Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Abducktion

by JohnnySix - Compo Entry

A short story of alien abduction and ducks on spaceships.

Collect the peas and oats, avoid the bread - stash the food to survive the return trip to earth.

Pads on floor transform you back and forth between an egg, a chick and an adult duck.

These also double as waypoints, so be careful which route you take.

Sounds/GFX/Horrible Level design - JohnnySix



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Audio4.30
#10Overall4.21
#12Fun4.14
#25Graphics4.35
#35Humor3.78
#54Theme4.11
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

Hjalte500 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:39pm

You made this in 48 hours? That's amazing, dude. Controls are tight, music is tight, graphics are great. Love it!

Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Controls feel pretty good.

Gorgeous graphics, and I absolutely adore your background music.

It's beautiful, man.

nsalesky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:54am

The controls are extremely well done, the gameplay is smooth, the transformations actually change the gameplay a lot, and make it really fun. Not to mention the incredible graphics and music. Great work.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:32am

Congratulations, awesome work. Pretty fun and great sound!

Gamescalation says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:46pm

The change of gameplay that comes along with the transformation of the character is really well done, so are the grahpics and the music - done in 48 hours? wow! really good! - extra credit: nice pun with the game's title ;)

mrnannings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Very nice pixelart. Music is very good too.

After i was a duck i didn't know where to go. I enjoyed it.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14pm

Wow. This is absolutely stunning. I really enjoyed all of it. That music...

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08am

Awesome job, the game audio owns!

PS: I got some Duck Dogers references there :D

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:58am

Love the music. Super fun to play!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

this was great! animation, graphics, music, mechanics, nice job

Larzan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:38pm

This is awesome. love the duck, the running of the chick is perfect, great music.
Wow. Well done!
10/10

pss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Very impressive! Good gameplay and I really like the music.

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I really loved this game! Smooth gameplay, fun, awesome graphics, great animations! 5 stars!

ragnta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:24pm

You are awesome! This game was amazing! :))

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:40pm

man this game is fun, love the fact that you are a duck and you can shift throw your egg,chick,duck form!

joemid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:35pm

This game really feels great. Full, albeit simple story, fun and fluid mechanics! I loved how the music would lull so that the beats of my pea picksups broke it down! Brilliant job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Great entry! Sometimes I moved a little fast for my own good, but I got through the entire thing without any trouble. I loved the art direction and the music gave everything some kind of urgency. I especially liked flying as the duck or running through doors as a chick.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Amazing. 5/5.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:48pm

wHAT A COMPO !

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Flawless! Very well polished. Just a pity we can vote on Mood, it would have a good score as well

Ithildin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Wow... Music, graphics and gameplay are great, and the level is reasonably sized, too. For 48h you've done an amazing job. Congrats!!

I really liked how well the shape transitions fit together and how tight the controls felt. Every time I f*cked up and fell to my death I was totally positive that it had been my fault, not the game's.

Klaas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:06am

Love it!

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:19am

Solid entry, only that that bothered me was the jumping/landing sound, it was abit loud.

norseware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:21am

Love it! Such a fun, and creative idea. The controls were tight, the animations were clean, and the sound fit the game. Wonderful work here - this one of the first gamse I couldn't stop playing! :)

Noro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:21am

This is just amazing

Llucile says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:26am

Wow this game is a really good entry ! Very polished, animations are fun (I especially like the way the duck is kind of dancing) ! Music is a bit annoying, but it rythms the game really well.
Great job :D

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:07am

Amazing... can't believe this is a compo entry.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:52am

Came for the pun, stayed for the fun! Awesome game!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:25am

Amazing compo entry. I will say the duck gliding controls weren't straight forward, but once i figured it out, it was smooth sailing....

euske says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:03am

Fantastic entry! Good job.

I was stuck a few times after accidentally "downgraded" and had to reload the entire game. Is there a restart key?

andyman404 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:51am

Great job! Polished art, music, and gameplay. Kudos for finishing this in the compo!

ragnta says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:23am

What did you use for develop?

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:32pm

too bad that i cannot give you 5 stars in the "game name" category :D

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:45am

Wow, Goood Game :D

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:50am

Fun platformer, neat narrative twist to the theme. Wish it had insaner death anims, like the egg cracking. :)

In short: Quack.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:09am

Awesome, very good visuals and sound. Gameplay is smooth. Very solid for 48h.

FurtherForm says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Great job. This was fun and challenging and love the muslc.

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Great work! Neat controls

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:13am

The amount of polish in this game is simply incredible. The music is amazing, the graphics are gorgeous, and the concept is adorable. Great job! "Avoid the bread" heh that made me laugh, it goes against "conventional wisdom" but it's accurate!

This is the first game I've given 5 on all categories. Great job!!

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:26am

Fun little platformer! Especially love the erratic running of the chick :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:01am

This is absolutly great !!!

Bobsleigh says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Very solid entry, I loved the thought-out map design and the music. Congrats!

fenwick says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:07pm

I really loved the animations and the music.

May 3, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Omgg, this game is awesomee!!

Really, I loved it! The sound is perfect, graphics very cool, gameplay fun and concept interesting

Congrats for your great game Johnny! ^_^

SantiHisteria says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:44pm

One of my favorite games in this Ludum! Good graphics, good controls and good idea. Very very nice, congratulations! :)

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Great audio! Love the BGM and the SFX. I thought this was a lot of fun to play. The one thing I didn't like about this was that you die when you fall too far, but there's a lot of parts in the game where you need to make a leap of faith to go down somewhere. So lots of unfair death from just trying to explore. But overall I liked your game. It was fun growing from an egg to a duck.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]