Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Legend of Shapeshifter

by shohs - Compo Entry

Note: I tried to remove the dependency on Visual Studio 2013 Redistributable, but if you get the error that you're mising MSVCP120D.dll and MSVCR120D.dll, it didn't work, and Visual C++ 21

Well, I tried to be too ambitious and I ran out of time. Originally, I was trying to do a metroidvania-type exploration game, where instead of powerups, you get new forms, but I didn't think I'd have enough time to get a polished platformer working. So, I pivoted to a legend of zelda type thing, but I ran out of time anyways. I've made a little demo that hopefully gives you a taste of what I actually wanted to accomplish.

Controls:
Arrow keys: move
Z: attack
X: special attack
A/D: shift forms (Need to have another form first. Also, they are the same because I didn't have enough time to add more forms).
Esc: quit

Things I wanted to add but couldn't because of time constraints:
More forms
Bosses (these would drop the new forms)
More enemies
More puzzle elements
Sounds
Music
Animations
Better levels (I made all of the ones in game within the last 45 minutes probably).

Tools:
C++
Visual Studio
Paint.NET

Libraries linked:
glew
glfw
libpng
sfml audio (still linked lol)
lua (considered adding scripting, some code still references it)
yaml-cpp
rapidjson (maybe this one isn't used)

Currently windows only, sorry. should be able to be cross-compiled if you REALLY want to try it out. probably not worth it though.

Also, if you have any problems downloading or running it, let me know. I'm curious to know if it works on other systems besides my own.

The original version had some unnecessary stuff linked in so I wouldn't recommend trying that one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Humor2.05
#612Audio1.94
#627Graphics2.71
#649Mood2.63
#733Theme2.92
#818Innovation2.46
#856Fun2.42
#896Overall2.50
#1201Coolness48%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:25am

OpenAL.dll was missing for me :(

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36am

That's weird, everything should be statically linked. I think I may be able to fix that, since the audio portion wasn't actually used due to time constraints.

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:42am

Ok, I added another download link to a potential fix (I wasn't able to reproduce the problem on a different computer, but I figured it'd be worth a shot anyway).

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:48am

MSVCP120D.dll and MSVCR120D.dll missing for me :(

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:54am

Yeah, apparently Visual C++2013 redistributable is required to run, sorry about that. I can try to remove that dependency, but it'll require recompiling all the dependent libraries.

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:01am

Ok, I think I removed the dependency on the Visual C++ 2013 redistributable (not 100% sure, but hopefully it worked).

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:06am

So! It's clear that you didn't get to take this where you wanted to, BUT,
-The core ideas here are SUPER ambitious... and I applaud that! Good for you! This is a really cool idea and I hope you continue to pursue it!
-Really very nice visuals for an unfinished game.
-I liked having a special move that makes me 'blink' across the screen.
-The core sense of exploration you were working with is really satisfying! I wanted to see more of the world, and I liked that when I killed a monster they stayed dead, giving it a sense of permanence.
Good job! I hope it was a good experience.

Anikki says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12am

I like it. Nice graphics for just using Paint. The concept sounds very interesting, would like to play a full game around that idea. Sadly very tough to play on non-English keyboard layouts (Z/Y issue).

Anikki says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:16am

Sorry, my bad, key-bindings are working for me now.

Anikki says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:26am

I like it. Quite cleverly made.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:53am

Reminds me of an old game I played a lot as a child

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54am

works for me

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:56am

Got stuck and have no idea how to continue.

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:12am

Where did you get stuck?

timeshapers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:53am

I figured out how to roll over pits, and hit the obelisks to open paths. Then I didn't know what else to do.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Cool concept. The goal was confusing to figure out though. I like the graphics and attacks!

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Nice little game. Little frustrating at points. There must be more help and hints during the gameplay.
But good effort. :)

Diman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56am

Would like to see it finished.

shohs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:14am

I've decided that I'd like to work on this a bit more. I'll try to get a post-compo version up soon.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Really like the idea and the graphics. Definitely an interesting start to a game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]