Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Invaders

by davidB - Compo Entry

Shoot the coming shapes with the same shape:

* [Space] to fire
* WASD/ZQSD to move and change shape

How far could you come ?

Notes:

No sound, no fx in the compo version, May be in the post-compo version.

Tools & Lib:

* Blender, Eclipse, Gradle
* Java8, jMonkeyEngine 3.1, JavaFX, XBuf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Humor2.59
#385Theme3.48
#428Overall3.26
#467Fun3.13
#609Graphics2.74
#624Mood2.68
#695Innovation2.74
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

scriptblocks says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:40am

Good game. JMonkey rules!. I like your take on switching shooting objects

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:15am

Good game :D

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:28pm

the old and good space invader... nice gameplay. some non blender primitive graphics would have been a good add on.

KristophTG says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Couldn't get the game to open on Windows. When launching the .exe two empty windows opened and immediately closed.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Funny game ! gg guys !

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Standard model, great delivery

davidB says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Thanks for your feedback.

Yes I like the standard model, but GFX is not only mesh ;-). I'm starting to find my visual style/touch for compo (this one and future).

I found bugs on Windows (I developped the compo on Linux/Mac).
I'm uploading a fix compo version.

Proximal Pyro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:37am

Good idea. Kind of wierd controlls but great work!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:08am

Solid entry, missing audio but a good game. I found it frustrating that I could hold to shoot, but hold to move was temporary. Nice idea tho and well executed.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:25am

Tea Kettle Simulator 2016
"Changed my life"
-The Pope

siczecheg says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Looks like Blender ape always finds its place, cool !

kleinzach says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Quite standard, but executed adequately!

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Love the use of perspective here. Nice take on space invaders. Well done!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:53am

good game - similar to what i did - nice job

alsantour says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Great Homage to a beloved game, great tie in to the theme, LOVE the perspective, LOVE the rapid fire! Loads of fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]