Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Badassnake

by ryjcio - Jam Entry

It is my first Ludum Dare entry ever!

Huh, I respect you all so much after this hard 72 hours...

So, the idea behind this game:
Not so long ago I read the book "Little prince" written by Antoine’a de Saint-Exupéry. In this book is a sentance, that when snake ate an elephant, it looks like a hat.

So I was wondering, why so badass animal is represented in games as a vegetarian. I thought that it would be cool if a snake really ate an elephant.

So I added this concept to an old fashion snake game. When the player eats an animal, the belly of the snake grows to a size of what it ate. This makes the game more difficult and less predictible!

All assets and code are made by me. I wanted to join Compo instead of Ham, but some bugs where so annoying that I decided to go with Jam. Sweet happens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#15Humor(Jam)4.20
#100Audio(Jam)3.79
#142Fun(Jam)3.65
#213Mood(Jam)3.57
#239Overall(Jam)3.58
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#643Graphics(Jam)3.15
#933Theme(Jam)2.69

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Flawless! The game is awesome, I laughed so hard playing it.

Just minor bugs - spawning elephant near tho border and some other minor issues, but it was cool. Thank you so much!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Graphics aren't the best, but it more than made up for it with the fantastic audio and cute twist of getting fatter where it eats something.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:08pm

WHALE!

cracked me up, way to go :')

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

fun, but no innovative, not in the theme.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Nice concept, and i love how complexified the original snake ! Well done !

JoseArias says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:28pm

I loved the sounds! It was fun and the shape of the animals add an extra point of difficulty and planning.
Nice job!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Great entry for your first LD, also, welcome! Did you do the Music within the timeframe as well? I dig the VO a lot. I like the idea of the snake being larger when it ate something, though I dont know how directly it affected my playstyle.

Krammetje says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Very funny game, didn't expect the whale.
Besides the theme not really being implemented into the game, it is still enjoyable.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:38pm

There were some spawn issues, but relatively minor. All in all a really interesting take on Snake.

I thought the animals were cute.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:36pm

I laughed hard playing this! Simple game, but perfectly executed.

zookatron says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Nice! Straightforward and well done. Fun to play. Also sort of related to the shapeshifter theme... a little bit? :)

medidog says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Very funny game! I loved the animations, good work! I wish there was some sounds as well, also make sure to opt out the Audio from your ratings if you are not planning to put some.

OttersDen says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:50pm

This is an awesome spin to the old classic. And the game itself feels great! Good visuals, awesome music and sounds. Sure, sometimes the snake looks a little weird while it eats animals. But this is awesome. Great job!

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 12:35pm

DAFAQ did I just played ._. ,
its well made tho, you should try to make the snake less glitchy

danielilett says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:14pm

ELEPHAAANT! I love the humour in this game! I liked the really simple art assets - they were consistent at least. The gameplay was fun, although there were a couple of times where nothing seemed to spawn after a while (or do I mean after a whale? :p )
It's very well made - especially for your first Ludum Dare - great job on the music too! A great entry.

May 9, 2016 @ 11:52pm

ELEPHANT! WHALE! TIGER!
This is brilliant! Is that your voice?
Absolutely loved it, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]