Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

by Eshford - Compo Entry

[KEYBOARD CONTROLS]

ARROW LEFT / RIGHT ------- MOVEMENT
ARROW UP ----------------- JUMP
ARROW DOWN --------------- SHIELD
SPACEBAR ----------------- FIRE
L / R SHIFT -------------- DASH


[GAMEPAD CONTROLS]

D-PAD OR LEFT STICK ------ MOVEMENT
A ------------------------ JUMP
LB ----------------------- SHIELD
RB ----------------------- FIRE
LT / RT ------------------ DASH


SPECIAL THANKS
@managore for the m5x7 pixel font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#4Graphics4.66
#31Overall4.00
#36Audio3.96
#57Mood3.78
#89Fun3.78
#431Innovation3.16
#683Theme3.00

Comments

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Graphically pretty, nice animations and exciting, suitable music. Fast paced action and a simple goal.

I struggled a little with the controls on keyboard, using the shifts felt awkward with the other keys though I've got these tiny hands ;) I found myself wanting to bind the dash to A and D or something so I could control dashing entirely with the firing hand instead of dividing it between the firing hand and the movement/shielding hand.

However the controller controls feel great and aiming is a lot easier.

This is a very good entry, great work!

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Oh, why can't we edit comments? I meant Q and E rather than A and D. But yeah, I loved it :)

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:01am

Many thanks for feedback. I will make changeable controls in post-compo version! :)

danbolt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13am

Glad to see that you did the Compo once more! :)

The shielding/dodging reminds me of Dark Souls a lot, and that makes me happy. The cage-y mechanics are always neat to explore, and I feel like I learned each time I played the game. The element of progression was nice in that regard.

I got a bit frustrated initially that I couldn't aim in any direction, but after a while I realized that wasn't quite what the game was going for and I enjoyed things more after that.

Otherwise, lots of fun. I enjoyed it!

danbolt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14am

Oh, also, on my Xbox 360 gamepad, I couldn't press A or Start to get past the game over screen. I had to use they keyboard's enter key instead. Maybe that was just me though!

TideS says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01am

Liked the graphics, however i had to use my third arm to play it o_0

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Amazing work, man!

Love the retro graphics, the music and the scanlines!

Theme usage was low, though.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Graphics is AMASING!
Unfortunately, 2hard4me. :P

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Nice game. Graphics are cool, and it is funny. Reminds me somewhat to Touhou in a good way

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16pm

nice retro style! reminds me of the good old times :D

Madball says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Well, that was fun while it lasted. The music is great. I also liked the weapon: when you stand still, it shoots more bullets. The only downside of this game is no replayability, once you learn the fire pattern it becomes easy. Well, controls get some tries to get used to, too.

Speaking of controls, why would you even want to jump in this game? You can't even fire mid-air. I use the Up key all the time to fire upwards, and it's annoying to make a tiny hop each time you accidentally press Up before Spacebar.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Cool and hard game

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:24pm

The controls were definitely awkward but everything else about this entry is great! Love the pixel art.

Bacontree says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Nice style!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:36pm

I can't praise this game enough. As a sucker for pixel art, you pretty much nailed it with the flowing animations and cool tech design. The difficulty is hefty, but the game kept me motivated throughout. This is bited-sized fun on a very high level. My overall LD35 favorite so far.

The only issue I have are the controls. Let me elaborate:

- I found the jumping served no purpose because it wasn't possible to fire at the same time. Air-sliding is possible but I didn't see any advantage.

- The combination of up+left for firing up was not assigned, so I couldn't use that although it would have been more intuitive.

- It is not possible to slide while firing, which could be pretty useful. I don't mean to slide and fire at the same time but to have the slide command override the fire command so I can slide without letting go of the fire button

- I would recommend a different control scheme which I think may be a bit tighter (with YXCV keys I mean the ones on the lower left on the keyboard which may be different depending on locale):

* Arrow Keys: Move left/right, aim up/down
* Y: Fire
* X: Jump (allows jumping while firing)
* C: Slide backwards (instead of two keys for sliding)
* V: Block

This allows to keep the Fire button pressed and have the slide and block function interrupt firing as long as they are active.

Please let me know what you think about this scheme.

- finally the game over screen takes a long time to disappear. It's possible to speed that up by pressing ESC but any key should do the same.

