Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Xenoshift

by meek - Jam Entry

Xenoshift Is classic top-down game, where 4 crew members have boarded a ship that's host to a Shapeshifting alien. The alien has the ability to morph into any inanimate object on the ship.

It's up to you to find the Alien before the ship self-destructs.

GOOD LUCK.


CONTROLS:

WASD = Move
Shift(Hold) = Walk
Left Click (Hold) = Charge/Shoot Laser

Art/Programming by Sonny Meek
Design/Programming by Dean Foster
Audio by Ben Ridge (http://www.ben-ridge.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Audio(Jam)4.25
#63Graphics(Jam)4.38
#114Mood(Jam)3.81
#136Overall(Jam)3.75
#265Fun(Jam)3.44
#320Innovation(Jam)3.31
#582Theme(Jam)3.31
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:30am

By looking at the screenshots this is by far the best game I've seen today, but I'm on a mac so I can't play =/

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36am

Pain in the ass.

I retried 5 times, and still couldn't kill the alien - even though he was always in the same room. At one point, I shot at it, it ran into a corner and disappeared, then I shot in the corner, and it attacked from behind me! It's too painful to be enjoyable, in my opinion.

I will acknowledge that the art and audio were both on point. Nice work too, putting this together in 3 days.

RanikoGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53pm

Simply Great. Really. This game is awesome: I really enjoy (and had fear xD) with the alien's hunter. Great great work, please continue with this.

Hyve says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Very nice game. A tad tough, but really fun. I was a bit confused that I hate to destroy stuff to "lure" him out, but it was none the less cool for it.

The sounds also, really nice. Little "Where the hell is it" when you're near your crew made a difference!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Graphics and sound are among the best I've seen so far this Ludum, brilliant job, it creates quite a tense mood. The game idea is also very interesting, but finding the alien felt a bit frustrating, perhaps I wasn't paying enough attention at the detector sounds.

Great job! :D

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Music created a tense mood as you stumble around almost blindly trying to find the alien and inadvertently get your face ripped off a few times in the process.

I enjoyed the game overall, though I felt that it may have made the game a little easier if you had a chance to shoot the alien when it charged at you, even if it was a slim one.

MrMordem says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:08am

Nice concept but some flaws, graphically, in terms of sound, and basic gameplay, it's really good.

However the mechanic with the motion tracker is a bit unclear, and sometimes the alien has kind of an unfair advantage, at one point i had found an object, thought its was the alien, but when i shot the alien was in fact another one separated by a wall and just passed through it to kill me :/

The game still has some great qualities, with a bit of tweaking it can be a awesome game, i really liked the Aliens feel and the marine squad representing your extra lives.

a good job overall :)

DeltaNegative says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Totally freaked out when the alien jumped... but didn't manage to beat the game even once.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really great graphics and audio. But the game is nearly impossible to win. I shot the alien several times and even destroyed the object it was hiding as only to have it continue to kill me. A few times it came out of empty corners and killed me were no objects were.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]