Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Cargo Shift

by DesignerNap - Compo Entry

You are working THE CARGO SHIFT

IT is your job to load up the cargo ships quickly before they leave for other systems. Use either gamepad or mouse and keyboard.

This one came in hot so I think I may well be fixing a few minor issues post deadline so bear with me on updates!

Quick Note as a couple of people have asked. This is a SOLO 48 HOUR ENTRY.
The logo at the beginning is because three of us did solo jam's in the same house and wanted to reflect that. Check out their games if you are interested!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=44691

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=85020

***UPDATE***

10am GMT 18/04/2016
Found that the game over screen is not triggering, just fixed the level pointer now. rebuilding and uploading V3. Please stand by!

10:45am GMT 18/04/2016
New version uploading after critical crash bug found and UI was not updating. Quick fixes that I should have spotted at 2am!

11:46am GMT 18/04/2016
New version V3 Uploaded

20:18pm GMT 18/04/2016
Source file added. Bugs still present - Sometimes the ship doesn't leave and hollow containers remain behind. no idea how to fix this :(

10PM GMT 18/04-2016
I have no Mac or Visual Studio so cannot make non windows versions.
Tried to build an HTML version but failed with lots of errors.
V4 uploaded now with fatal crash bug fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#61Audio3.74
#109Mood3.61
#201Graphics3.62
#235Innovation3.50
#352Overall3.34
#675Fun2.82
#754Theme2.87

Comments

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:04pm

I enjoyed this - the music is great, it has a lovely chilled atmosphere, and I didn't suck at it!

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Hey man, i read your comment on my game pong, i would appreciate it if you could add another comment on my game with your resolution, mine is 1920x1080(16:9) so that i can fix the issue :)

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Love the atmosphere of this game.

I might be a bit obtuse, but I've had some troubles understanding what I had to do to load the cargo. It took me a bit to get used to the controls.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:51pm

The game is good, nice work specially music was bit awsome .Its fun playing with cargo :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Thanks Mayank! And to Tanis, yeah I know what you mean. I had planned a soft intro with no timer and easy ways to learn the controls... but ran out of time. Barely made it work to be honest!
thanks for the feedback though

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Nice, feels very zen.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06pm

all my floating cargo got pushed away by the next ship :) that is very inconsiderate. I will be filing a formal complaint with the Space Dock Workers 736.

StianTheDark says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

No Linux version - can't play.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Hijomo! those poor cargo pilots are only doing their job! don't get the unions involved AGAIN or we are gonna have to re-address those deep space working hours contracts...

BloodJohn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Great atmosphere, fun controls - floating pieces give pleasure

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:06pm

no OSX nor Web

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Great game DesignerNap! Very chilled out. "Some" cargo may have gotten lost under my watch. Some might even say too much.

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Excellent, really addictive

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Very cool. I love the music and graphics. Good job!

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Hey man i fixed the issue i think with the resolution, somebody else pretty much gave me a quick fix for it :)(from the pong game)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Great mood, the slowly floating cargo is fun to watch, music was cool.

wissuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:04pm

It sounds so Space! Really like how this one came together, who thought playing a space post man would be such a good idea? :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Really nice gravity affect and details on the objects! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/jRtyhvCwxto

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:17am

This game is awesome! I really like your take on shapeshifting.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:14am

Great Game:)

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:18pm

The music and atmosphere i really great. But it is really difficult to get the cargo to stuck the rocket.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Once I figured out how it worked (not intuitive) I found it pretty easy. I liked the looks and the music, but the gameplay wasn't super compelling. I felt that perhaps using a combination of WASD and the arrow keys would work better than the mouse, since I kept wanting to use A and D to turn around the ship. Lack of depth perception was sometimes a problem, perhasp some kind of tracer would help with that.

Neat idea, good atmosphere (ironically :p)

James Coote says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Interesting idea. I don't think it quite achieved the sense of quickly trying to work out where this or that shape fitted and getting really fast and efficient at it.

I think the cargo boxes move just a bit too slowly to make me feel like "oh yeah really nailed that final cargo at the last possible second!" (Maybe you could even just spawn them closer to the ship).

Might also have benefited from having lots more anchor points all over the ship, not all of which might necessarily be used and/or where one cargo box might cover more than one anchor point. But if you miss when aiming, you end up on slightly the wrong one, and that then messes up your plans (like in a car park when someone parks too close to the edge of the space and then everyone else still needs a gap to get out of their cars and then the whole row gets shifted across and it's all a mess).

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:30am

I didn't get the puzzle mechanic of it. Just point at the red dots and press the right trigger?

Anyways, other than that I had a fun time doing it. What got me to stick around for so long was the mood and the graphics! The soundtrack really made the mood.

Paulgami says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:15am

Hatracks! In! Space!

It's pleasant to play with nice art and music, but it could probably use a bit more depth.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:30pm

The music is fantastic, but it seemed to chill me out so much I would ignore the timer for the ship departing! So many poor little pieces of cargo were shot violently into space as a result.

A very unique concept indeed, though it did confuse me a little when the nodes for cargo were facing up/down in a confined space, but I got it :)

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Great music! Really atmospheric, and the fact that the game takes place on space makes it fit really well.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Wow, the mood is really great. The music plays a big part in this. Missing sound effects fit the space theme well. I really loved watching the packages slowly float in position.

The actual game part could have been a bit tighter as to provide more of a challenge that is steadily increasing in difficulty.

As a prototype it's really great though and I can see it as the basis of a more complex game. Great job!

Catmoo says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:56pm

I loved the music worked so well and was a nice chilled out atmosphere. I also like to feel I got so good at it!

Worked really well and I loved the extra challenge when there were three in a small space.

Execution as always Gary was great! really felt like it worked together well, felt well space!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]