The shifting maze idea is neat, though I got trapped for a little while a few times. Visually, it was rough, and it, sadly, wasn't a whole ton of fun to play. BUT, the effort put into it is admirable, and there was some neat stuff in it!

simon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:28am

good base but veeeeery buggy - missed a quick achievement

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

doot doot. I thought the mood and audio was good, but I thought the game itself was kind of frustrating with the wall segments disappearing and reappearing.

oab says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:43am

Green guy has a little bit weird collider. It can kill before it reach the player. :')

michalpypek says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:50am

Nice idea with the shifting maze! I didn't read the description before playing and I got surprised when I was suddenly closed in and couldn't go anywhere xD

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:50am

Awesome game, sounds are awesome and really like this game

chefllama17 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:39pm

It was 2 spooky for me

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Very spooky indeed! But also very confusing. I'm assuming I have to collect all the shapes before being allowed downstairs? But there is no visual feedback to let me know what I need to do. Maybe add a HUD to know what shapes are missing?

andyman404 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03am

Scary and challenging game to play through. That green guy keeps grabbing me in this diabolical shifting maze!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:50am

The audio is fantastic!! I found some stairs but I was not sure what to do there... Nice little game! Good job!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30am

I'm not sure exactly what I'm supposed to do, but it definitely is creepy! The mood is setup nicely, and I definitely got spooked when i realized the maze had changed when I went back to where I was. Nice job.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31am

nice sound design :)

Sixteen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36am

The hitbox of the green blob monster was a bit janky. It looked like I was able to sneak past it but the hitbox would always touch me. Otherwise, the great mood and sound design helped covered the gameplay holes.

Tsevion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:39am

Fantastic Mood, good audio, and your use of lighting to hide the maze changes (well, kind of), was neat.

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:50am

The sounds were nice, but their could have been a bit more mechanically.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:54am

Creepy. Also I got lost in the maze.

Anti says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:51am

The audio was very good and gave a creepy feel to the game. The game itself though was very simple but still pretty fun. But the game feeled a bit disconnected from the music. Overall a solid entry.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:27am

Simple but fun! Maybe you will like my game http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=91082

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:44am

Gameplay was a little rough but the audio was great. The ambiance noises really help set the mood in this game.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:50am

Very nice entry, great atmosphere

Dunric says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:52am

Spooked the crap out of me! Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]