Please don't get me wrong, I love the game and you got the highest score I have given in this competition so far, I just feel the controls stick out as being less streamlined than the rest of the game.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Beautiful pixel art, incredibly smooth gameplay and really kicking music. I played using the gamepad and it took me three times to beat that boss (the second time I defeated it just as the time ran out and I died).

My only complaint is that it's a bit irritating that your aim is only limited to forward and up-diagonal, I would have liked it if you could aim directly upwards as well.

Fullscreen didn't work for me, but I think that's an issue with GameMaker.

Eshford says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Thank you all guys for the feedback and comments! I really appreciete it.

@Madball yeah, jumps are useless, the reason being is that first concepts of the game had moving platforms and other elements for more 'platforming' style of gameplay, but I did not do it since I wasted too much time on the graphics.

@Cerno_b huge thanks for the detailed feedback. I will add customizable controls in the post-compo version. Controls are kinda weird now because I knew I had no time for making customizable controls feature so controls would work with all of region-specific keyboards; allowing the player to slide while firing is a great idea, many thanks! I think movement mechanics need to be reworked a bit. I'll take your advice and fix all the stuff asap. THANKS! <3

@Gamepopper thanks, i'll fix scale/fullscreen mode bug in the post-compo version

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21am

This game definitely looks pretty, and the animations are nice and slick. Those bullet hell-esque firing animation sequences are pretty.

I did feel that the aiming controls were a tad restrictive though. Good game overall though! If you continue the game after LD, more levels would definitely add to the experience!

misson20000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:21am

I was looking forward to playing this, but I get vertex shader compilation errors running under wine :(

http://pastebin.com/LPe0HDJK

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Really beautiful, challenging, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/jRtyhvCwxto

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Looks great and had fun playing it. But it somehow felt weird not beeing able to shoot while jumping.

Suddenlyzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Awesome game. Art, and mechanics and music are stellar. And I love the setting (though is the shape shifter supposed to be the cor thing?) and the idea of just playing an epic last stand. The controls could be tightened a bit and the dashes were a little inconveniently mapped, but overall really fun.

CrazY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:23pm

I feel its too hard

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Awesome graphics and audio, but the controls are really akward, rebindable keys would help a lot here.

other than that good job !

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Stuning artwork, reminded my child days playing Contra! Gameplay very well executed! Well done! :D

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Godamn, this game is hard but SO GOOD
Keyboard controls are hella hard, but man the feel of the game is great. It's super simple but so well done you really want to go back and beat this thing

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:00am

Very aesthetically pleasing, nice color palette, enemy & character designs and animation. The shield mechanic was a nice touch as well.

The thing that stood out to me as really well done was the elaborate attack formations of the boss enemy - that was awesome. I also really liked the scan-lines option, that was a nice touch.

I didn't get too far (this is exactly the style of game I happen to be horrible at), but I still enjoyed it. Great work, thanks for sharing!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:01am

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH I LOVE IT! Very challenging! I was able to beat it after about 3 tries. Thanks for adding controller support! Love the scanlines effect and the overall look/feel of everything. Implementation of theme wasn't very unique but maaaaaaaaaan this game is smooth and tons of fun. Great entry!

davidB says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:52pm

well executed, nice gfx and audio. But too hard for my skill.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Pssst - You've been featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out at - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHOU0btz7g4

Strike says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:51am

Very well executed. Just a very little regret here is that I cannot shoot and move at the same time. But except that this game is really awesome.

alfie275 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:22am

Great game, took me a few tries to beat it :)
Love the art style and music, though it is maybe a bit short (more stages to boss might have been more fun).

Lagoe says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Really a nice game! I really love the graphics.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Lovely game. I'm very bad at these types of games, so I wasn't able to finish it, sadly. I was in love with the graphics though, and the scanlines option was cool!

I also uploaded a video of your game on YouTube!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdzPYdF6HAw

Kuupu says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Awesome graphics and feel on general.

Controls are kind of hard, I don't know... the controls are more challenging than the game itself, get it?

With a smoothest controls this game will be perfect! :D

runvs says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Very nice entry! The controls feel not that direct, but you get used to it. It's quite hard, but thats more "challenging"
Well executed!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:56am

Nice work! Plan out your player mechanics a little bit more next time ;)

Cerno_b says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Just came back to let you know that after rating almost 100 games, I have to say that yours is my favorite compo entry of LD35. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]