Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Starshift

by jacklehamster - Compo Entry

I made a GAMESHIFT!

I spent the first day beating my head on the wall, couldn't come up with an idea.

Second day, I decided to implement a few different ideas at the same time until I come up with something. I managed to finish making a game in Unity and submitted it. I was pretty dissatisfied with the result.

The last day of this Ludum Dare, I came up with a new idea that resonates better with the theme, so decided to scrap everything and make a totally different game in Flash. Finished it in one day.

In this game, you shift the shapes left and right with the arrow, and down to accelerate. Try to reproduce the outlines.


Feel free to let me know in the comment. Do you prefer the original game better? Did I made the right decision by switching?
If you only have time for one game, make sure to play the right one!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#339Audio2.97
#403Innovation3.20
#448Humor2.25
#519Mood2.86
#529Fun3.03
#559Theme3.23
#570Overall3.09
#749Graphics2.49

Comments

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:41am

Clever idea and a fun little game!

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:47am

Nice mechanic, but it was kind of boring

rantt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

Cool concept, it was fun trying to figure out what shapes you used to make the object. I liked it, nicely done :)

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:51am

It was cool to see how the different basic shapes could create the complex goal shapes, and the little sprites that popped out were a nice reward. I think the controls might be a bit buggy; I would press an arrow key and half the time the shapes would shift over more than one column. Otherwise, nice work!

iendsl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

found it very relaxing. I liked the music and the concept. Got 45 points. Took me a little while to pick up what was going on. Could probably go a little faster, be a little more exciting.

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:20am

Starshift - yeah that was looking quite interesting, I got into it a bit. The shapes at the bottom are a little odd at first. Great job for 1 day effort, shame you didnt have time more time to refine it

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Not sure where the first one was going but it looks like you had some kind of base to work from. Seconds was okay, it took a second to figure out what to do.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:58am

I liked the concept! Good Job!

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15am

Nice entry! Got 43 first time
Very interesting to understand, how to play
Great job! Sended this entry to my friend..)

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:41pm

It's very rewarding to see the final graphics when all the shapes are complete.
With more work on usability and polish it could be a great game for kids.

GFM says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53pm

I wasn't expecting the shapes to be used to form the figures... really interesting use of the theme!
Oh, and the heart/ice-cream was great! It got me thing about were the "triangle" would come from!

I only missed being able to skip a shape (when it had no use) and gaining additional time per figure completed.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47am

Thanks for the feedback all.
Ok, there's a bug I need to fix (issue with the shapes double-shifting). That happens if you restart the game without refreshing the browser ;-/

Yah, sometimes there are shapes that aren't useful, but this is a huge improvement over the previous version, where it wouldn't detect that a shape can't be placed and still spew them out constantly. VERY FRUSTRATING. Having a button to recycle them and gain additional time could be an idea... although I think with some code tuning, I can avoid ever giving you a shape that doesn't fit.

sumguy67 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36am

Cool game, but the screen was way too big. I'm on a 1600x900 monitor and I couldn't see the shapes and the score/time at the same time.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:49am

Pretty cool game! I really like the time limit. It's not common at LD. Thumbs up.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:01am

Fun little game really. Especially for a one-day entry it was actually kinda satisfying. Bit of a bug after time over and restart, the shapes would dissapear permanently after they went off the right/left edge, and often one button press would cause the lines to shift twice instead of once.

Didn't get a chance to play the original since my browser doesn't support Unity Web Player.

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:05pm

I thought it was a fun game! (Especially since you switched to that last minute!) I liked how shifting the shapes left or right would wrap around to the other side.

I thought the original game had a more novel concept - I really liked it despite it being incredibly tough to get the smiley tentacle creature to roll forward. Would have been awesome to see you get that working to your satisfaction. Maybe a 2D side view version of the game would have been easier to execute within the timeframe. But the 3D version that you made looked really cool - reminds me of caterpillars.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:09am

Yah I was kinda hoping to get something interesting out of that first game, but I couldn't come up with any fun puzzles. For me, the strategy was always "put random tentacles" so the creature can jump easily. The only different level was the last level, which was torturously difficult and even then, I don't even know what's the right way to solve it.
Thanks, I'm glad I got to talk about my original game ;-P

Wusakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:18am

Best so far (about 10 games behind) ;)

May 5, 2016 @ 7:24am

That's a great mechanic!

May 6, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Neat idea! With some polish it would make a good mobile game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]