Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Soulbound

by OysterKLAN - Jam Entry

Transform between a small child and a violent monster, and in doing so instantly switch the world between night and day. Explore magical forests in the daytime, and dangerous moonlit woods by night. Travel through a feature-complete vertical-slice of a distant wondrous land in search of anything that may let the child and the monster break the curse that binds them together.

Tools used:
- Unity
- Aseprite
- Pyxel Edit
- Visual Studio

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Graphics(Jam)4.43
#222Overall(Jam)3.61
#238Theme(Jam)3.73
#302Mood(Jam)3.41
#329Fun(Jam)3.37
#495Humor(Jam)2.53
#572Innovation(Jam)3.02
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:06pm

I have a 404 error for the windows link...

QuexD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Windows Download does not work.

siryakko says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:17pm

Wow the art are so nice. Clever idea about the Theme, really dig the ambiance and the mechanics. thanks

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:35pm

wow, beautiful art! please update the link! ;)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16pm

The windows download link is a 404, sorry buddy!

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35pm

windows download link doesn't work :(

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:28pm

I really liked the art and animations, but I did notice the graphics could be a little glitchy

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:07pm

me too

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:11pm

beautiful game!

sylveax says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Well, just judging from the art, the game looks great. however, the download link still seems broken. sorry mate

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Fix the link man, I want to play this. It looks beautiful.

Quique says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Windows version returns 404

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:46pm

i don't know how you created that art, but it looks so nice.

Headmade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Very nice graphics! I love the subtle effects when shapeshifting. Great animations, too.

Sound would have added so much to the game, it's a shame it's missing, especially considering this is a jam game and you could have just used stock stuff.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:08pm

I love the art! Some of the movement was a little fast so controls could be hard at times but otherwise great

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Loved those animations! I also laughed when i stole the thingy and was cursed. Nicely done =D

tasteless says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:51pm

That is bad-ass man. loved it!

Jungle says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Beautiful Graphics and the shapeshiffiting morph animation very cool! Congratulations! ^^

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Hey guys, thanks for your comments so far, we really appreciate it. The Windows link should work now, as well as a few bug fixes.

aegypticus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:24am

Man those pixels are beautiful! Great job. Loved the animation of the transformation between human and beast!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:58am

Really nice pixel art there, but I couldn't hear any sounds. Turning into a beast is always cool though! :D Awesome work! :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59am

Really nice pixel art there, but I miss the sounds. Turning into a beast is always cool though! :D I hope there'll be a postcompo version with music and all. Awesome work! :)

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37am

Great game - I love the shapeshifting.

ekx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Loved it. Amazing art work. Could become a really great game with more content and better combat.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Nice! Triggered some Flashback... ^^
Pixel size differences is my only complaint !

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:37pm

really a cool artwork... good jump and run mechanics... sometimes the collsions seems to be a little glitchy but this is not really a problem... but the best thing is, that curse thing... good idea to involve the environment into it... very nice job... I didn not hera any sounds... maybe i had the boxes turned of... but if there areen't any... you should put some sounds into it to bring the game more to life... great Job! Good Game

sylveax says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Nice game, nice looking, fun to play. I was sad it was over so fast. the only problem is that half of the text is outside of the window

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:40pm

The art and visuals are amazing. The gameplay concept is good too. Overall a fun game.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:11am

Superb art, though the gameplay felt very rough around the edges. Solid entry.

nextreality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:09am

So far this is the best game I have played so far, very nice graphics interesting platforming (especially with the use of the transformation), and extreme polish. I really liked this game, great job guys!

pss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Nice! Lovely graphics and really smooth transition animation between the shapes.

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Awesome Animation really cool

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Man the pixel art is great, you should do the background less bright so it doesn't distract you from the player, but hey the game was cool, and the transition from human to monster is awesome, congrats!

arzi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Nice work with the pixel art and sprite animations! Looks very pretty with the consistent color palettes and art style.

Directional controls felt a bit too sensitive as the shapeshifted gorilla character really easily overshoots a tiny platform - I thought that the momentum felt a bit jerky. Overall really good effort with the art and nice level design. Shame that there were no sounds.

JoseArias says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Great job. Nice pixel art!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:07am

Nice graphics and animation. Enjoyed it allot. Thanks for that.

The Vall says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:28am

Enjoyed the art. Really like how everything went dark and the flowers closed when you shapeshifted. Nice work on this :)

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:24am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

gamercomposer says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:19am

I played your game and love it so much! I would love to do music and SFX for this! I really want to do this! I have a theme and sounds already made for what I think would fit. Send me your email so I can send you the audio :) Please

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Hey @gamercomposer, get in touch with me via PM on mah twittah: @Treeboater and we can sort things out there!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:42pm

One the beautifull game of the jam ! Beautifull pixel art ! :) I miss the music ..

derr says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Simply beautiful game. I loved how the nature changed with your forms. Reminded me of the new take on Giana Sisters. Great entry!

plko says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:04pm

To be continued...

SpringCabal says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Fantastic animation and level design! The lack of audio really hurt it thought, I feel it was fairly dull due to the quiet and well, platformers are not my thing. Maybe for the placer to stop to transform so the transformation animation doesn't look as odd mid air?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]