Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spellbound

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

Welcome to Spellbound a game about shape-shifting wizards, spinning disks and little balls of furry evil.

Controls:
Left click to attack
Right click to defend (cannot defend while walking or attacking)

Objective:
Travel the furthest you can!

Developers:
Aaron - Code
Summer - Art

Summer: This was my first time making a game, it was really fun and quite stressful :) but I definitely learnt a lot! See you next time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#512Audio(Jam)2.90
#662Innovation(Jam)2.91
#734Mood(Jam)2.85
#740Graphics(Jam)3.00
#868Fun(Jam)2.70
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1083Theme(Jam)2.18

Comments

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:44pm

it looks like an interesting start of a game, I'm not really seeing how it fits in with the theme though.

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:43am

Could use more enemy variety (or earlier if there already is). I enjoyed working out the timing and just would have liked to see more.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

Fun game and great concept. Love the music! Perfect for the style

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22pm

good music choice, it could use a bit more variation

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Interesting concept, but feels kinda repetitive. I thnk adding different enemies and attack strategies would make it better.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:45pm

The graphics and sound work well together. I really like the magician. The game needs more variety though, maybe a couple more different ennemies ? Just making them bigger and giving them a sightly different pattern ?

I would hav eliked an option to interrupt your attack as well, it was sometimes a bit frustrating to see the attack coming and not be able to answer.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22pm

We would have loved to put more enemies and attacks in this game but unfortunately they were drawn up but had not enough time animate it :(. Thanks for the feedback though :) (Summer)

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Interesting idea, good mood ;)

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:46pm

A good start but needs more variety.

webadev says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Interesting concept, but too repetitive and hard after +- 150

SigmanZero says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:42am

I liked the concept a lot, and it seems like something you could easily add more variation to and keep building on.

randomhuman says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Pretty cool once you get into it, it's almost like a rhythm game! There is a bit of a problem with the enemies being able to attack while your attack is in progress, which is a bit unfair I think. Interesting idea though, and well executed otherwise.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:54pm

I missed so many times... Nice game! I liked the graphics and the integration of the music, good use of Unity, animations and stuff. Would have liked some progression tho, the casting arrow going faster, the enemies attacking more often...

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:59pm

I like the graphics, but I just can't kill the beast.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:00pm

A very tight concept - I can see the polish you've put into this!

I think a fun way to take this further is for an attack to still come out if you've made at least one Hit in a rotation without missing, but what you turn into changes based on how many Hits and Misses you got.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]