Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Hybris

by phi - Jam Entry

Until the year 631 B.C., humans had lived on Earth peacefully. But then...

Controls: WASD / arrow keys, spacebar

Programming/Art: phi & soferus
Music: ursj

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Audio(Jam)3.70
#455Mood(Jam)3.21
#466Humor(Jam)2.59
#856Innovation(Jam)2.65
#958Graphics(Jam)2.50
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#1039Theme(Jam)2.40
#1071Fun(Jam)2.29
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Beautiful game. A bit short, but the music is very relaxing and the general aesthetics make it a nice play.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:04am

Loved the intro. The game played well enough but knocking the big boulder out of the way so easily was really frustrating. The visuals and audio were pleasant and I love the concept.

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:13am

Nice intro and music, controls were solid too.

retrograze says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:41am

Solid game. I loved the concept and the storyline, and the nicely drawn art was top-notch. And the music! Man I want that soundtrack. The "game" part of it was a little sparse, however, and not super interesting all the time, as the boulders sometimes glitched out and were sometimes very annoying. Still, an awesome idea!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:19pm

I FEEL LIKE SISYPHUS

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I'm amazed! What a great mood!
Congrats for your very good entry!

themadknights says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Cool game intro and music :). I didn't understand the game mechanics at first.

rhastapunk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Earth inside out, my mind exploded. Nice originality :D

TheCain says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Ok, but kind of tedious.
Music was nice though.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:33am

Great entry~
at first, i just to push these stone run and run, not feel how wide or how big the world,i was just Immersed in the beauty music(beauty is not precise i think, it contains some sadly,and also have epic/eppopee feeling! very unique, and not always seen at LD ,so precious this point!)
when i run so long! i start realized that may be i was wrong :P, so i start to think... at first i also pleasant surprise about the world visual-Presentation Format, it just like some fish-eye effect,but that is not the key point, i think this is a so clever design and built that also let the game's visual fit the world-design very great!(these high&low tree,also let the sky seems so deeply and world-wide / expansion´╝îvery wonderful and let me feel nice,just like i real into this world!)
i found there are others have said kind of tedious, i think it may because that the rock are too easy to be pushed(espically the biggest one!) so, i have to run left and run right,push, correct/rectify the position, then run agian... but i think ,although this is a little bit tired for player, but it is may good engouh for the design,in my opinion, this design is very great to communicate the Hybris 's hard(save world ,and arrive the sky..),and our player by this method could experience how tough is he when in the difficult circumstances...
so,i agree this is really a nice originality game,also have good narrative. visual although easy but neat! gives me a great experience and good times!
hope could built more these type games. well done & Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]