Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape/Shift

by GodsBoss - Compo Entry

Shift shapes which also can shapeshift... or so.

Ran out of time, so no more levels. ;-(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#102Theme3.94
#127Fun3.66
#155Overall3.65
#210Innovation3.56
#465Graphics3.00
#490Mood2.90
#544Audio2.41
#549Humor1.97

Comments

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:27am

A clever take on the theme. At first I thought it was a little generic, but then the shapes started loosing/gaining edges. Really cool innovation. Portals were a nice touch as well. Easy enough to figure out, but maybe some text instructions would be nice. Well done for a 48 hour game! :-)

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:57am

Very nice puzzle game; good fun to play

Katamori says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:02am

Thanks for rating my game, now it's my turn!

Solid, but somehow, still interesting game. At first, a typical puzzle, but somehow, I feel the execution something new.

All-4 in major categories (O-I-F-T) for moderate, above-the-average fun.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:05am

Very clever game mechanics. Excellent job!

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:22am

Oh... the level where you have to click the switch while a shape is moving is very out of place. Requires reflexes, where all the other levels (so far) are just thought puzzles where you can take your time. I think you should remove that level and make sure every level is completely turn based.

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:50am

@ogre: Thank you for your feedback. Yes, it feels out of place. The engine allowed it and I did not want to lose the opportunity to include such a level.

I plan to group the levels into "campaigns", which would allow to place all those reflex-based puzzles together. Then people could just play all the other levels.

But this is something bound to be made in a post-compo version.

justinooncx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:17pm

That was surprisingly clever! You made sure the players understood all of the mechanics before getting really tricky~ There were one or two puzzles where I could solve without using everything given to me, but all in all, a nice brain-bender~

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:05pm

I really like the idea. :D

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Cool puzzle game. I really like it :-)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Very nice idea to add and subtact edges. Also the first levels explained the game very well! cool puzzles later on, good job!

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28pm

A really fun little puzzler. It would have been nice to spend a little more time with each new mechanic though.

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:21pm

This is a nice game, you should have embedded it in the LD website. Some ingame instructions would have been nice. But the game has fantastic level design and meets the topic perfectly.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:23pm

So simple and so addictive. I've spent too much time playing this I even lost a count. Very well done! Congratulations.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Cool and simple puzzle!

Could improve on the level design though, instead of introducing a new mechanic on every level you should slowly integrate them together.

Keep it up!

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06am

VICTORY :D

Actually 18 levels is plenty for a Ludum Dare entry! Like a couple others said, the suggestion would rather be to improve/reorder the existing ones, since we're being a bit overwhelmed at first with all these different blocks, and we keep jumping from an idea to another. I guess you were a bit in a hurry to add all these levels in the last hours ;)

Now game was clever, fun to play and the difficulty well balanced, so frankly it's a very good entry. Except for the above remark the only issue I could see is regarding the controls, that you could have made more comfortable by for example automatically showing the control arrows when hovering a shape. Or maybe having players "focus" a shape then be able to move them with the keyboard?

One last thing, a funny glitch is that you forgot to reset the shapes rotation after passing through these 90° angles triggers, turning the shapes into weird blobs ^^

Anyway the game was fun to play, and the graphics are clear and cohesive (they remind my of the GemCraft games). The "add/remove angles" mechanic was brilliant. Impressive entry overall, so congratulations!

(PS: I answered to your comment on my own entry!)

psyxose says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Good game, nice graphics. :)

mrnannings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35pm

Amasing puzzle design. Its nice that it begins easy and getting gradully harder and with more different kind of elements going on. Very nice:)

Jimbly says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Fun! I really like adding/removing points to change shapes =). More levels than I expected, well done! Played this one through all the way to the end.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:14am

Nice take on the theme. Clever puzzle game.

axoona says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:41pm

That's an interesting pproach to sokoban mechanics, the new mechanismes were good innovation and simple to understand. I really amastonished by the number of levels! It's a pity the game doesn't have any music though (although I understand that you can't do everything in 48H ;) overall quite a nice game

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:55am

Great take on this style of puzzle, takes me back to sliding around in ice caves in gameboy games. I really enjoyed the adding/subtracting sides element.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:16am

Nice game! It was fun to play, and the graphics were great! I think the amount of levels was great! Overall, great job!

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:16am

Really cool game. I had a great time playing this, but got stuck in one of the puzzles. I'll come back later with a fresh mind to try to beat it. Great work!!!!

rantt says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:01am

Fun puzzle game, lots of different mechanics and plenty of levels. Great job!

Mordokay says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Cool game and good job!

Louspirit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Nice compo entry ! I liked particularly the sound effects. Great features added.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Really interesting puzzle game.

adam says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Really great production and clever puzzle design, will be coming back to try to finish this one!

yuigoto says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:02am

Nice puzzle, with a very clever design and a really great "DOS" retro feeling (at least for me, in style). I loved the shape shift mechanic, the portal and how you built the puzzles.

It starts very simple, but the challenge can escalate quite nicely! :)

I'd like to see it on mobile, with a campaign mode! It would be REALLY fun if you polish, make more levels and release it! :)

Great game! Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]