Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shift

by CoderDozer - Compo Entry

Firstly I know, I couldn't come up with an more unimaginative name. So this is my first attempt at creating a puzzler/platformer, I must admit I normally have the IQ of a peanut when it comes to playing puzzle games so this was a break from the norm for me. The main character has the ability to shape shift to well ... other shapes. Exercising this ability is necessary to progress the levels.

Instructions are in game but movement is done with WAD or the arrow keys and SPACE allows shape shifting.

Thanks for trying my ludum dare attempt.

Notes:
Just from comments so far and other thoughts.
- hit box on the fireballs are a little larger than they should be.
- audio may not loop seamless due to mp3, but if i don't use mp3 I cant guarantee to work in internet explorer. yeah web dev is a pain.
- **Spoiler playthrough *** https://youtu.be/33dc56BAkpY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#549Audio2.38
#550Theme3.24
#592Humor1.78
#701Mood2.50
#819Fun2.53
#822Graphics2.27
#846Innovation2.35
#867Overall2.59

Comments

zacerhy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

nice entry, is it just me or are the hit boxes a bit off on the player or bullets? Seemed to die when I wasn't being hit.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

I think the game has to be at least twice as fast! That would make it more fun... But its quite cool!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Nice little puzzle platformer. A few more levels would have been great, but I still enjoyed the short time I spent on it.

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Decent little game. got stuck on the clue part however. Little clunky but overall nice work.

ezombort says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:33pm

The graphics reminded me of a game I used to play on Win 3.11 - can't remember the name :) Very clean graphics which I liked.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:42pm

I little jerky movement, maybe consider speeding things up a bit?

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Nice game! Quite addictive.

rcrmn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38pm

It was a bit slow, bullets killed you from afar and the music a bit too much repetitive. Should be faster.

shane1090 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Nice idea for a puzzle game. Felt like it was quite difficult trying to time jumps with the flames - they seemed to have a large hit box.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:05pm

The hitboxes feel a bit off but nice game overall

FanieG says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Played through all 3 levels. Did not find clue in stage 2. Just randomly jumped on blocks and change shape. Luckily got it after only 2 or 3 tries. What's the odds right? Player could have had a bit more gravity. Falling was slow, which made some of the bullet dodging unnecessarily difficult. Liked the music.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Some problems with hitboxes and it being too slow for my tasted, but a decent entry nontheless. Good job.

justacookie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:28pm

let me start of by saying im very bad at platformers, so this might just be me failing at this game. but i found it really hard! the first levels were very easy and like someone said before, i didnt find the first clues either until i saw the message "did you find the clue?" and then i found it and that was quite nice. at that stage, i was quite entertained, but then the next (and last) level was very difficult. it took me around 15 minutes to beat that one stage alone and i think i kind of cheated, too. but after so many tries i was just glad i solved that puzzle and also happy that there was no next level, because from a level design point of view the zig-zag before the double fireball (with 4 switches) part, did nothing for the level itself (except maybe frustrating the player that has to slowly move back to the passage that will determine if he has to run all the way yet again).

Overall, i would say i enjoyed this entry (and played roughly 20 min). the music was fitting and the art was self made to the best of the programmers ability. i would also say that it is a hybrid of a platformer puzzle/memory game, because it was quite challenging to remember the last combination under pressure the first few tries. the overall game speed is too slow in my opinion, it would be nice if it felt more fast paced. Also i would suggest adding just a tiny bit of juiciness* to your next game if time allows. Thank you for your entry! I hope you had an awesome time creating this game and learned something along the way :)

Finally, since this project is probably done, i just leave a web-tip for your next project and you can check it out if you like: search for "Juice it or lose it" on youtube, its a great talk of students about adding that special juiciness to your games.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55pm

I enjoyed this little game! Nice concept, and a good play on the theme. Good work

Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:18am

It is a nice game. I like the tempo, and how abstract things are. I also found the tune very moody. The graphics was pleasant, especialy the green clues on yellow -- lovely! Only the bolts/fire/whatever didn't feel to fit the style (perhaps they could be discs/triangles?). I would love to see more levels.

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:08pm

nice idea. I wish the controls were a bit faster.

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:12pm

I thout it was great but level 3 was to hard you know you should work on it but it was great

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Nice entry, was really cool to play, Controlls are a bit laggy but it's ok to play. Please have a look at my game, too.

DraKlaW says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:26pm

I'm not really fond of puzzles game, didn't find any clue at lvl 2 !

Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:04am

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 3/10 Fun: 4/10
Theme: 5/10
Graphics: 3/10
Audio: 2/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 3/10
Overall: 20/80
Good Game

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:03am

The player shape was a bit too floaty for my taste. I was floating around for ages while the fireballs approached.

I like the idea of using your shape as a key to open new areas.

kabel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:34am

Interesting!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]