Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blobs

by Liam :D - Compo Entry

Blobs is a platformer game. The purpose of the game is to beat each level by getting to the end.

The game has many features, such as a splash screen, main menu, tutorial, a LEVEL EDITOR with LEVEL SHARING. Also features A CUTSCENE. Players can also compete on the online scoreboard. Can you get the best time?

Players can also create their own levels, which are made available to all other players.

I have to say that I'm quite happy with the amount of quality-of-life features I put in this game.

I recommend you play through the tutorial and then either try a community map or two and try to make a map yourself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Humor3.18
#314Mood3.13
#318Audio3.00
#385Fun3.26
#395Graphics3.20
#466Overall3.21
#527Innovation3.00
#683Theme3.00
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

MerriGrape says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38am

The audio seems to be very grainy which is pretty sad since most of it is otherwise good, the art style is simplistic but fine. Had a few problems with platforming where the person wouldn't move on because of an "invisible wall" where you needed to jump over. I like the overall idea.

Swynfel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Hello !

I ran the game on Windows with resolution 1280x720.

I'm going to start by what is good :
I like the concept, I found playing the game pretty fun.
The graphics are a bit simple, but they're clean.
It's cool to have an animation in the beginning !

Now some problems I encountered. I believe some of them are linked to the platform, and I'll edit my Rating if they are corrected :
I have a very thin blue line at the bottom during the animation (I believe it's due to my resolution, it might be better to change the camera "Background color" to make it less awkward).
I sometimes feel like hitting invisible walls. It's probably because both colliders are squares. It might be a good idea to smooth the corners of the collider attached to the player to avoid those problems.
Sometimes the square shifts colour on it's own.
You have a blue platform that you have to use before learn the colour-shifting key, and your default colour is blue. (Good thing I know how to randomly press buttons).
Loading a screen takes AGES. It might be a good idea to use LoadSceneAsync next time, and have a little loading bar, or something spinning to inform us that the game is loading and didn't crash (and help me be more patient).
I can only do the tutorial. Is that normal ? If I click on "new" (the button under "tutorial") it's the tutorial that loads.
After ending a level, you have a black screen with the time and nothing else... What should I do after ? Nothing happens if I wait. So I press escape. Maybe they are more levels but I can't access them.
And finally, I don't have access the level edit. It remains greyed out.

I wrote a lot of negative things, but if your an optimist it's positive feedback.

Anyway, good job ! I'll come back later to see if some bugs have been corrected.

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Nice mechanics and fun game.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:57am

love the style :) simple but great

Liam :D says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:30am

Thank you, everyone, for your comments! Especially to Swynfel, for that exhaustive comment. I really appreciate it when people write in-depth, written reviews.

I would also like to point out that this game uses an ingame scoreboard, meaning I can actually tell whether it's been played or not~

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:41am

Awesome use of the theme!

May 4, 2016 @ 4:42am

I change colors wooo i like the color doors those are cool. The movie at the beginning was cool too. The physics of air jumping was strange because when you let go you just stopped moving in the air.

PixelRetro says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 9:30am

It's surprising to see so many community features in a Ludum Dare entry, great!
But I think the game has to be faster or there must be more different objects a level can be built with, in order to make it more complex (I have to say, that I have only played the tutorial level and one community made level, because all level buttons were placed on the same position).
Also, you should introduce the color change mechanic, BEFORE the player needs it for the first time or write the controls into the description.

Charzendat says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:56am

Would of liked a couple more levels cause I liked the mechanic and could see it going places.

stalker1586 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:19pm

I liked the graphics - quite nice. The music seems written drunk AFX or sober Kraftwerk. But! Unfortunately, we couldn't pass hanging blue stick at the beginning of the tutorial. Character all the time slipped. It's sad that it wasn't possible to see the shift.

Ellian says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Not sure if colorshifting counts as shapeshifting, but the tutorial level was actually kind of fun!
I couldn't get the Level Editor to work (it's grayed out?) but it sounds like a lot of work if you actually made it! You put a lot of efforts into polishing the non-game parts, so kudos for that!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Nice little Game:)

knason says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Great game, nice graphics, and I think the the controlls worked good, for some reason I could only shapeshift with the right ctrl-button. To much for my left hand to handle, arrow keys had been nice. But overall the game was cute and fun! Well done!

voxel says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:24am

https://youtu.be/O1E6LVvFD2A

A distinct lack of work simulation in this game. I had problems with the map list, and the tutorial didn't tell me about colour switching after it maybe should have. But despite that it was a fun little platformer which didnt make me or my child vomit, which is always a plus. Have eleventy thousand stars

Liam :D says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Thank you everyone for your comments and reviews! I really appreciate it! Thank you Voxel for your let's play and the awesome silence of disapproval after having read the tutorial hint which came AFTER you were meant to have already used it :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]