Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Swine Fortress: Bacons On Strike!

by One Seed Fruit - Compo Entry

Difficult game, please learn the controls first!

Mouse / Keyboard:

-Point in a direction to herd pigs: [A] or [Left] to rotate anticlockwise, [D] or [Right] to rotate clockwise.

-You don't directly control the movements of the pigs. You just point and rotate.

-Pigs will gradually move in the pointed direction once you stop changing where you're pointing.

-Press and hold [spacebar] to stop.

-Release [spacebar] right that after to accelerate in the pointed direction.

-Move pigs to let them drink water.

-[Left-mouse-click] on a filled pig (SQUARE pig) to shoot. It becomes unfilled (TRIANGLE).

-If a filled pig (SQUARE pig) is attacked, it will release all its water and become unfilled (TRIANGLE). Filled pigs (SQUARE pigs) take no damage.

-Unfilled pigs (TRIANGLE pigs) get damaged by attacks.

-Unfilled pigs (TRIANGLE pigs) gain a bit of health from drinking water, while becoming filled (SQUARE).

-Kill anybody holding a fork and a knife. Each kill earns you 1 credit.

-[Left-mouse-click] on an empty spot left by any dead pig to recruit a new pig for 2 credits.

-The game is over when there are no more pigs left.

-If a cat manages to kill a pig, it will grow larger, making it an easier target.

Made with Godot (http://godotengine.org or http://store.steampowered.com/app/404790/).

Please also check out my Ludum Dare 35 Jam entry: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=53104 which I coded the game for Chikoness.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#131Humor3.18
#364Innovation3.26
#392Mood3.03
#407Graphics3.16
#414Audio2.81
#613Fun2.92
#704Overall2.92
#840Theme2.61

Comments

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Idea looks interesting. However controls are difficult.I can't understand where is the front pig after some rotation. So it's kind of just rotating randomly :)

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33am

Ooop, sorry! I did a little fix to the indicators. Hope that helps!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:52am

An interesting idea, had fun with it once I worked out how to properly use the controls, but that was probably my terrible reading comprehension in all honesty...

madmarcel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:26am

Like the graphics, game is quite hard though, doesn't feel like I'm in control of that herd of pigs.

sergicollado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17am

In my linux doesn't start :(

lambda- says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03am

Interesting idea, better instructions at the start would be nice, mechanic wasn't clear at first, but I liked it.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Controls are very difficult indeed. :) I managed to survive until Wave 3 but with a simpler control scheme I think I'd be able to enjoy it a lot more. The game core itself is pretty fun and the interesting formation of the pigs gives the player enough to think about. Will you drink water with the middle one or rotate towards the enemy to squirt with the ones on the corners?

Good job, but look into the control model if you want to continue with the idea. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11pm

This was challenging, cute piggy noises!

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Nice game. The rotating camera is a cool idea, I was a little disoriented at first but its add a bit of extra to the game.

Jimbly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:30pm

That was a lot of fun! Died quickly on my first game, had difficulty getting water filled up before I was overwhelmed. Second game went much better, made it quite a few waves without losing any pigs until... it crashed ^_^.

aCoupleGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Idea looks good. Controls are a bit weird. But I liked the game overall.

SpareWizard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Cool idea, the controls were a bit floaty

KristophTG says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:43pm

The game felt really chaotic and the pigs went all over the place. I don't think its necesarilly a bad thing though. Overall i think it was pretty good, kind of hard to get the hold of controls, but i liked it. Got to wave 8.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nice and fun game! Poor cats getting brutalized. :P
I believe the controls themselves were ok, I just think it should be a little more clear where the pigs are pointing, the little hand gets forgotten easily when you're focusing on the waves of cats. I also liked the sounds a lot, and the music fit the game and added to the fun. Good job!

sergicollado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Good job! It's a fun game with a fun idea .. too crazy

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Great concept.nice graphics. Mechanics could be improved.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:24am

Full marks for innovation, though it could definitely use a better introduction to the mechanics.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Funny little game!
The concept is to complex for me!
+1 for Godot Engine
Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]