Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Lucy's Adventure

by TP2k - Compo Entry

The Web build is experimental and may be laggy, download the game for your platform for the best experience.

Find the exit to proceed to the next level, transform between 3 different shapes each with their own abilities and handicaps to help you on your way.

Controls:

Left: A or left cursor
Right: D or right cursor
Jump: space
Menu: Esc
Reset: R

Lack of levels are due to a new member of the home, Lucy the Puppy, requiring lots of attention. Therefore this game is named after her. See tried to help me write the game, I hope this doesn't disqualify me for the compo. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#256Theme3.68
#501Humor2.11
#570Fun2.97
#591Overall3.06
#686Mood2.55
#757Innovation2.61
#828Graphics2.26

Comments

seitnerk says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:57pm

my dog can play better!
link dosnt work.

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

Thanks for the heads up seitnerk. Helps if I actually set the page to published!

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31am

Nice entry man! Interesting level desing and shape states!

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38am

Nice puzzle game! I can imagine playing this on mobile would be cool. :)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14am

Nice game, well made levels. Good job!

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06pm

cool dog :D

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Nice game, one of the better 'change the player shape' ones I've played

Doesn't work in Safari, you appear to call console.error with undefined and it
doesn't like it

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22pm

This was neat, mouse controls and r to reset didn't work for me, though. I played it in chrome. Nice job!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Nice game, simple and well implemented, and a nice dog as well.

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Couldn't play past 0-3 in the web build. The water cutely reminds me of minecraft! Overall nice game!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:56pm

The web version worked fine for me with Chrome and keyboard controls. This is a really solid platformer with precision jumping and very well thought out levels. The difficulty ramps up at just the right pace, until level 1-1 at which point I gave up due to a jump that was more luck than skill. I really enjoyed playing though and would love to see this developed further. Well done! :)

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Interesting try at the shape change game. I thought it was going to be a puzzle based game from the first few levels instead of the precision platformer. I wasn't really a fan of how the later levels demand that you know what's going to happen ahead of time, it felt very player hostile. But overall it was still pretty fun.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Nice game... until 1-1 and 1-2! They were just so frustrating with the surprise deaths, especially when 1-1 had such a hard start to it. Still... enjoyable overall!

lkr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:46pm

Cool use of different player abilities and physics. Difficulty ramped up quickly from 1-0 and on, but I'd still have liked to see more levels :)

Found a small level bug in 1-0. If you press against the right wall in the screenshot on the left, you turn into the red box for no apparent reason as seen on the next.
http://i.imgur.com/RJDIXcy.jpg

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Simple mechanic but explored well in the levels! I got a little frustrated with the timing needed in 1-1, though, but still very fun overall.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Nice puzzles, got pretty challenging! Well done dog

tanjent says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:38pm

didn't see the pictures of the dog at first, but that's just fishing for extra scorez, so you get a bit of boost for that, u cheater 8) Good idea and nice level design. I like that you have to balance between the shapes. Got to a bug that I couldn't reset the level with R, seemed like the game just hung.

PixelRetro says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:55am

Solid platformer, but some levels are frustrating, because your only way to find out how to overcome certain obstacles is to die, for instance, at the end of the last level you have to be a square, but when you find that out, it's too late and you have to play the whole level again.
Checkpoints would make this acceptable.

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Nice! Reminds me of an old nokia game that I used to play very often :)

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:05am

I couldn't get past 0-2. I'd turn into the blue triangle, couldn't get on top of the platform, and would reset the level any time I touched water.

randomhuman says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Really good gameplay here. I think what I like the most about this game is how each shape provides both an ability and a weakness, and this is used really well when the square transform tiles are used as a barrier, for example.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]