Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shamanic Panic

by panurge - Compo Entry

WASD or arrow keys and mouse. Mousewheel to shapeshift. F for fullscreen.

Use your shamanic powers to transform into a hare and an eagle. Potentially learn valuable life lessons in the process.

NOTE: Lots of players have said they don't like the platforming controls. Personally, I'm quite happy with them and spent a while balancing the jumping and running to my liking but the majority of players can't be wrong so I'd like to improve! What I really need is more detailed feedback so this is a plea to new players - please let me know exactly what you think could be done to make the controls more intuitive and enjoyable. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#21Humor3.98
#178Audio3.34
#302Mood3.16
#304Fun3.36
#328Graphics3.34
#387Overall3.30
#568Theme3.22
#780Innovation2.56

Comments

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:15am

I thought the strongest point of this was the humor, which was on-point. The tone was lighthearted, and I appreciated how comedic the dialogue was. The game itself is quite tricky, making it a fun (albeit challenging). I really liked the shapeshifting that was possible, each presenting a new way to get through the level. Great job!

bluszcz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Shaman deer? :) Nice to see web version. Controls are bit tricky, but game overall nice.

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:35pm

I did it!
The hare level was the most difficult for me.
The dialogue is hilarious and hooked me in there so I could see all of it.
Well done!

marod says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Nice game but the controls are a bit rude

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Very funny dialogue and good gameplay. Clever integration of the theme also. The difficulty really ramped up once you unlocked the ability to transform into the hare.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:40pm

I guess I'm not the only one with lengthy cutscenes haha :P. Great little game. That death sound made every failure not seem so bad.

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23am

Nice!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

Cool game! Storyline is nice and very funny, explanation of controls is clear. Graphics are simple and cute, and the soundtrack is great and doesn't become irritating! The only downside is that the gameplay is kind of hard, the hare encourages you to run quick, but then you have to stop every other second because you might run into one of those black things (if you CAN even stop, usually they just kill you without you being able to interfere). Great job, but the difficulty curve could use some finetuning.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:40am

I really dig the dialog. The controls are probably the weakest aspect but overall it's a nice game.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:15am

I hope I wasn't the only one that deliberately died so they could hear the death sound again...

Really enjoyed the dialogue and the music had me wanting to stay in the level a little longer so the song would continue on.

My only criticism would be the controls, I found many times I would go to hit space to jump and find myself falling and turning into pink squares.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Funny dialog, good job on the shapeshifting aspect. Well done!

tomdeal says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Very nice game! I really like the graphics and the instructor before each level. It gets really challenging with the shape shift ability. Feels a bit like doodle jump turned 90 degrees.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Nice retro pixel art and sound effects. Not completely sold on how the main character controls, especially when jumping. Fun nonetheless!

Hyden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:32pm

I agree with Aegypticus' post. Well done :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:35pm

I just love what happens with his hands when he's about to jump :)

abuzreq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:04am

That was very enlightening lol .
In the last level though you didn't need to combine everything A flying eagle is basically all you need to win any level.(maybe you might want to add a wall with a whole in the bottom that the hare only can pass through it ,Alice style :) )
another thing is if in the last level I kept firing mystical balls, I have the chance of killing quiet a lot of them even before I meet them .
is the random animal I got is really random I got a Cautious Eagle?

panurge says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:03am

@abuzreq Yes, the spirit animal is completely random! I like your idea for the last level - I'd been planning something similar to ensure that you couldn't just fly through all of it but I didn't have time to put it in. And that's a good catch about the mystic balls - I forgot to give them any range limit. Thanks!

ratking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:18am

Top-notch writing, and the gameplay is fitting too!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:43am

Only thing that bothered me was that the jump wasn't very responsive

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:30am

This is a great entry for sure. I didn't have as much of a problem with the controls as some did (I am a terrible platformer-gamer) but the Shaman jump could use some tuning. The rabbit was fun, but the randomness of the enemies meant that there wasn't a rhythm to be found, which would be fine if running and timing all of your jumps didn't feel so good. I ended up just running that level all out all of the time until the enemy timings were in just the right sync.

Characters were cute and the dialogue was fun as well!

I got hard-living dragon.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:16am

Humor is hilarious. I will be showing my friend this game for that. Game is pretty hard though, and sometimes you can get moving really fast and not have enough time to react to an enemy. The level design could use some re-designing, but the mechanics are cool, the different forms are nice a varied and using a spectacle at the end of each level really felt like it keeps the player into it. Great job!

qikcik says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:45am

Nice Game. I like pixelart :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Funny humour, the game is nice to play too. Controls a bit messy though.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Funny as always and incredible fun to play as well. The controls feels weird sometimes, but overall is a pretty nice entry!

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:19am

I rated Humor with 5 stars immideatly after first conversation with shaman. :D Really good game especially in Compo category. Neat and stylish graphics, suitable music and sounds. Good job!

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Nice entry. Well executed for a game jam. The controls could need some improvements

madmarcel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:44am

Love it, well done. Really enjoyed that game.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:12pm

The "Gyaaaauu" howl caused by falling into holes is uttely hilarious. Audio & Humor = 5/5.

Am I imagining things or is the background music dynamically generated?

Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:23am

Always love the humour and quirky nature of your games. Thought this was another entry that worked really well and the dialogue was used cleverly to add a lot of character to the game. Also turns out my spirit animal is a dignified fox, so I'm pretty happy with that.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Great game! Humorous dialogues and fun to play. The controls make it a little difficult, but I think that's a good thing.

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Much humor in this game! :) I like all the work you put in to the little man waving his arms and everything, really nice graphics. Well done!

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Much humor in this game! :) I like all the work you put in to the little man waving his arms and everything, really nice graphics. And the audio really added to the game. Well done!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Great compo entry ! This was definitely engaging and challenging in a good way, it kept me playing a long time for a jam game ! The pixel art is pretty nice, the theme is here, the audio was especially great and enhance the mood and the humor, which is already spot on. Lot of 5s there. You also did great in C2 ! (isn't it the coolest game engine for jams ;) ). Anyways, really enjoyed playing .

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:23am

Funny game, not so great controls

justacookie says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:21pm

we can see how much work went into this, but at the same time there were some design decissions that spoiled the fun a little: for example in the beginning you could just run at the floor to clear the stage and there were even levels where we didnt have to jump once. and one other negative point we found was that within a single form there was only one jump height, which is not necessarily, but this is what we would have expected from a platformer.
To the positive, the graphics were SOOO great! And we also loved the dialogue, it created a really good mood. And Overall we really enjoyed playing your game, thank you for making this :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]