Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spinstar

by Gamepopper - Compo Entry

This is a game of lasting as long as possible in each level, absorbing bullets that match your colour, and dodging ones that don't.

LEFT/RIGHT - Move left and right around the stage.

Q/E - Change forms, one form is quicker but large, while the other is slower but smaller.

W - Change colours, important for absorbing bullets.

NOTE: I have changed the Web build from HTML5 to Flash for performance reasons. Numerous people have complained of major slowdowns that only occur in the HTML5 build. The Flash build is exactly the same as both the HTML5 and Windows version, but performs much more smoothly. Just make sure to click on the game screen to enable input before playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#264Fun3.41
#317Audio3.01
#323Graphics3.35
#352Overall3.34
#485Mood2.91
#492Humor2.13
#495Innovation3.06
#531Theme3.27

Comments

sanojian says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:46pm

The web version seemed to hang on me after I died and restarted.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Web version occasionally grinds to a wonderful 1FPS halt.

Trying the downloaded version...
Muuuuch smoother.

Pretty simple, but effective. You weren't kidding when you named it hard mode, goddamn this is like super hexagon but harder.

zwrawr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Web version must be running 1fps or lower for me :/

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:50pm

10/10

zwrawr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Web version must be running 1fps or lower for me :/

mar3k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

The web version is not playable, I have like 1 FPS. But the PC version works, just fine, cool game, harder than I thought

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Alot of fun, but the web version(at least) started lagging and became unplayable after one round. (refresh didn't help) Otherwise fun :)

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:32pm

I also has the trouble other commenter had with the web version dropping to unplayable FPS. After downloading the Windows version it seemed to work fine.

A different take on standard bullet hell games. I died so many times before getting a grasp of switching colours to absorb the bullets (playing on Medium)! I like how there are so many different pattern of bullet shooting - it keeps the challenge level continually high.

I survived for just over 30 seconds on medium. :)

Ibzy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Love it. If you could port to mobile you'd have an instant hit!

My disappointing lack of skill meant that even Easy proved a bit too tricky for me, and Hard was both nerve racking and hilariously difficult.

Nice 8-bit music and sound to go with it, which nicely compliments the graphics style.

Good job - and glad you fixed the web version for people :)

gnerkus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

This was so much fun to play! Thanks.

The web version worked well for me. I played the game in the Safari web browser.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Well done, really engaging and relatively hard game. Managing both form and color is tricky sometimes.

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Very fun to play, definitely hard in hard mode. Very well done and entertaining. Grats!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:51pm

I like the simple mechanic that made a hard game! congrats!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Funny and polished game. I specially like how you managed to work the shapeshifting theme.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Nice, cool game, plays and looks great

Klaas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Oh man! This is surprisingly difficult!

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Gameplay is pretty fun, but a bit too hard for me. I had a few strange graphical glitches playing on the web build, only a quater of the background showed up and the first time I played the game didn't register my directional arrow presses. Otherwise, really well presented and polished, and bang on the theme. Nice one!

GFM says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Nice game!
I really liked the idea and music is pretty good!

However, I found the inputs terrible...
Since you used global orientation, instead of local, the ship rarely moves in the direction that I want it to go. It gets even worse since this is a bullet hell, and any split second wasted thinking about what to press to move away from the bullet might mean your defeat...

yuigoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:48am

I didn't have problems with the previous web version (I played a little, though, before going for the Windows version).

Anyway, about the game: this is quite challenging and fun! I love games with this CW/CCW spinning type of control (or whatever this style is called). The shapeshifting ship, together with the color matching/bullet hell mechanics, add even more challenge to the game! Also, the controls are pretty responsive and quick!

The graphics, the overall style of the game, gave me that delicious retro arcade feeling with, somehow, a "smooth" touch. :P Can't explain it that well, but it's a good feeling, I'm sure! :)

And the sfx and soundtrack also contribute a lot to the mood and charm. The minimalistic 8-bit style and the construction of the songs are pretty well balanced within the game, in my opinion. One song for each difficulty is something that I really like too, as they give each level a nice identity, in the same way it was done in games like Hexagon. :)

Great entry! Really great! :D

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Fun game man! Really simple mechanic but it just works so well. Admittedly hard is so hard haha also the beeping noise is a bit annoying after a while :P Really nice polished game

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Very cool game, plays like a mashup of ikaruga and tempest, and is just as challenging!

