Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Creased

by Cosine - Compo Entry

Creased
===
Creased is a game where you have to fold paper into a given shape.

INSTRUCTIONS:
There are no instructions in-game, so please read here:
You have to fold the paper to match the green version. To view that green version (that you have to match), HOLD SPACE.
HOLD THE MOUSE BUTTON and DRAG to make a crease in the paper. Then CLICK on the section you would like to fold over.
To restart, PRESS R.

Have to go travel unfortunately, so here's my submission already.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Innovation4.11
#76Theme4.00
#532Overall3.14
#696Graphics2.57
#751Fun2.69
#756Mood2.27
#1979Coolness24%

Comments

celia14 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31am

I like this idea, it's very clever. I found it pretty hard to figure out what to do, but that may just be me. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

I liked the idea, and once you get a hang of it, it works fine. Controls feel kinda wierd though, and it just wouldn't restart when I hit R

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17am

Nice idea, definitely fits the theme. Could use an undo feature.

sbvaughan1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:22am

SO COOL! But could really use an undo, I would get pretty far, then mess up on the last fold. Very Zen.

merrak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:40am

Neat idea! This was relaxing to play. An undo feature would be nice if this is developed further.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:59am

Really solid and unique entry. I can get a little glitchy if you make a fold that's not on the paper

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:16am

When I drew a crease and clicked a side to fold I felt like I was folding paper! If you continue to design this, when a target image went by quickly and I wasn't sure what to fold, I felt like I couldn't continue to the next shape.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

great concept, i think with a bit more time balancing and teaching the player could go a long way, well done though. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06am

Neat! Now I can finally fold paper without leaving my computer :P. Maybe have the target image visible on the side at all times. I feel the challenge should be less about memory and more about just figuring the folds out in you're brain.

zillix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:44am

very neat concept, and well executed!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:08am

Really creative game! Took a little while to get a hang of how to play it

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:02am

I had no idea how to play to be honest although I definitely kind of knew what was going on. Some really satisfying 'paper folding' noises would be great for this (although I have no idea what a paper folding noise sounds like!)

adamprack says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:59am

It's a cool idea, but the wonky controls and no way to undo really hampers the gameplay. The visuals work well enough.

mar3k says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06am

Really cool and fun idea

Auroratide says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:58am

Very clever use of theme, and actually a pretty good spatial reasoning game.

Bendix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Very cool idea ... why didn't I come up with this?

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:44pm

I won!

The core mechanic is well found and fits the theme nicely. The levels are all well balanced and interesting.

On the downside it really lacks polish, as the controls were confusing and frustrating (can't cancel a folding line) with a couple glitches here and there. Also, having more contrast to distinguish the "layers" of folding would have been useful.

I rarely open the sources for a game but I ended up skimming through yours! You got me confused for a sec by embedding Phaser for a SVG-based game, but I soon realized you weren't using it. It was interesting to see how the game was implemented :)

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Took me a while to get it, pretty fun!

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Very cool concept and nice game, the controls were a bit wonky and the paper bugged out at some points tho :/

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Cool idea. Fun and relaxing at the same time. Nice work!!

jhell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Quite interesting! Undo would be a must though, like others said.

redcubegames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Decent game, well executed.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Nice work, i like the smart way how your game track shapes. Next time maybe with music/ sound and retry button? :D

Horsed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:26pm

My type of game. I just missed some sounds and music. And yeah, undo would help a lot.

lithorias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Very cool idea. Count it hard to keep track of the grid while folding but it seems to not be grid aligned so this may not matter at all. Good game!

foodzilla says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:34am

It is awesome. Very good concept. Totally an undo button would save our sanity.

Naca says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:34pm

I like the idea, it's fresh, simple and very well connected with the theme. It's a pity you hadn't enough time to add a little in-game tutorial, I had to make a bit of guesswork at first. Anyway, very good work!

wissuk says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:20am

I love it, great idea :D. I would have liked an undo button but I can understand why it isnt there.

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:14am

I liked folding the paper but sometimes it seemed to do unexpected things. I actually had fun freestyle-folding the paper outside of the objectives. It would be cool if different sides of the paper had different colours.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]