Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Jelly Blaster

by adcrusher - Compo Entry

Protect your Jelly friends in SUPER JELLY BLASTER!

Play through masterfully crafted levels!

Become fully immersed in a fully open ended world!

Experience heart wrenching storytelling!

Get some tissues ready because there won't be a dry eye in the house when you're through with SUPER JELLY BLASTER!


Controls:
Arrow keys to move cursor

Hold x to pick up and move a jelly block

Release X to drop a jelly block

Coded in GameMaker
Artwork made with GraphicsGale
Music made with Milkytracker
Sound effects made with SFXR


Have fun! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#62Graphics4.10
#72Audio3.70
#99Overall3.76
#155Mood3.43
#169Humor3.06
#203Fun3.51
#232Innovation3.51
#766Theme2.85

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:45am

Love the unique time based mechanic. Bit hard and I didn't see how it fit into the theme, though.

urfbound says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48am

One of the funnest LD games I've played! The graphics are stellar from the cursor right down to the font; I love the retro arcade vibe. The instructions are really helpful and capture that old-school arcade vibe as well. The gameplay itself is original and fun. It has a couple of cool touches that I like, for example the fact that you can't drag a jelly over an existing one, and that you can continue from the same level you lost on. The music is great to boot. If there was one thing I would change, it would be to add some features that make it conform to the theme a little better. I get that it would take more time, but one idea I had would be to maybe make it so that combining groups of jellies would make them into new, larger jellies with different properties. Maybe half metal and half regular makes wooden jellies, which can take one hit and then turn into regular ones again. Overall a rockin' game! I had a blast playing it. What a great job for a two-day submission! Thanks for sending it in, hope you do great in the compo :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

Pretty damn hard, but beautiful aesthetics and sound. Excellent work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

Pretty damn hard, but beautiful aesthetics and sound. Excellent work!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Quite difficult, nice pixel art!

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

I really loved this one! The graphics and sounds were clean! The only problem was that it barely fit the theme...

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

Very complete and good looking game. The mechanics is very well made.
Might be nice to have an indicator of how much time you got left.

torcado says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:45am

really interesting! Nice take on the theme too, shifting shapes... heh
but yeah the art and music are amazing!
nice job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14am

I've had so much fun on playing this game, really challenging gameplay with awesome retro graphics. Really fits well with the theme. Thumbs up on this!

iSasFTW says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Super hard and addictive. It's so much fun though. I love the sound and graphics, and it's a really cool game. Too bad it isn't really related to the theme (Unless there's something more to it in the later stages) but if you had that mechanic (at least in the beginning if there is one) it would have been phenomenal! Overall, a great game!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Fantastic. Good lateral use of theme. Polished and playable. Is a little bit difficult.

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Cool game mechanic. Solid puzzler and great graphics ;)

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:51am

I liked the gameplay (though it was pretty hard), and the graphics were pretty nice, overall pretty good, maybe give a little more time to move those little jellies!

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:54am

Well polished game, but all the fast arrow pressing let me kinda cold. Maybe with a limited amount of moves?

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:55am

Loved the sounds and graphics. Mouse control might have made it a little bit easier to play, but I enjoyed it.

Tacohej says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:21am

Love everything about visuals and audio. The problem I had with this game is the gamplay. It's all about solving puzzles fast, but since it basically impossible to make a level on the first try, it loses the whole puzzle aspect and suddenly your just a block trying to move around as fast as you can. Instead of having you play enough times to memorize all the moves, you could actually get a chance solving the puzzle by playing the level.

Anyway, that's just a opinion. Good luck!

t4u says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:17am

Liked the graphic. Like the idea but is too strongly based on reflex and not enough on puzzle.

avinashd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:32pm

A lot of the games I really loved were the simple ones, including this one :)

Ellian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:32am

I had fun playing this, and the graphics are great. Kind of slow, but apparently bug free and easy to control.
Solid entry!

jakass says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Great Idea!!!

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Absolutely one of the best games I've played.

Cerberus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:13am

i loved your game. the controls were smooth, the gameplay and mechanics where the best. i had a lot of fun playing it. superb work!

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:49am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

adcrusher says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Sure! I have uploaded the game here:
http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/super-jelly-blaster
Thanks :D

gelisam says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:08am

The sound is great, except there's one sound between levels which was sometimes annoyingly loud, so I had to turn it off :(

May 10, 2016 @ 12:12am

Pretty difficult, but I liked the look and feel of it.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:12am

Super polished! It felt like a legit game for the super nintendo. Great concept and very challenging. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]