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Interesting idea; it was a lot more challenging than it looks!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Simple concept but it is fun to play. Some kind of visual indicator or what color is going to pop up would be nice. Not much of a window for reaction once it shoots if you want to collect it or not.

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56pm

+1 for haxe and ikaruga, 2 things i like :)

Saiodin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:22pm

I played the web version and the performance was fine for me. But I see you have apparently fixed that problem. I like the game, it is very engaging and involves quick thinking. The graphics are nice. I would like some kind of power-ups or something tho to keep me interested, since dying (in one shot) means to simply start over.

ziege says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:56am

It's fun, but the shoot sound kinda hurts me ears :-).

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20pm

cool and intresting little game! :D

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Pretty hard but fun at the same time. I loved the whole risk/reward mechanic of whether to dodge the bullets or absorb the ones that match your colour.

01101101 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Nicely done, the game plays well and is pretty fun. Good job :)

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Well done. Great music! But these kind of games are not for me. I get mixed too easily.

Falak says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:39pm

ooo addictive!!! Cool game^^

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Pretty tough! I didn't find changing shape very useful but the colour-changing mechanic saw great use. I really liked the rotating stars and the fact that the boss has multiple stages!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Fun, hard high score chaser. The enemy "boss" has different phases, which is nice. Very enjoyable!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I came here after watching your timelapse which was super interesting. The game is awesome too. Challenging but good. Fits the theme well. Some sound sound effects for collecting the balls would have been nice.

My only complaint would be that the collision detection could be a bit more precise. Overall a challenging and fun game.

I see you also used chronolapse for your timelapse, but somehow yours seems to be much more fascinating than mine. Probably because I spent most of my time in Visual Studio ;)

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:55am

When I saw @FloatingGhost compare this to Super Hexagon I knew I had to play it! Fun game. Cool timelapse too, I like how you show what the game looked like in real time in the corner.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Great but really challenging! I watched people playing these on twitch but this is a very different experience if you play it yourself. Good job

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:46am

Solid entry. Also very challenging, definitely not the type of game I'm good at ^^' The choice of using Q/W/E isn't that great btw, for people with an AZERTY keyboard (like me) the keys aren't all in one row... A better choice would be X/C/V ;)

Anyway, it's still a nice game so good job!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:26pm

A fun mixture of puzzle and dodge-em-up which offers a good level of challenge. I didn't get very far, but had a lot of fun trying. If the colours had been swapped for shapes I think this would have matched the theme better, but the graphics and audio made this special. Well done! :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:51am

Felt a little too hard, but with a bit of work it could be a really promising bullet hell.

I played this briefly on stream @ 1:22:30: http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:54am

I really liked the music (and that there are different tunes for each mode)

Hard mode is actually hard, and easy is actually easy once you get the hang - the difficulty is well calibrated

Like others said, it could be interesting to play this using an accelerometer for input :)

docteurSid says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Nice game (fluid on firefox / linux)

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Flash version really chugs but love the game on Windows

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:04pm

I like the idea but the game needs something more for don't be a bit repetitive. Good work, the game is very funny!

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:13am

Tricky, I had fun playing it. Took a few tries to get the hang of it. There didn't seem to be much advantage in changing shape. And even changing color felt optional, like if I really wanted to get as many bullets as I could, but mostly I just tried to dodge, since that seemed to be safest, and so I lasted a while. You probably need some mechanic to counter the "just dodge everything" mechanic, like make it compulsory to pick up bullets or you run out of energy or something. Then it'd be tight!

tomlum says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Very cool to have two different kinds of transformations, made for some interesting combinations and gameplay.

May 2, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Nice looking, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

CtrlAltTea says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Great idea! It's a bit hard for a butterfingers like me, but that's another story. Nice retro feel thanks to the sound design!

MrMordem says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:44am

I liked the concept, and its really nice to have put a difficulty select on the game, well done :)

May 4, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Nice game! The only critique I have is that for a sound made constantly, the shooting sound is a little harsh, but that didn't stop me playing it quite a bit. Thanks!

methylenblub says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:41pm

really nice game, cool graphics and nice music!

wg_phancock says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:13am

Always nice to see some Haxeflixel in use! Pretty fun game, and great job on the difficulties. I feel like it needs one more mechanic to fully flesh it out though; I'd say I'd probably add something requiring you to absorb the bullets to stay alive, refilling an energy bar or something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]